We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Elephant Trails(Uda Walawe National Park)
$75
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel(Uda Walawe National Park)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Roxbury(Sri Jayawardenepura)
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opulent River Face Hotel(Sri Jayawardenepura)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond House Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sansu(Colombo)
$55
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Boutique(Colombo)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Janaki Hotel(Colombo)
$55
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
90
27
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
27
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmahoora teaman unforgettable experiencenational parkvisiting sri lankainteresting informationsri lankan adventureprofessional operationtent doorwonderful guideenjoy the experiencehighlight of our triphot showerhuge amounteagle eyespent two nightsour honeymoonbbq dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our safari. Both were excellent, with great drivers and guides. Our welcome was lovely and delivered as promised and a lovely Sri Lankan lunch was provided. Our only disappointment was the evening meal and lack of hot water. We were promised a chef to cook us a BBQ and cater for our needs, unfortunately this was night quite delivered. And so therefore felt the price was to high for promises in the itinary that could not be kept too. I would still recommend this to anyone as overall I was very pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Mahoora Udawalave. We are happy to note that your overall experience has been to your satisfaction .We noted that you were not entirely satisfied with the evening meal, we have taken the your feedback into account for improvement of our services. As for the Hotwater, the system is developed in such a way that the water must run for a few minutes for the hot water to be effective, we are not very sure if this was communicated to you clearly as we do have the provision at all times. Once again we thank you for your feedback and we hope you will return to savour the Mahoora experience in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed one night at the camp in May, it was the best meal we had in over 4 months of traveling in Asia. The camp is basic, we have certainly stayed at better camps in Africa but the service is first class. The staff could not do enough for us. The five course meal was superb. I requested vegetarian meals and they were divine, I'd go back just to have the Brown Soup. Details were certainly attended to: tea after the safari, flashlights, wine with meals, mosquito netting in place, great picnic style breakfast, small present when you depart. The safari team were lovely; driver always slowed down when we were taking pictures, the naturalist was a wealth of information and spoke excellent English. Plenty of elephants, and birds. We found Sri Lanka to be overpriced, but the Mahoora Camp Site did deliver exactly what they promised and in style, we'd go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place was great. The safari itself was fantastic, we saw so many elephants, monkeys, eagles and tons of other birds. The staff was very knowledgeable and were really good about spotting the tiniest creatures at any distance. The campsite was beautiful, and the food was amazing. The employees really seemed to take pride in their work and seemed genuinely concerned with ensuring our enjoyment. It was totally worth the money. I would recommend this to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvanh0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were treated like a king and queen at this place.
The staff are friendly and attentive, and genuinely want you to have a special experience.
The campsite is in a lovely peaceful setting by a lake, the tents are luxurious with en suite shower and toilet, lighting and power.
We arrived and had a nice lunch of pumpkin soup and Sri Lankan curry dishes, then set off for an afternoon safari. We were in a jeep just the two of us with our guide; very comfortable and he was so knowledgeable. We saw lots of elephants, a wildcat, different types of eagle, monkeys and a huge herd of water buffalo in the lake. It was amazing.
The evening dinner by torchlight was magical. 7 delicious courses and a nice Chilean Sauvignon blanc.
Up early for another safari at 6:30, which was even better, as there were more elephants. At one time we were surrounded by 30 elephants including several young from 3 months old, and even witnessed a 'polite' dispute between two bulls over a female.
My only criticism is that they advertise this as staying inside the national park. They used to, but had their license revoked and have now moved some 45 minute drive away. It's still in a great spot, but is a real pain to have to drive 45 minutes there and back. They really should update their advertising, as this is one of the main reasons we paid so much money to stay here and it's actually not true.
Initially we were very disappointed about this, but we had such a fantastic time that I couldn't bring myself to give anything less than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed two nights here and were not aware that the site was "off the park". However, facilities on site more than adequate but not luxury ( although we were well warned of this before by our travel agent). Night one bbq excellent but too many staff waiting on meant we felt pressurised to eat. Second night even worse as we were the only people staying and were delivered a seven course meal within forty minutes!! Suggest bbq each night and less "fawning" by staff - it is not needed. Striving for excellence does not mean harrasssing your clients.

However - bring on the safari. Four trips were all excellent and our guide had amazing knowldege of animal and birdlife. Well done Amedu!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soopau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews