We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priced okay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Udawalawa Safari

Udawalawa Safari
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Priced okay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Available as soon as we arrived at the Elephant Rest Hotel. Good driver who stopped when we wanted, and who stopped when he saw something that we hadn't noticed. Pleasant evening, late afternoon activity with slight breeze, and open vehicle with shade roof. Driver stopped for lots of photos, and took us to mud holes, watering spots, more secluded areas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyWVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    79
    27
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excelent way to see wild elephants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you wanna see wild elephants this is the best place! No doubt you will see more than a dozen of them here. Plus other wildlife and amazing birds. Below some tips how to make the most of you trip:

— The best way is to stay in Udawalawa town (10 km before the park's main gate). There are some decent bugget accomodation here.
— In this town you can arrange a jeep. There are planty of them on the main road. Jeep fo 3-4 hours will cost 3000 Rs.
— The best to visit the park is 6-6.30 am. You'll finish around 9.30. After it's getting too hot and you won't see much of a wildlife.
— Entrance fee for two people was about 6000 Rs. Guide is included in the price, but he'll be expecting a tip around 300-500 Rs. If you don't have a guide don't be upset — jeep drivers have sharp eyes as well. You won't have any problems with spotting animals.
— And take some water with you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Toycar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular safari! Elephants everywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I did both Yala NP and Uda Walawe NP safari and definitely preferred Uda Walawe. We saw a much bigger variety of animals in Uda Walawe and Yala was crawling with lots of jeeps filled with tourists. Our guide at Uda Walawe was much better also, very friendly and told us lots of interesting information about the animals and the park. Our Yala guide didn't really say anything as we drove around.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank QiTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What leopards?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Saw plenty of elephants, jackals, wild deer, crocodiles, water buffalo and a variety of birds, but where oh where were the leopards.

Our guide pointed one out in a tree about 200 yards away but we couldn't see it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamwLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straftford upon Avon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than Yala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A more laid back safari with hundreds of elephants to be seen. Check out the birds they are the stars. Rough and ready jeeps with no need whatsoever for a tracker but they get in and you have to tip. A more open bush with decentish tracks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bucklehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udawalawa Safari also viewed

Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Udawalawa Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing