We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be avoided”
Review of Elephant Lane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uda Walawe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Lane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must be avoided”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Following trip advisor advices, I stayed with my friends in Elephant Lane for 2 nights.
The list of the problems:
- 1st of all really unfriendly staff (getting toilet paper, a towel, or room cleaning is a luxury)
- food is low quality but really expensive
- room quality (specially bathrooms) is quite low for the price we paid

For me this hotel is worthing 25$ by night, not 50$....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nico2tlse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed two nights.
The rooms are excellent tourist value with clean and comfortable amenities. We simply loved the home style true Sri Lankan cooking and being able to ask questions of the cook,he was open to sharing his culinary secrets with my wife.
It was a lovely peaceful little lodge that really felt like a place to chillout in. Great for couples who are sick of the touristy hotels and want good value basic Sri Lankan value.
We will book again next year to meet there with friends from Australia.
Greg and Gayathri
Perth ,Australia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very clean and cosy. Excellent service and food and I thoroughly recommend. Good staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Probably the best budget hotel /lodge in the area, Very clean and cosy. But if you are looking for luxuries hotel this may not be the place for you. If you are looking to have typical home made food cooked in wood fire with local countrymen serving you food in Sri Lankan style, this would be the place.
We had two nights at Elephant Lane, with its friendly staff. Would recommend for travellers who are looking for place to have relax time in Sri Lankan style.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_kent80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We have had two great nights at Elephant Lane in October. Nice clean place with very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend for the travellers who are looking for less costly place near the park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
3.0 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
176 reviews
12.6 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#8 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
103 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephant Safari Hotel
Elephant Safari Hotel
#13 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
56 reviews
1.4 mi away
Athgira River Camping
Athgira River Camping
#2 of 39 in Udawalawa
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#4 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Lane

Property: Elephant Lane
Address: Dakunu Ela | Uda Walawe, Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and retreat to the secluded comfort of Elephant Lane - an extraordinary hideout in Sri Lanka’s deep south. You can stroll along nearby Udawalawe Wild Life Park, grab the fun opportunities that the Elephant Orphanage offers, explore the natural jungle and its flora and fauna, or simply stay and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Lane Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing