We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the resort for three nights. Loved every minute. We saw wild boar, an elephant, and monkeys right on the grounds of the hotel. It was incredible. The rooms were very nice, friendly staff and excellent food. But what we really loved was the views. Simply amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and close to the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was here for 3 nights including my birthday. The place was absolutely amazing. The jungle lodges are maximum luxury, with floe power arrangements on the bed every night and spotless rooms. The pool is beautiful and watching the sunset from the roof bar is an amazing experience, all whilst listening to the sound of the waves from the beach! The buffet has an amazing choice of all different types of food and the staff is excellently trained and cordial.
I even got a free birthday cake (with birthday song :) ) on the night of my birthday!!

Room Tip: Jungle lodges are super luxurious! 111 was perfect- not too close but not too far !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giulia987_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We strive really hard to satisfy our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed every bit of it! Our hotel is situated close to the national park, hence there are a lot of wild life roaming around the premises at all times. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another amazing and memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Amazing experience..to sit at the pool looking on to the watering hole watching crocodile, water buffalo, wild boar & even the odd elephant was fabulous. Our kids loved watching the monkeys in the hotel grounds, & a family of wild boar even walked through the outside bar area whilst we were eating. Only one small negative, was that we felt it would benefit from a small gymnasium..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's only 15 minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises at all times. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great hotel on the edge of Yala national park-we saw monkeys, deer and wild pigs in the hotel area! Near the lake very close by were crocodile, birds and even an elephant.
The bedroom huts were good, a little worn in places, but really we didn't spend much time in there, there was too much to do outside, with safaris etc. (remember to take binoculars).
Food choices were fine, sometimes a little limited. The restaurant was lovely, and the staff polite and friendly. They reserved the same table for us every evening, and remembered our drink order from the first evening!
The most exciting part was having to get an escort to and from your huts after dark in case there were any animals around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's close the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow! Where shall I start. The hotel is situated by the Yala National Park and couldn't be in a better location. There is a main building with an upstairs restaurant and above that is an obsevation area where you watch the local wildlife during the day or just look at the stars at night.
The rooms are remote chalets equipped with all the facilities. A family of wild boar can be seen strolling around and numerous monkeys playing. The monkeys have a habit of jumping on the chalet roof in the early hours, but who cares? It's part of Yala. There is also a large watering hole by the hotel where you can spot crocs and the occasional elephant and plenty of birds. The beach is 5 minutes away and a beautiful area to explore. Sea can be dangerous so use the hotel pool. Truly a wonderful place. As with all the other hotels the food and service are excellent.

Room Tip: Not required, all are excellent. Ask for a chalet on stilts if you want a sea view, although could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chalets are quite similar to game lodges in Africa and as our hotel is situated in the buffer zone this particular aspect brings an experience of wildlife passing by together with a distant beach and jungle view. While thanking you for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Cinnamon Wild Yala. We did a wonderful safari trip in Yala and was able to see elephants, wild pigs, deers, leopards, various birds etc. It was refreshing after the safari to check into our room. When returning back from the restaurant we came upon a group of wild boars. The next morning we were greeted by the birds, squirrels and were entertained by the monkeys when having breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was slightly dubious on arrival that it was all a bit manufactured but despite the slightly unfinished feel to our hut I cannot fault the place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is amazing and the wildlife is very real and very wild! An escort to and from your room after dark is provided as wild boar and elephants roam the site. The crocodiles in the lake are plentiful and can be viewed from very close quarters. The wild monkeys are on the large side and woke us at 5am jumping on our roof and trying our doors. The food and service are good and everyone Is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,719 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 15 in Tissamaharama
384 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tissamaharama
342 reviews
12.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#9 of 15 in Tissamaharama
298 reviews
8 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 15 in Tissamaharama
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range: $133 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing