We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant location and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant location and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days and 2 nights to "do" the safari experience over several days. Hotel service is exceptional - particularly restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble, difficult requests handled with a smile, proactive service (quite rare anywhere these days let alone in SL and in the middle of a jungle!!!). Location is the closest to Yala park entry point meaning extra precious moments of sleep when on a 530am safari pick up.
Rooms are nicely appointed with good air conditioning as well as fans.TV reception was a bit crappy but we weren't there to watch TV!
Also fabulous star watching from the roof top bar.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarriorasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. we always try to produce something better and different to keep our guests happy and we make sure you'll have a wonderful experience while been with us! Again while thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    460
    123
    26
    20
See reviews for
410
783
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Good quality hotel, rooms excellent, great view of crocs in the lake from the poolside area. Restaurant has a 'chill room' for cold buffet items, which was a great touch. Did 1/2 day safari in the morning, saw a baby elephant, but got feedback from others that afternoon safaris have more chance of seeing leopards. Town is a long way away (45 mins drive), so would have liked a small on-site shop.. Reception good at letting us make calls from the front desk to our safari tour company, Ajith, and also to Kuoni rep. Sleep disrupted by group of over-excited, screaming, early 20's, tourists, but that's their parent's fault, not the hotel's. Was grateful for earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. While thanking you for staying with us and taking your time to write to us about your experience you had we certainly hope to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

You know sometimes you arrive at a hotel and it just has something, you can't quite put your finger on it ... well this hotel had it for me! Perhaps it was the hot sultry weather, the sound of the birds and feel of the bush ... heaven!!! But on top of that the rooms were fantastic - we had an oceanview chalet - it was spotlessly clean, spacious and luxuriously appointed. The pool was really relaxing overlooking the lake and the food was delicious. We only had 1 breakfast but it was one of the nicest on our 2 week trip. Service was either really efficient and super friendly or a bit slack (particularly at the bar downstairs) but hey I still loved every minute. Yala itself was good - we ended up being on a 13hr game drive which was arduous but we saw 2 leopards so can't complain. I wish we'd stayed another night as even if you didn't visit the park it's a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beach chalets are quite similar to game lodges in Africa as our hotel is situated in the buffer zone this particular aspect brings an experience of wildlife passing by together with a distant beach and jungle view. While thanking you for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very nice hotel. You can find whatever you like in the name of luxury. Even if you don't want to take a safari tour, this place won't be the wrong decision to stay for your holiday. Wide variety of kitchens, pool with the lake view, luxury Bungalow in a garden,completely natural wild life.... a beautiful beach that you can not use for swimming -unfortunately- can be counted as the only negative point of this hotel. If you want to take a safari tour in Sri Lanka, do not even think about an others alternatives. Approximately perfect. Strongly recommended. ..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demet_cemal-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also had a good safari experience. While thanking you for staying with us and taking your time to write about our hotel, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were visiting the Yala National Park and we were impressed by the wonderful reviews given to Cinnamon Wild Yala.. and it certainly did not disappoint.

For 2 nights, we were treated to exceptional service, comfortable rooms (think oasis within a desert), clean and high quality food served at both the bar and the restaurant. There was a nice pool to dip in as well.

For those who are looking for a off-the-beaten-track exeprience, cinnamon is the place for u. you will be very close to wildlife, alligators, monkeys, squirrels, elephants.. but you will be safe, of course.

The only difficulty we had was the transport there, would be great if the resort could provide airport transfer, or at least transfer from colombo. we hired a driver and it took us 6 hours by car to get there.

not sure if the driver took the wrong way, or if would be better to fly to a nearby airport at mattala (flight timings are limited).

nonetheless, a good experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at Cinnamon Wild Yala as part of a safari we organised with Diethelm travel and used the resort as a base for visiting Yala National Park. The accommodation is chalet based and is very close to the park. Although you don't have to go far to see the wildlife as bush pigs, monkeys, elephant and spotted deer all visited the site during our stay.
The main restaurant over looks the very nice swimming pool which in turn over looks the large water hole where buffalo and crocodiles were spotted. We tried the buffet option, the a-la-carte and bar menus and all offered excellent choice and value although not cheap.
The chalets are very comfortable, clean and well maintained and all the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay.
Both our driver guide Nimal and our safari guide and driver Ananda were very knowledgeable and showed great patients in trying to get the photos of the animals in the positions we wanted.
This was our first safari in Sri Lanka and although the wild life viewing is not up to African levels it does offer a very different experience especially as we managed to see and photo 5 leopards during our stay.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a chalet near the main lodge as you require a guide with a torch to take you to and from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's only 15 minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for just one night so we could do an early morning safari. The welcome from the hotel was lovely - with cinnamon scented towels and watermelon juice.
The room is an individual chalet surrounded by bushes and trees. The room itself was big, bright and with much needed A/C in the thick heat.
The whole hotel was full of thoughtful touches, from the waterfall shower, to the swimming pool shaped like the watering hole it looks out onto.
Wildlife is all around - from monkeys on the trees and on the paths, wild boar roaming around, and water buffalo and a crocodile in the watering hole.
Our one night here was one of the biggest spends of our trip, and with a safari costing $70, it's not cheap. But the food, the stay and spotting a leopard was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_bolsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and only a few minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises which you noticed. While thanking you again for taking your time for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.9 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#3 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Property: Cinnamon Wild Yala
Address: P.O. Box 1, Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing