We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Excellent Service "”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

.It was a relaxing stay at Cinnamon Wild.. and it was fantabulous.. The infrastructure is super cool.. the place look exactly the pictures show..the food was awesome, credit goes to chef Sunanda ( Traveled to Chaaya Wild in 2012b)& hospitality was too good.. Keep up the good work Naleem & team..!
Enjoy My photographs at Cinnamon Wild ( Chaaya Wild )

Room Tip: Jungle Chalet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Wild Yala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. This was definitely a highlight. The rooms were very good with excellent showers. Good was excellent and the Internet was free and reasonably fast.

Staff will escort you to your room after dark because will animals will roam anywhere but you feel very safe.

The pool looked really nice but we didn't use it.

We went on the optional safari and recommend it. We saw three leopards!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us, also with a memorable safari where you had enjoyed seen various sorts of animals. While thanking you for taking your time to write to us we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Sri Lanka tour, this hotel was amazing you drive up to the hotel pass a lake with crocodiles, water buffalo, wild boar, birds everywhere. The hotel is open sided ie bar and restaurant the rooms are in the grounds they are round lodges in the national park, and after dark you are not allowed to go back and forward your selves you have to be escorted. We did two jeep safaris from here and saw animals birds we were blown away with it all. The rooms are lovely large with a large bathroom with walk in showers. The staff were lovely and food very good. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaymakerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed truly pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for yet another pleasant and memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cinnamon Wild for one night, with an afternoon safari the first day and left after breakfast.

The location is great, with wild pigs and monkeys running around the grounds.

The hotel is set in around 10 acres of land adjoining the safari park and accommodation is in cabins dotted around the main reception/dinning pool area or in beach chalets (on stilts by the beach).

Sitting by the pool you have a great view of the buffalo, crocodiles (incredible to watch them leap out of the water to dive for fish) and birds.

Wild pigs/boar roam around the cabins. On the first night we had a special dinner set up on the beach by the lake. With candles and fires providing the light. It was a lovely setting and the food was delicious. However, the tables were set up blocking a route that the pigs used. We had some interesting moments when the sow started to head towards us with the piglets.

Service is friendly and attentive.

There are several new hotels being constructed in the area and it will be interesting to see how the Wild responds to this increase in competition.

All in all a memorable enjoyable time made even more memorable by the fact that we saw a leopard.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoknowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable stay as well. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another pleasant and memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

It's a bit unfair that we stayed at Cinnamon Wild immediately after the wonderful Castlereagh Bungalow, but that is how our itinerary worked out and so on arrival we thought, oops this is not quite what we're used to. Check in was a bit chaotic, we were seated in the bar area and at least two people came to ask us our name. But we got there in the end and were installed in a beach chalet at the very far end of the site. This was large and comfortable enough but lacked things like adequate cupboard space and decent lighting. Only one bottle of water per person per day was also, we felt, a little stingy, especially as if you wanted water with meals you had to buy it. However after a day or two we relaxed into the place and got less picky about it. The meals in the main restaurant are buffet style and offer a large choice of Western and Sri Lankan foods. There is plenty on offer and it's all perfectly acceptable, if a bit mass catering, so you won't go hungry. The bar food was actually excellent. The pool is very nice but the sun lounger mattresses are covered in black plastic which makes them radiate like furnaces in the hot sun, and the pool towels are not large enough to cover the whole thing so either take an extra towel from your room or grab two pool towels if you want to lie flat. The complex is close to Yala national park which is a fabulous place for twitchers, although leopard and elephant sightings are seemingly not as frequent as they might be.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and at the same time We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.
We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly valuable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very enjoyable place to stay with wetlands just outside the hotel complete with lots of birds and even crocodiles. Yala National Park entrance is very close, making this an ideal place to stay while visiting the park and looking for leopards.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellersEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I made my reservation to hotel cinnamon wild at the john Keells head office in Colombo yesterday. If I start my review with hospitality, it starts at the head office. It continues from the security officer at the gate to the very people at the top as well. They all treat you in the same kind of a affection. Though I had the option to make the booking online , I made a special trip to the head office because I feel so good to be with the friendly cinnamon hotels and resorts staff, They always make me feel so special.
Let's move on to my previous visits to cinnamon wild. ( formerly Chaaya wild, Yala village ) I have been visiting this remarkable hotel with my husband and 2 sons since 2010.
I always made sure to get a jungle chalet situated little far from the main building. So that we can feel and enjoy wild life to its fullest. We were visited by many grey langurs, wild boar families with lots of littles fellows , hundreds of birds and an elephant as well.
Our privately situated jungle chalet on stilts was very comfortable with all the facilities a star class hotel room should have.
Hotel is in a marvelous location with natural environment wildness and the sea both. I always enjoy my evening walks near the lake while kids enjoy a cool dip in the pool situated in a great surrounding.
We have never had any problems with check in. Staff has been always flexible, I have been "demanding" for the same chalet we always stay each year. And They are always ready to offer us what we ask for without any fuss or drama. Manager Mr. Teddy has been able to spread his friendliness and helpfulness to all the staff members of the hotel.
The Restaurant is on the first floor of the main building. All 3 buffets were excellent !!!!! Superb variety, with many action dishes too. The selection went from western to Sri Lankan and so much more. You name it, they have it !!!!!
I must mention about the roof top observation deck with a birds eye view. We went every night after dinner just to sit and gaze at the sky listening to the sea waves crashing against the rocks ,under million stars .........
I can add another plus point to the location. It only takes about 10 min drive to the Yala national park entrance. It makes easier to do the early morning safari with the kids. Once we were lucky to see leopard 3 times in one safari.
We will be going back to this most amazing place on earth very soon. That very thought makes me feel as if I'm going home !!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veenafdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's only 10 minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises and you are able to enjoy the wilderness within the hotel premises as well. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another wonderful and memorable stay..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,546 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
329 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
572 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range: $73 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing