We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience in the wild”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A fantastic hotel in the "Wild"! Exciting place to be, where elephants, wildboars and other wild animals roam the area during the night.
Super breakfast, good food very helpful and service-minded staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were welcomed to Cinnamon Yala by Thilini who gave us the run down of the resort. She encouraged us to call reception if we had any problems and explained the dangers once it gets dark. The pool is a beautiful oasis and kept in top shape by the pool attendant. We had lunch and dinner in the a la carte cafe and the food was absolutely fantastic also very reasonably priced, all the waiters were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was at the buffet and was a lovely setting sitting up in the trees also the food very good. We only stayed one night in this beautiful hotel and would of liked to stay longer our room was beautiful and all the rooms are very private as we sat on the verandah we were visited by a wart hog and some black faced monkeys. Thilini and Amarawansa ensured that we had a smooth check out and we were sorry to have to say farewell.

Room Tip: Close to the pool is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

There is no doubt this is probably the best located resort close to Yala National Park.
Room was great. Maybe on the expensive side. A classic adventure in terms of an upmarket resort.
I had read reviews about the resort having animals within its perimeter - but wasn't expecting the reality of it all. Initially I had grave concerns when I saw dogs around the resort (and on our balcony) but they were the natural 'early warning' alarm for when the pigs were around - which seemed kind of often. There were also buffalo, monkeys and a harmless little tree snake that I also saw. Plenty of lizards and insects.
At night they insist you get an escort to take you to your bungalow to ensure you get their safely. If you like some adrenalin boost before bed - go by yourself :)
Food/buffet was OK and the bar was nice. Definitely check out the Caiprihinias at the bar - which are exceptional value.
Only concern i had was that there was no resort map. i wanted to walk around and check out the whole place. When I asked for a 'resort map' at reception, the lady kindly offered me a map of Sri Lanka?!? Thus I felt that with no map I didn't get to see the whole resort - and it didn't seem like sort of place you just go wandering. Maybe we had a misunderstanding but would highly recommend that the resort get themselves a resort map.
Safaris were great. We went on five safaris. Decent Leopard spotting on one of the safaris. Mass 'Leopard-Jam' frenzy on another safari. Nothing of interest on other two. However on the final five minutes of the final day we had out National Geographic moment when a big guy came walking around the corner and we managed to have a couple of minutes before the remainder of the jeep cavalry turned up diesel engines surging. Our guide had been great that day as was doing the opposite of the other jeeps by driving slowly and methodically trying to track the cats.
There doesn't seem to be much method to a successful spotting. Just keep positive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent a relaxing weekend at Yala Cinnamon Wild, It is a hotel which blends in beautifully with its environment, comfortably designed Chalets with all the basic conceivable comforts.It also has a little sit out and if lucky, as we were, able to see wild boar which came up to the steps, so we watched it undisturbed where after a while it moved away.We also the the Shikra Eagle,squirrel and monkeys all from the comforts of our room. The Food on offer, Buffet dinner and breakfast were excellent. We opted out of visiting the park as the park is too commercialized . we just relaxed in the Hotel, and since adjoining the hotel there is a small lake, one could take a walk and we were able to see a variety of birds, crocodile and buffalo.It was very serene and peaceful there especially at sunset as all one hears are the cries of birds in the stillness. So literally the park came to us. I found the service exceptional, they were warm, helpful and friendly, a special mention to Saman the bar tender who went out of his way to be nice. The only disadvantage would be for people who find it tedious to do the trek to the Chalets and back as they are a little far from the main part of the hotel where the pool dining etc is.Overall an enjoyable place definitely worth visiting again.

Room Tip: unless one prefers the beach chalets to enjoy the view though they are the farthest from the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khairy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff at Cinnamon Wild do their best to provide the best service to all our guests and we are pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to having you back with us again for yet another relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Yala, the best place to see leopards in the world, lies in the South coast of Sri Lanka. It is an easily accessible national park with the highest density of leopards on the globe. And Cinnamon or Chhaya Wild is the best place to stay for not just the leopard, but an overall invigorating wild experience.

They have both jungle and beach chalets, and the beach chalets, which are raised on stilts, are the idea place to stay during the visit. While there are mangroves between the beach chalets and the sea, it is an admirable decision of the management not to have cleared the mangroves and maintain the natural ecosystem of the place.

The landscaped pool with the poolside bar is amazing and the terrace top bar is absolutely enchanting during the nights. The service is excellent.

The best part of this resort is the well-trained and learned team of naturalists, most of whom are good photographers. The wide spread out resort itself has a thriving bird and animal life, with a pool full of crocodiles.

A memorable stay!

Room Tip: Although jungle chalets are good, beach chalets are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I must admit I have been spoilt by a few African experiences that were a lot more personal than what this place offers. It is not top luxury but it is still enjoyable though. We spent 6 nights here and I must say that it overall went very well.

The staff was usually very nice except a lady at the front desk who was not too friendly. When you arrive and leave there is always an impression of disorder at the front desk (you ask something to someone who will pass it to someone else.. until someone finally takes care of it). Since I said I prefer more exclusive services, I found the place a bit crowded and especially at X-Mas but they had at least tried to make some efforts for that special day.

The beach chalet built on stilt was nice, very clean and quiet but it is a bit sad that you basically do not see the sea (you just hear it).

The restaurants are OK but after 6 nights you find the food a little repetitive since it is a buffet but at least the choice is large.

Personally my expectations were big about Yala which is now very well known throughout the world for its leopards (by wildlife and big cats lovers). But I would clearly not recommend to go here at least not during X-Mas- New Year's eve period. The hotel is quite close to the park entrance but the park was so crowded it was a real nightmare and for the first time in my life I ended up in lines and traffic jam inside a national park (see my review for Yala). 10 safaris and no proper sighting of a big cat (I'm a wildlife photographers so I expect quality sightings not a cat at 500 meters sleeping in a tree that you barely see through the binoculars), it was a horrible mess all the way (and you never get to be alone more than 30 seconds). But if you avoid this periods maybe the park is enjoyable and can deliver..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. During Christmas and New Year our Hotel was running on full occupancy, however we made every effort to ensure that each and every guest of ours enjoyed their stay. We have also noted your comments on the other aspects and we will certainly look in to improving ourselves to serve our customers better. We look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights during our time in Yala. We were upgraded to beach chalet as it was my birthday. Lovely room in secluded location with all the amenities you would need. The restaurant manager went over and above to make our stay special giving us private dining locations and making sure his staff took good care of us. Food was if average quality-a shame given the prices on the a la carte menu. Breakfast was very good one of the best we'd had in Sri Lanka.

The system of being escorted to and from your room after 6pm is a bit silly as I don't think there's any real danger and you are reliant on waiting to be picked up.

Swimming pool and grounds compact but nice

A lovely but expensive stay made worthwhile by Naleen (restaurant manager) and his staff especially Pradeep.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma-Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were a part of making your stay memorable. We have noted your comments on areas for improvement and will certainly take a look into bettering ourselves in the areas highlighted. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,659 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
369 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
328 reviews
12.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
293 reviews
8 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range: $142 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing