We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the wildress”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived at the end of a long day and were met by smiling cheerful staff who quickly showed us the way the washrooms with a laugh. Welcome drinks and towel were lovely.
We had booked the jungle chalets and were not disappointed, compare to most accommodation around Sri Lanka this was the most expensive we stayed in and it was worth it. It is close to the park so there is little time spent travelling to the gates. The wildlife do visit and we had troops of monkeys outside our chalets and an elephant in the carpark. Crocodiles are in the lagoon.
we were very fortunate to see a leopard on our safari but there are only 35-50 in 35thousand acres. Meal are ala carte or buffet depending on what you booked. The food was good and ample of it and some dishes were being cooked fresh. Overall this was a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it

Room Tip: Book Jungle Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. Whilst noting the experience derived in all areas including the wild life park, we thank you for selecting Cinnamon Wild for your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel staff were very kind enough to wait till we checked in because we had a vehicle break down on the way and we were very late to arrive at the hotel..finally at 11pm! the road was scary during the night when wild elephants on the loose but the staff were too kind to make us feel comfortable and very helpful..A big thank you to all and specially Mr. Rajindra Daniel at JKH..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. It is our pleasure to assist and be flexible at the time of need and our staff are more than happy to extend their services to you. We look forward to your next visit & thank you for selecting Cinnamon Wild.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Would definitely come again. This was a great adventure and fit in perfectly with the Yala National Park safari experience which was available the next day. The staff were attentive and lovely and the jungle chalet was clean, fun and perfect for a couple. The shower was big and the bed comfortable. The food at the bar was lovely (a la carte, as opposed to buffet in restaurant) and the drinks lovely. We loved the fact that we were surrounded by animals even though most of the time we didn't see them. Want to come again to try the pool and do a nature walk/bird watching experience.

Room Tip: Jungle Chalet was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BextcWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We’re happy to note that you had enjoyed the accommodation and had used the A’la carte service of the bar. This in particular brings an experience of wildlife passing by together with the distant lake and jungle view. As the hotel is situated in buffer zone of the park, the nature walk especially during migratory times would enable one to spot around 40-60 birds within the premises and more than 100 when going out to the park. We look forward to your next visit as our residential naturalist would be happy to extend their knowledge on nature walks on the trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is well located and rooms are nice but staff made quite a few mistakes. We booked a double room , got a twin . Our room was stifling from heat and since it was prebooked staff could have had the cooling operating as aircon takes ages to get going and was so noisy that we had to swtich it off. The wi fi access process was quite ridiculous.To summarise, many of the slight annoyances we encountered could have been fixed if staff English was just a tad better, and better attention to detail. Food was good on the whole.

Room Tip: Make sure when you check in that your requests have been met because it is a pain to chase up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We thank you for the constructive feedback and will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is probably one of the most unusual properties I've stayed in ,the rooms were very nicely done the only problem was the sound of the air con all night kept us awake .
The dinner is buffet or ala carte we arrived a bit early for dinner as they wait for everyone to return from safaris so they told us to wait in the upstairs bar only problem is it wasn't
serviced ..
We wanted ala carte we had two wait staff trying to push us into having the buffet ... The food took ages and was terrible .the bar closer to the pool was good .
Don't go in September as the park is closed .
We went on a Safari still but had to go about an hour away to enter the park .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our Hotel. As we take serious note of areas of improvement, we regret any inconvenience which may have been caused. We look forward to meeting you on your next visit to indulge you in a service parallel to none.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is a must stay if you are planning on visiting the Yala National Park. Located within 15 minutes to the gate you will be spotting animals before you know it and will be able to return very quickly to the hotel for a rest in between safari drives. The staff were courteous and professional. The layout of the property is excellent and the bungalows were meticulously maintained and extremely comfortable. Buffet breakfast was good and a la carte menu had a large enough selection to cater to everyone's needs. Considering the quality of the hotel, I thought it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Did not explore the beach bungalow area, but was very happy in the forest bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and delighted to note your comments. Being situated in close proximity to the national park is a distinctive advantage to our guest at Cinnamon Wild. Whilst noting the overall experience, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent hotel with the fastest, fuss free check-in ever! We booked a two nights stay via Agoda. On arrival, we were greeted with happy, cheerful staff and had barely put our bags down when we were offered refreshing towels, a drink and the keys to our room! The rooms were nicely furnished, clean and the bathroom was modern with everything we needed in it. We had dinner at the buffet restaurant one night where there was a good variety of tasty food. One our second night, we dined downstairs at the bar area and we each chose something different from the aka carte menu. The food was also excellent. We booked a safari with the hotel and had a wonderful guide, Nirmal, who was knowledgeable, friendly and eager to show us the wildlife. Nirmal even provided binoculars for all of us. The game drive was also very good and we were very lucky to see elephants, a leopard and the elusive sloth bear. All in all, an excellent experience and definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed in in Sri Lanka. Well done and keep it up!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Traveller6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the accommodation and had used the A’la carte service of the bar. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
8 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
589 reviews
12.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range: $122 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing