We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is probably one of the most unusual properties I've stayed in ,the rooms were very nicely done the only problem was the sound of the air con all night kept us awake .
The dinner is buffet or ala carte we arrived a bit early for dinner as they wait for everyone to return from safaris so they told us to wait in the upstairs bar only problem is it wasn't
serviced ..
We wanted ala carte we had two wait staff trying to push us into having the buffet ... The food took ages and was terrible .the bar closer to the pool was good .
Don't go in September as the park is closed .
We went on a Safari still but had to go about an hour away to enter the park .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our Hotel. As we take serious note of areas of improvement, we regret any inconvenience which may have been caused. We look forward to meeting you on your next visit to indulge you in a service parallel to none.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is a must stay if you are planning on visiting the Yala National Park. Located within 15 minutes to the gate you will be spotting animals before you know it and will be able to return very quickly to the hotel for a rest in between safari drives. The staff were courteous and professional. The layout of the property is excellent and the bungalows were meticulously maintained and extremely comfortable. Buffet breakfast was good and a la carte menu had a large enough selection to cater to everyone's needs. Considering the quality of the hotel, I thought it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Did not explore the beach bungalow area, but was very happy in the forest bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and delighted to note your comments. Being situated in close proximity to the national park is a distinctive advantage to our guest at Cinnamon Wild. Whilst noting the overall experience, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent hotel with the fastest, fuss free check-in ever! We booked a two nights stay via Agoda. On arrival, we were greeted with happy, cheerful staff and had barely put our bags down when we were offered refreshing towels, a drink and the keys to our room! The rooms were nicely furnished, clean and the bathroom was modern with everything we needed in it. We had dinner at the buffet restaurant one night where there was a good variety of tasty food. One our second night, we dined downstairs at the bar area and we each chose something different from the aka carte menu. The food was also excellent. We booked a safari with the hotel and had a wonderful guide, Nirmal, who was knowledgeable, friendly and eager to show us the wildlife. Nirmal even provided binoculars for all of us. The game drive was also very good and we were very lucky to see elephants, a leopard and the elusive sloth bear. All in all, an excellent experience and definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed in in Sri Lanka. Well done and keep it up!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Traveller6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the accommodation and had used the A’la carte service of the bar. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

8-night stay with a 1-year old. Very flexible staff, genuinely caring about our well-being; helpful maintenance team (babycot had to be adjusted and done promptly). Lots of small touches from staff which make your stay so much more enjoyable, for you and the baby. Wild chalets seem to provide a better 'wildlife' experience. Service is of the highest level on every occasion:check-in, housekeeping, bar, waiters, pool guys. Safari is nice but over-rated. You see all animals wondering around the hotel premises already. Definitely a place I would recommend if you are heading for a 'down-time' period. Nothing close by so you rely fully on the hotel offerings ref. F&B which never let's you down. BBQ by the lake (evening) time is highly recommended.Special thanks to Mr. Naleen (F&B Manager) who is really a hands-on team member and all-rounder. No spa, no fitness as hotel is aimed at a different clientele, for now.The breakfast box on offer if you have early morning departure is a very nice and welcomed last touch before you hit the road. A holiday to remember, as far as we are concerned. Regards, Claudio

Room Tip: The wild chalet did it for us; beach chalets are a bit more remote from the main facilities. Due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay after returning to our resort. We will certainly share your kind sentiments with our F&B Manager, Mr. Naleen and his team who were indeed pleased to be of service to you. Whilst thanking you for sharing your great experience with us, we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our early morning safari in to the National Park. We had a cabin on stilts that was at the edge of the hotel site. We could hear the sea, and our friends in the neighbouring cabin could see the sea. The bed was big and comfortable, and the room also. We had been told on check in not to go out after dark without a guide as the hotel is on the edge of a wildlife park. Indeed when I went out at sunset, I startled a herd of wild pigs who were wandering through under the cabin. They scampered away quickly. The pool was very welcome after a long hot days travel. Staff superb. Dinner is buffet or a al carte. We chose a la carte but it took an hour for our meals to arrive after ordering. The food was dry and cold, as though it had been cooked some time previously, but had been sitting around for awhile before being delivered to the table.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

a beautiful property right in the middle of the jungle. very close to the yala national park, which cuts down your travelling time for the safari...much needed for the morning safari! The reception area, pool and and bars are beautifully made. The jungle chalets though small are tastefully done and clean and well maintained. Not much to do at the resort except for a dip in the pool which isnt so deep and gets crowded . the terrace bar is a beautiful place to hang out in the evening and enjoy the sea breeze and the view! I would suggest you to take safari from outside coz they are highly priced in the hotel and dont care much if you see a leopard or not. Staff is friendly and good. The best part about this place is their food. I wonder how they manage to out up such a wonderful buffet meals in the middle of the jungle with huge variety. dont miss trying the lankan curries here....they were amazing!

Room Tip: jungle chalets are closer to the reception are rather than beach chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trying_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for your feedback we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala . Our Hotel is located in the buffer zone and is 15 minutes from the national park, hence wildlife roam free in and around the premises. While thanking you for your feedback, we look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the first time I have been to Cinnamon Wild. It was a wonderful experience. It was awesome to see the wild boar freely roaming the hotel grounds. The lake opposite the hotel has a good opportunities to see a lot of wild life. The rooftop of the restaurant gives you a wonderful experience if you want to do a bit of star gazing. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The Night safari is a must which is quite a scary experience.

Room Tip: A chalet by the beach would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
8 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
589 reviews
12.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range: $122 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing