We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel perfect for safari”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique hotel perfect for safari”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights during our family trip to Sri Lanka .this hotel is totally unique set in spectacular wildlife park the chalets are really comfortable and all the staff were very friendly and helpful we had the most amazing nature walk at dawn through sand dunes and the bush following trails of crocodiles and leopards our guide was great fun and so knowledgable.the following day we set off on safari it was fabulous, so exciting we searched out leopards with the help of an amazing tracker ,driver and our personal guide Don.what an amazing afternoon we saw leopards elephants crocs jackals wild boar deer water buffalo and so much more .A really unique hotel .fabulous

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    483
    129
    27
    22
See reviews for
435
811
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for the location near the national park. We were impressed with some things but disappointed with others. The staff were helpful and pleasant but did not go out of their way like other places we went to. Biggest let down was the food. There was no room service and my partner was not feeling too good whilst we were there so I had the choice of dining alone or missing out. Overall it is a good hotel for a short stay, and that is what it is geared towards, it does not have the services of other cinnamon hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We have noted the concerns raised and will look in to improving these areas, especially in relation to food. While thanking you for taking time to write to us we sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is literally inside Yala National Park - there are no boundaries between the hotel and local wildlife so it is a very unique experience to stay here. When we arrived, the staff said that we could not walk to our room unaccompanied at night due to the wildlife - we didn't really take this seriously, but then we saw all sorts of wildife around the hotel - elephants, wild boar, monkeys, even a crocodile relaxing a few metres from the swimming pool!

The location is very good for enjoying an early morning safari in Yala and Bundala National Park is about 1 hour away.

The quality of the room really exceeded our expectations. The room was wonderful - perhaps it has been recently renovated as it had a fresh feel. It was spacious, had a good air conditioner and bathroom (although the shower head was quite low, this didn't cause any dramas).

It was great to relax by the pool in between safaris, although the water was a little dirty.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the buffet. It was OK - it had a wide selection of freshly made food such as pizza, pasta, salads and a good range of Sri Lankan options too.

The service in the hotel and restaurant is what let this place down a little. It seemed we really had to ask for things that should have been done automatically.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your response to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We have noted the areas needed for improvement and will certainly look at bettering ourselves in the highlighted areas. The hotel situated in the buffer zone of the National park makes it ideally suited for all wild life enthusiasts. While thanking you for taking time to write to us we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is not that bad but was the worst of the 4 hotels we stayed at during our 10 days in Sri Lanka. Its big positive is its location within Yala National Park. The room was comfortable and quiet but the mosquito net had a few holes in it!!! The a la carte food was okay but I was disappointed with the breakfast selection.
The staff were what really let this place down for us. Service was incredibly slow all of the time but it was checking out that was the highlight taking nearly 30 minutes!!!
The final nail in the coffin was our realisation after we left that despite us paying handsomely for accomodation and food (it takes at least 30 mins by car to get to nearest town so you really have no choice but to eat there) our driver had to pay for his accomodation and food.
This was the only place during our trip that driver food and accomodation was not provided free of charge. The UK equivalent of price paid by driver is minimal but to Sri Lankans it is considerable and in my opinion totally unnecessary. This is part of a chain of hotels and they can easily fund the minimal costs associated with drivers; they surely rely on drivers to get people to them!! We reimbursed our driver for his expenses. Earlier in our trip we stayed in a B&B run by a couple who provided accomodation and food for free!!!
I would not stay here again and there is a Jetwing opening soon and hopefully this will provide some healthy competition. The Jetwing Vil Uyana we stayed in at the beginning of our trip far exceeded this on service and treatment of driver which is of upmost importance as they spend long hours driving sometimes in very difficult conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wooden Cottages with all amenities and very comfortable. The Resort is located within the Forest and occasional sightings inside the Resort is possible. After dusk you need to call the reception so that somebody can escort you to the restaurant and pool area from your room. On the day we visited we had a Wild Boar zipping past our path. The next day Morning we had a group of Wild Boars zipping past inside the resort. At around 9.00 AM an Elephant wandered into the Parking area and toppled all the Garbage Bins to eat the remains of fruits and then went away.
The Pool is of very low depth and you can leave your kids unattended as well. Opposite to the Pool is a lake where you can see some birds & crocodiles.
Overall a Fantastic Experience and really Love this Place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USGalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a true highlight of our honeymoon. We stayed here for 2 nights having been moved from an awful hotel nearby!! We weren't disappointed!!! Our Jungle chalet was spotless, very comfortable and set in the beautiful grounds. The food was amazing, the staff very helpful particularly the manager who made us feel extremely welcome following our difficulties with a different hotel. We loved the fact that there were so many animals around such as birds, crocodile, elephant, monkeys, wold boar. The distance to the entrance to Yala is minimal and the guys in the hotel that do the safaris are fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. We absolutely loved this place and if we ever return to Sri Lanka we will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlachrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked a couple of nights stay at Cinnamon Wild on 25th/26th June while we were staying at The Fortress in Kogalla ( see my other review). The first thing you should be aware of is that the hotel is about 20 km from the nearest town of Tissa" and the final 8km of the journey the road is very bad with ruts and potholes large enough to trap elephant.
We were greeted with cold towels and a welcome drink but the reception staff themselves were not particularly welcoming nor did they seem too interested. Maybe that's just my impression having just come from the Fortress!
We were shown to our jungle chalet (145) which was very nice and not too far from the main area of the hotel reception, restaurant and bar so was handy but also nice and quiet. The chalet itself was very clean and has all you need for a short stay. We were made very welcome by the chalet housekeeper, Prince, who was smiley, helpful and could not do enough to make you feel like a special visitor. He later did some terrific artwork on the bed using twigs and leaves to make a brilliant pic of an elephant in the jungle! Top marks for Prince.
In and around the hotel grounds there are many monkeys which will sit on your steps and clamber over the chalet roofs. There are many bird types, lizards and even crocs on the small lake so it is well worth a walk around the grounds although it advised you don"t do so in the dark!
We booked two safaris for the next day via the office in the hotel, the first starting at 05:30 for 4 hours and then out again at 13:30 to about 18:00. The cost was €80 per person per trip and for that you are in your own safari jeep with driver and guide. We were very lucky with the driver we had, Rajiv I think he was caled, as he was not only a very good driver but also very knowledgeable and had eyes like a hawk spotting all sorts of things whilst driving through difficult terrain.
The main thing most visitors to Yala want to see are the leopards and we were very lucky to see them on both safaris of the day along with elephant, boar, water buffalo, crocs, deer, mongoose and many different types of birds from kingfishers to eagles. Two great safaris, thank you.
With the hotel being so difficult to get to it is a good thing that the restaurant is also very good. Not only is the food good but it is also not too expensive either especially as they have a captive audience. All in all we very much enjoyed our two nights at Cinnamon Wild but we were also really still looking forward to getting back to The Fortress for the last few days of our holiday.

Room Tip: Having had a walk around I was happy to be in chalet 145.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoogiDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,471 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
7.9 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
93 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
560 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Property: Cinnamon Wild Yala
Address: P.O. Box 1, Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing