We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural, easy going, on a stunning beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kirinda Beach Resort
Varese
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Natural, easy going, on a stunning beach”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a family of 4 in one of the family huts. These are all wood and natural cement (mud) giving a lovely feeling of being in the jungle, but with comfortable beds and bathroom. Sure, you might find a frog or two, but then you are in the midst of nature. A few short steps to an amazing beach - the warnings of dangerous swimming should be heeded but ok to go to waist height if you are confident in the water. If you are lucky you will see turtles, either offshore swimming in the day, or up the beach at night in the right season. Very attentive assistant manager, pool structure was surprisingly endearing. A highlight though was the transport arranged for us from mirissa - we got to meet the wonderful jaya who was easily the best and most honest and charming person we encountered in Sri Lanka. If you need transport , he's your man (see separate entry for elephant camp in tissa). Kirinda beach is fully recommended and a truly beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveLaveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    46
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
56
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We only stayed for one night, and could have stayed much longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cabins, although no a/c, had a natural breeze coming through them and were comfortable to sleep in. The cabins are super cute, and cozy. There is an amazing pool and restaurant which both look over the beach. And there is a turtle nest within walking distance to go see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've been staying for 2 days at the Kirinda Beach resort. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.
Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met the manager Dilan. He explained everything I had available and gave me a service very quickly.
Room was clean and quiet and I had very rich and tasty breakfast, I love Sri Lankan traditional foods and I found the best around. Spicy taste foods with each breakfast I became more enthusiasm.

On the second day they show me the most beautiful beach called kirinda beach I have never seen never visit before and I became crazy with that virgin beach and had a fun lot. These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chathuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights end of February and felt at home as soon as my partner and I arrived. This was our 4 th stop of our 2 week vacation and we both loved Kirinda resort so much we extended our stay. The restaurant is open all day with a well stocked bar. The staff were all welcoming and would bend over backwards to cater for your needs.
We organised our Yala tour with Kirinda and forwarding transport to the airport. This was the only place we stayed at where the customer comes first and so not looking rip you off. All tips are shared out between all the staff bi weekly so it was our pleasure to give something back on our departure and at no time were you made to feel guilty about how hard up they were like at the 3 other places we stayed at. We met some great people at the resort and used the bikes to cycle round the area which I would recommend. The pool was superb over looking the sea, and all mod cons in the rooms. We would definitely stay here again and miss it already. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to go to visit Yala which is about 25 mins away, the jeep will also pick you up from the resort included in the price for 4500 rupees. Thank you Patricia, Sanjeewa, Jude and Sanjaya for everything. I hope to see you again one day.
I hope you enjoy your time there as much as I did.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMccrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The resort consists of a number of chalets on the sand behind the beach. The location is exceptional. The beach is quiet and the place gives the best of both worlds, near to Yala National Park and a beach holiday too.
Staff are very willing but inexperienced. I can forgive that easily.
Rooms are fine, but they need to pay a bit more attention to mosquitoes. The chalets could retain character and be better mosquito proofed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impalauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Kirinda Beach Resort in February 2013. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka, but we would have to say it is worth it. The easiest way to get there is to find a way to Tissa, usually by train, and get a 500 rupee tuk tuk to the hotel. As soon as you get there, you are welcomed by all the staff. They are more than friendly and super helpful. They showed us their beautiful beach (be careful of swimming in the water) and around. The room itself is wonderful, with everything you could want. However, it is in a jungle, and the rooms are not well protected from outside insects. There were mosquitoes galore and huge spiders just hanging out. But with a mosquito net at night these things didn't bother us though. With no AC during the day the rooms got pretty toasty. At night the fans were enough. The only major problem was that we felt trapped. Since it is in a very small town with nothing else in it, so the only option was to eat and drink there. The food was good, although pricey for our budget. We wish we could have spent more time there. Another thing: check the receipts at the end. There were many mistakes which they tried to charge us for things we had not ordered. They blamed this on the waiters' lack of English and are working out a new system for this. Did not cause any problems and would come back in a second.

Room Tip: There were some shared wall bungalows, I would stay way from those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubertJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weligama, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Excellent bedroom and bathroom with its homely and comfortable atmosphere. It is situated in the most amazing location and the service is impeccable. Transports you to another place and time. With its scenic beauty and breath-taking beach front. Kirinda Beach resort is a place which is perfect for all ages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidathhettihewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
6.5 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
93 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
301 reviews
6.5 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Camp Yala
The Beach Camp Yala
#4 of 30 in Kirinda
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirinda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirinda Beach Resort

Property: Kirinda Beach Resort
Address: Nidangalawella Road, Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirinda Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kirinda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirinda Beach Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing