We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Yala Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suduweli - Beauties of Nature
Certificate of Excellence
Essen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Yala Accommodation”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I found out about this place in a guide book and contacted Karin and Shantha to reserve the place for 1 room since we were visiting Yala national park. They responded very fast and answered all the questions. We arrived 15.02 afternoon and decided to go to the beach. Shantha kindly recommended the exact place where we could swim, which was very nice since there are wild and crazy waves around and you should really find a spot where you can enter the water.

We arranged a day-trip safari with Shantha, but we met another couple and shared the price for safari. Shantha's nephew was driving us through Yala the whole day (almost 12 hours, star at 6 am and finish at 5 pm), which was an amazing experience. He was really a great and attentive guide spotting all the hidden animals and birds.

I highly recommend a day safari, since during the noon heat the park is almost empty and the guid can drive you to some remote spots. The guide is also very important, we've seen some guides who were quite relaxed and lazy in searching for animals.

We like the place so much that we decided to stay one more night and then to move further to Tangalle, but this is another story :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here in November 2013 and had a very relaxing stay in one of their little bungalows which was lovely, quiet and clean. Karin and Shantha were great and looked after us really well and gave us lots of helpful advice. Breakfast and dinner is lovely and freshly prepared how you want it and I had the best pot of tea in the morning from my whole trip in Sri Lanka. They also organised for Shanthas nephew to take us on safari to both Yala (we actually saw 2 leopards!) and Udawalawe (a lot smaller and I thought a lot nicer with LOADS of elephants) National Parks. We spent a lovely afternoon at the nearby beach, although it's not the best walk or bike ride, and ate at the Kirinda Beach Resort, where they looked after us and even let us take a couple of chairs onto the beach. Karin also organised a taxi driver to take us onto our next destination in Mirissa where we discovered both her and Shantha have stayed previously so we ended up taking some curd as a gift!
If you want to get away from everything and just enjoy peaceful scenery, wildlife, good conversation and food then this is the place for you. Sorry Karin and Shantha for taking so long to get our review in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benaulim, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a lovely cottage in a quiet garden, home cooked food and a great welcome. Shantha drove the jeep on safari himself and was brilliant spotting birds and wildlife. His patience & skill got us the best prize of all, a leopard wandering down the road just yards in front of us, when all the other jeeps had given up and driven away - magical!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee_T_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here four nights. The beakfast is the best we ever had in Sri Lanka. Karin and Shantha are the best hosts you can find. So lovely and caring people. The place is very clean and are situated in a beautiful surrounding. Our children are 8 and 10 years old. They loved the place, and so did me and my husband. The rooms are very basic, but clean. They also have a small restaurant, and the food here is excellent! Karin & Shantha helped us to arrange safaris and other things to do.
We can recommend this place!!!!!
(Bring mosquito repellent.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGJ388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A Sri Lankan/German couple runs this guesthouse (this is the guarantee for a very good standard) and you will feel immediately at home. The bungalow we had was very nice, with little verenda, enough space inside and a nice bathroom. Dinner and breakfast were ok, too. And especially the price is correct. Staying there saves you also 15min drive for the morning safari because Kirinda is closer to the park entrance (Just bear in mind: the gates open at 6am. When we arrived shortly after 5:30am there were already appr. 100 jeeps. It was 6:25 when we could become part of the traffic jam in the National Park. So better start 5am in Kirinda and be among the first

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very nice place run by a very nice German-Sri Lankan couple. Our cabana was very clean with a view to a small lake. Breakfast was simple with fruit, coffee, eggs, curd. Dinner was made by the owners or by village . They also have two bikes, because accommodation in not on the beach. Owners also arranged Yala safari and they ask reasonable price for it. Our guide really took time to show us all kind of animals and birds.
The village itself is not very exciting, but I think most people come for safari.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cercops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If it's not paradise, it looks like!!!The cleanest place - and i have been 5 times in SRI LANKA.
The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable (and here, miracle, the old, damadeg, broken things are changed or repaired). The garden is wonderful and i like the restaurant so much: in the middle of trees, flowers and birds.
This union between Germany and Sri Lanka makes a great cocktail -the best of both countries.
The prices are affordable: they include the breakfast. And a fresh and fabulous breakfast: everything to be happy... One of the best of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 179pascalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
93 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kirinda Beach Resort
Kirinda Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Kirinda
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suduweli - Beauties of Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suduweli - Beauties of Nature

Property: Suduweli - Beauties of Nature
Address: Kirinda 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suduweli - Beauties of Nature is located before Kirinda and 25 min away from the Yala Gate. The ocean is 10, 15 min by feet away. We arrange Yala Safari, Bundala and Udawalawe. Pik up from airport is possible, also more day tours. Lunch and dinner you can order. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suduweli - Beauties Of Nature Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing