We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place to stay in Aktau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Aktau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to stay in Aktau”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Renaissance is a well built, Western hotel and offers decent sized rooms and good amenities. The bar and restaurant are both excellent and the open air pool area and the drinks terrace make for a nice after work diversion.

The breakfast service is excellent and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay for a few days.

The only negative comment I have is that Wi-Fi is charged as an extra (although it is available free of charge in the lobby area)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
6
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I wanted a hotel that was centrally located and that I could be reasonably certain woudl provide me with a comfortable stay. A clearn room, professional service, comfortable bed. The Renaissance Aktau ticked the boxes. And while I have learnt to avoid the use of the term "best" since it's all relative, the truth is I would find it hard to even think of any alternatives in the city - as far as I could tell it's the only one that does tick the boxes.

The free wifi was great (unfortunately only available in the lobby area but better than nothing). And the bar and restaurants were good too. The hotel organised pick up and drop off from/ to airport which also went smoothly.

A great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenHotelAktau, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Aktau Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great stay.
Our associates take pride in providing a quality experience to all our guests.
Again, thank to you for taking the time to review and rate our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon!


With best regards,
Renaissance Aktau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good service.
Good food.

If you are looking for a ¨Western¨ hotel in Aktau The Renaissance cannot be faulted.

The indoor swimming pool is a little odd but clean and great for an early morning swim before work.

Breakfast is superb. You can choose to be healthy or not. A plethora of goodies from muesli, fruit and nuts to a full Monty. I particularly like the wee, personal egg Benedict.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutherland1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Apparently one of the few places to stay that fits western tastes. Clean enough, very poor and very expensive internet...make them remove the charges.

Oddly shaped building. Staff was pleasant enough and food , well, OK. Room clean and decently maintained.

If you must visit Aktau...suppose this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I lived in the Renaissance Hotel Aktau a couple of weeks during my business trip to Aktau. I enjoed it. Service was very good (especially the laundry).
The view on the Caspian sea during the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visit this hotel more or less regularly for business. Last visit had a 6 day duration. In general it's a good place. Clean rooms. Fair sized bathroom. Pity the shower and bath are combined. To surprises this time. The service in the restaurant and bar area was very slow. Not sure if these places are under staffed or staff is simply doing something else. Printing daily summaries for 1/2 hr during dinner on the restaurant dot martix printer is also less client friendly. Had to find out that the hotel disables the cooling part of the airco in November by waking up at night in a way to warm room. Complained, nothing happened, complained again, repairman shows up who tells me the cooling has been switched off. Excuse: "It's cold outside sir". No windows to open ofcourse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, UAe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Rooms very comfortable but you have to pay for WiFi. (free in the public areas of the hotel) Kingsize beds absolutely the best- very comfortable with beautiful pillows and duvet. Make sure you ask for a non smoking room if you don't smoke!
Walk to the Caspian Sea on a weekend and watch local people enjoying feeding the seabirds (heard that the stony beach fills with swans later in December- hence all the swan motifs around the city) , horse back riding, kids in the playground ...... Walk a ways along the Corniche and reach a small shopping center with a grocery store. Walk in the direction of the WWII monument and hopefully catch a wedding party doing a photo op at the eternal flame. Hotel staff very helpful and translated all the wording on photos I took around the city as the signs are in Kazakh. Visit the interesting little Historical Museum also within walking distance of the hotel....museum descriptions in Kazakh or Russian.....don't know!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a smoke free room if you don't smoke. I first had a smokers room and the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aktau hotels
1.9 mi away
Chagala Hotel Aktau
Chagala Hotel Aktau
#8 of 12 in Aktau
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Aktau
Holiday Inn Aktau
#3 of 12 in Aktau
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caspian Riviera Grand Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Victory
Grand Hotel Victory
#4 of 12 in Aktau
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 12 in Aktau
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Nur Plaza Hotel and Conf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aktau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aktau Hotel

Property: Renaissance Aktau Hotel
Address: Microdistrict 9, 130000, Aktau 130000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Mangystau Province > Aktau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aktau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aktau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the Caspian Sea, the Renaissance Aktau Hotel is located in the city centre and is within walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. Whether leisure or business travel to Aktau brings you to our friendly city, you'll find first-class service and amenities. Our spacious rooms and suites feature high-speed Internet, in-room safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, satellite TV and separate bathroom with hair dryer. Staying fit and relaxed at our Kazakhstan hotel is easy. Swim in our indoor or outdoor pools after unwinding in the sauna and get a great workout in our on-site fitness centre. After a busy day, catch up with family or colleagues over dinner at Silk, grab sandwiches at the Pool Bar or try one of many teas and snacks at Chai Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aktau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aktau Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing