We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Place to Eat in Poipet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Destiny Cafe

Destiny Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Poipet
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Destiny Cafe Escape the stress, heat and dirt and enter into a place where food, coffee and friends meet. Our selection of blended drinks like our pineapple fruit smoothie or ice cold coffee frappe will cool you right off. For hot drinks, our Italian-style coffee drinks like a strong espresso, creamy latte or sweet cafe mocha hits the spot. Taste one of our brownies or waffles along with your drink. We also have a delicious Cambodian food menu if you want to be filled and satisfied. For travellers we provide information on hotels, tours and restaurants for Poipet, Siem Reap and Phnom Penh. With free Wi-Fi you can plan your trip while sipping on a latte. Whether you are catching up with a friend over coffee or having a business meeting our spacious and air-conditioned cafe will meet your needs.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only Place to Eat in Poipet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I love this place. We visit there each day during our week in Poipet. The staff are friendly and the food and coffee drinks are exceptional. Must visit on your way through town. The restruant is a training center for young women. GREAT PLACE!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Only place I could find on Tripadvisor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I am stuck in Poipet for a night before going to Thailand and so I dropped in here for lunch. The staff were happy to see a foreign customer. The stir fried chicken with cashew nuts for 80 baht was nice, however they did charge an extra 10 baht for the rice which is kind of dodgy. I had a nice piece of banana bread for 15 baht (they also sell by the loaf for 105), then I took two more pieces with me, as well as a small chocolate muffin for 35 baht. Free wifi was nice, however the fruit smoothies are a tad overpriced for such an out of the way location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zan5hin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good breakfast Good Cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you're fed up with soups, noodles, rice and pork for breakfast then a decent western breakfast is hard to find in Poipet. Destiny fills that gap perfectly with excellent coffees, omelets and the like served by waitresses being part of a training project offering girls/women skills to get out of the dodgy scene widely spread in Poipet

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MMA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE place to eat in Poipet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're stopping in Poipet on your way in or out of the country, stop here for a bite. You won't find another western-friendly joint in town (other than the casinos, which are expensive . . . plus it's just weird to go into a lavish casino in a part of the country that has so much extreme poverty).

The cafe offers wi-fi, hot and iced coffees, ice cream, as well as a selection of baked goods (all made in-house).

Destiny Cafe also is run by a local non-profit that trains and employs at-risk youth, so you can feel good about supporting the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiyana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipet, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great Place to take a break, free WiFi, there are Foot massages available! Hair Cuts, Pedicures, Great service with a smile, they also have lots of iced drinks available.
Its about 3/4 of a Kilometer on the left side of the road from the Border, if your heading to Siem Reap! They Speak English as well!! You have to stop and try it out, they can also help get you a taxi! Just ask for Rosa.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Cambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destiny Cafe also viewed

Poipet, Banteay Meanchey Province
Poipet, Banteay Meanchey Province
 
Aranyaprathet, Sa Kaeo Province

Been to Destiny Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing