We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Expect Much...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Poi Pet Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Poi Pet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Poipet B&B and Inns
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Much...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Paid US$15.00 for an aircon room, room is average with simple stuffs. Nice bed to sleep on & hot shower is available but very frustrating with WIFI connection. It would be nice if can be connected to WIFI but doesn't matter, they provide free use of computer at d lobby. Is a good transit hotel if you are heading to Thailand or other parts of Cambodia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASTER_PETER_TAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've had to stay in Poi Pet on more occasions than I would like to admit. When we had to stay in the city, we stayed at this hotel (about 3 times I believe). I would not expect much in terms of hotel standards in this city. And yet, this small hotel is reasonably priced, clean, quiet and safe. I don't think there was internet here, but in the lobby there are a few computers for use. Breakfast is not included.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great value for $8, the fan was more than adequate as the weather was cool, quiet haven from the ragged streets of Poipet, large room, very clean, fridge, wardrobe, furniture, quality bed and decent linen. Little details like multiple lighting and a telephone system on the bedside table that you don't expect in an $8 room.

Staff very helpful and speak English. Unfortunately no internet access on my floor, (4th). PCs with free internet access in lobby. The location is near to the bus station and bus company offices where coaches will drop you off, but a 20 minute walk or 5 minute ride from the actual border.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I turned up at this hotel late at night without a booking and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and the room was large and clean with AC, hot water and a fridge. No breakfast but safe, quiet and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Provincial hotels in Cambodia are already for years everywhere outside the main destinations pretty much the same, 5-8$ for a fan room, 10-16$ for an aircon room. The main difference between most is the level of hygiene, the newer the better, since its amazing how a brand new hotel deplores within 3-4 years. In this context City Poipet is definitely above average with spacious rooms including spacious well-constructed bathrooms (as opposed to the standard narrow plastic cells), fridge, free WiFi and cable TV. For now that is of course..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very nice hotel that is new, clean, and inexpensive.
Only $13 for a room with air-con, ref, and hot water.
The nicest place that I have stayed for so little money.
I would rate it as excellent, at it's price, except for the fact that the wi-fi
was only working in the lobby when I was there.
Wi-fi is on every floor, but only the lobby wi-fi was functioning.

It is located on the left side the main street, about 1km from the border.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face a school that starts classes about 7am. Not noisy, but some light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night, on the way from Bangkok to Phnom Penh. My AC room was just 13 USD, which is great value. The room was very clean, the AC was strong, and the water was hot. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioVanHecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poipet hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Diamond City Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#4 of 5 in Poipet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poipet Resort Casino
Poipet Resort Casino
#2 of 5 in Poipet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ly Heng Chhay Hotel
Ly Heng Chhay Hotel
#7 of 7 in Poipet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to City Poi Pet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Poi Pet Hotel

Property: City Poi Pet Hotel
Address: Kbai Spean, Poipet 01407, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Banteay Meanchey Province > Poipet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Poipet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing