We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Calm & Pleasure”

Ristorante crotto Ombra
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Chiavenna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm & Pleasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had driven from Lugano to Chiavenna in a temperature of 40c plus even in the mountains. This delightful restaurant is hidden away behind big trees in the old town square - with tables both in and outside. It was very full. We ate outside under airy, shady trees. An absolute oasis. The food was standard north Italian cuisine - pastas and veal and fish - well cooked and attractively presented. The serving staff were young and busy and attentive. The wine was good local stuff. Prices worked out at about 25 euros per person. This review is less about food (though this is perfectly good eating) and more about a place which is a pleasure to arrive at on a very hot Summer lunchtime. We're occasionally in the region - and we would go out of our way to eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    225
    33
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food but slightly disappointing evening”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate here on our last night of our visit to the region.

We were a party of 6 and had not booked but were given a table in the outdoor seating area. The restaurant was proabaly half full when we arrived around 20:00. We ordered starters: pasta dishes and Schisciatt (very good, like cheese filled meatballs and salad!) followed by the mixed grill and Tagliata (excellent beef!) and then we waited for the food to arrive. And we waited, and waited...

I realised that something was wrong when I saw other patrons walking over to the manager and discussing with her. Also I realised there was a problem when we got a second basket of bread and grissini delivered to our hungry group. Between passing our order and getting the starters we waited more than 45 minutes. When I asked the manager why it took so long she told me that the computer had broken down so the orders weren't sent through to the kitchen. It makes me wonder how they managed before they got a computer!

Anyway, when the food arrived it was very good and almost worth the long wait.

I would go again but I'd check how many people were seated before deciding to stay!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
359 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fine simple restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Crotto Ombra:
Sure, there might be equal or better restaurants in Chiavenna. But we stumbled on this one for lunch, just southeast and a five minutes walk from the station, across the Saturday market, . Definitely a good restaurant with a great choice of local dishes, also for vegetarians: Pasta’s , salads, grilled vegetables, cheeses, dolces…Fair prices. Recommended. Chiavenna is a nice Italian town to stroll around. With the Postauto about 2 hours from Swiss Ober Engadin St. Moritz. As Switzerland is far more expensive, this might be a nice trip, for a change, especially on a day when it is raining in the Swiss mountains (1800 m) and better weather in warmer Chiavenna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Level Contributor
524 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great typical north Italian meal”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This medium size restaurant is located just by the train station , it serves wonderful meals at attractive prices , though there is one waitress , the service was excellent . Very nice wine list and the house wine is very good ! I strongly recommend the "Degustation Menu"

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“unexpected treasure”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very cosy little typical Valtellina restaurant off the main piazza behind the railway station. Lovely atmosphere and good variety of local food served by charming, smiling waitresses. Good prices. To be recommended. Will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank villabelvedere_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante crotto Ombra also viewed

Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
 
Piuro, Province of Sondrio
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Ristorante crotto Ombra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing