We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with good restaurant”
Review of Hotel San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chiavenna
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Chiavenna is a lovely old city and this hotel was great. The room was clean and comfortable and they found somewhere safe for us to keep our tandem. We ate from the fixed price menu of food from the local region which was excellent and they were good about changing one course because I don't eat pork. It was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very modern rooms (rain shower). Air condition, really nice thing in the Chiavenna heat. Helpful staff, great service. Overall very good value for the money. Would stay again in this hotel at any time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited Chiavenna and stayed at the Hotel San Lorenzo in mid-March. We used the hotel as base for our participation in ski race in St. Moritz in Switzerland. Compared to Swiss accommodation, Hotel San Lorenzo surely was competitive in price and quality. The hotel was very convenient and very clean. Maybe even a bit sterile. It would be nice with some more flowers or paintings to soften up the polished (and beautiful) granite.

The hotel staff was in general not mastering the spoken English to well, but as so often in Italy the will to try to understand and express to a great extent compensates for lack in lingual capabilities. Everybody was kind and trying to find solutions for us. As for example providing a part of the parking basement for our waxing of skis.

The restaurant offered good no-nonsense Italian food and wine. As the hotel is situated centrally in Chiavenna, it is a fine point of departures for promenades in the town’s medieval center. Enjoy zipping a coffee at the piazza (square) with a view to baroque buildings, fountains, high mountains and accompanied by the sound of lively conversation amongst the natives. Easy to combine the stay with skiing (fine destinations reached within 1 hour of transport), hiking or bicycling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Because of bad weather (we were on a biking-holiday) we were forced to stay in Chiavenna. We couldn't have spent it better than at San Lorenzo. It's located in the city centre of a very charming, old Italian city. Rooms are modern and very clean. Staff is friendly. And the food in the restaurant was really great. Good quality for fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-Marieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

With its strategic position on the crossroads of the Italian and Swiss Alps, the San Lorenzo provides a stylish and relaxing atmosphere that delivers in terms of location, gastronomy and design. Right in the old town centre of Chiavenna, it occupies an excellent position near the beautiful collegiate church of St. Lorenzo and is very convenient for public transport services.

The rooms are spacious, simple and stylish; comfortable as much as ergonomic and functional, and everything fresh and spotless. The restaurant offers traditional Valtellinese specialities and excellent wines from the region.

In the best tradition of hospitality, the owners make you feel welcome from the moment you enter; they are genuinely pleased to see you. We loved it; great place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is positioned just across the train and bus stations of Chiavenna. The building and its interior have been recently renovated and look good. The reception is slightly unprofessional, with some of the officials mastering no foreign languages. We stayed there attending a wedding with a not too lengthy list of visitors, still the receptionist had real difficulties to identify us on a printed piece of paper without using the computer sitting on the desk. Room was nice looking at a large commune terrace. Bathroom just AOK. Sheets are changed daily. Breakfast is OK but not more than that. Coffee is stale- american so you better ask for an espresso and not for the capuccino which is watery.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I recently spent one week's holiday in Chiavenna and had selected San Lorenzo hotel. Our room was very comfortable and clean, it offered a great view on the square and mountains.
Though we had a b&b formula, we have chosen to dine at the hotel every day and lunch when we happened to be in Chiavenna as the food was excellent!
All family members and staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Very good relation quality/price.
The hotel is also very well located: beautiful surroundings, very close to train station to connect to other locations such as e.g. Como lake, bus services are provided to Switzerland, etc.. In spite of the latter, the hotel is very quiet.
We definitely wish to spend more time there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavenna
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albergo Aurora
Hotel Albergo Aurora
#3 of 5 in Chiavenna
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conradi
Hotel Conradi
#2 of 5 in Chiavenna
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crimea
Hotel Crimea
#4 of 5 in Chiavenna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#1 of 3 in Campodolcino
385 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
410 reviews
10.6 mi away
Spluga Hotel
Spluga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dubino
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Lorenzo

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 3, 23022 Chiavenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Chiavenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chiavenna
Price Range: $117 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing