We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hearty French in the amazing Perth Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Loose Box - CLOSED

The Loose Box
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hearty French in the amazing Perth Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are fantastic and the relaxed, natural tranquility of the restaurant begins to develop during the very drive to the property.

The food is a hearty traditional French and though I'd have liked to see some modern innovation, the simplicity of the meals combined with the excellent palet (not to mention the beautifully aromatic matched wines) made for an unforgettable meal.

The degustation menu is considerably heavier than one would normally expect from so many courses, so be warned: go on an empty stomach and prepare to be stuffed!

I didn't stay the night at their hotel but wish I had so that we could have all had the wines and didn't have to worry about the long drive home after such a big meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoandPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    10
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Absolutely brilliant French food by a Michelin rated chef..but booking essential well in advance..it's up in the hills so not easy to reach but well worth it once in a blue moo...not more often, as the costs are pretty steep

Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Its taken us quite a few years to finally visit this eatery with such a great reputation so we were keen to say the least.
Overall the food was a good standard. Our main criticism was that if you werent a huge sea food or snail fan the only option to change was a vegetarian option. For 160 bucks a head this is not good. The service was good, waiting staff were pleasant and attentive.
The venue itself felt a bit "nana" to us and its really needing renovation. Its for sale so time will tell if it gets that or not. We didnt stay in the chalets the prices were just ridiculous.
Overall we probaly wouldnt rush back unfortunately but all the best to Alain Fabregues with the sale and his other projects

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perths Icon Is Closing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I heard with great dismay that the Loose Box is closing. Alain Fabregues is deservedly retiring but it spells the end to a Perth Icon. Alain is an adopted Perth treasure. If you can get a table before he goes do it. Just wonderful french cuisine. I wont go into depth on the menu etc just know that I have eaten in some of the worlds best french restaurants and this place is as good as Pierre Gagnaires. Farewell Alain and thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redaussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Foodies heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Loose Box has had a good name for food pretty much ever since it first opened it's doors, I have to admit that although it did have a good reputation, I was not holding high hopes for our night out there, this I put down to having been to so many places that have had great reviews, only to find that the experiance was no where near as good as the hype, the same can be said about a lot of movies as well.

I'm more than hppy to be eating (pun totally intended) pie, I really can't think of a wrd that describes the night, the closest that comes to mind would be WOW.
Whilst the decor is not bad, it isn't what you'd normally expect from such a high end restaurant, but the service was second to none, all of the staff where so freindly and extremly well versed with their knowledge of the menu (thankfully) that we fealt relaxed from pretty much the moment that we entered.

But it's the food that is what will be firmly etched in our minds, words such as wow, unreal, beautiful, fantastic, yum, OMG and what seemed like a never ending chorus of hmmmm's were what was coming from not only our table, but those around us as well.

We had a mixture of the "normal" and veggie menus, we couldn't agree as to what the highlight of the meal was, but it was a toss up between the Beef Cheeks (note that large amount of drool at this point) and the Pea Cappuccino soup.

While the $160 per head may sound expensive, when you step back and see what you are getting, I feel that it is well justified.

Do your taste buds a favour and get them into the Loose Box before it's sold, which I dare say, may result it's loss to us all.

Gary

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gstevens14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loose Box also viewed

Mundaring, Perth Hills
Mundaring, Perth Hills
 
Mundaring, Perth Hills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing