We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little different”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mundaring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mundaring Weir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Mundaring B&B and Inns
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Little different”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Different style of accommodation. Open fireplace in your room. Staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    17
    11
    13
See reviews for
26
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Have been here before to concerts, but first time for a pub lunch. All (5 ladies and self) enjoyed our choices, and I was very pleased with the quality of the beef & guiness pie. Lovely tender chunks of steak in a tasy gravy, served with a crisp salad and generous portion of chips.
Interesting picturesque environment, so close to the Weir which is well worth a visit too.
Had to 'q' to order, but service was reasonable, and staff pleasant.
Look forward to going again !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boblynnperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My friend and I had lunch at the Mundaring Weir Hotel on Saturday. We first discovered this little gem last year. We've been coming to Mundaring Weir for the past 30 years, but had never stopped off and had lunch at the hotel because we always have lunch at the wonderful "Mahogany Inn". They were closed for renovations so, as an alternative, we thought that we'd try the Mundaring Weir Hotel. We'd driven past it for years on our way to Mundaring Weir and had never called in. My friend and I really enjoyed our lunch and were keen to come back.

There had been a few changes since we our first visit. The cafe is now downstairs. The food was great! It's very tasty and the portions are generous. Put it this way, I doubt if you'll have room for dessert - we didn't!

It was wonderful to see people of all ages and ethnicities in the cafe. It was like a veritable United Nations! I suspect that (on this particular day) my friend and I were the only Australian born people (apart from the very friendly and efficient staff) in the place. It was great to see so many people enjoying themselves. We spent 15mins chatting with a family from England. The hotel is that kind of a place! The moment that you step through those doors, you instantly relax and have a nice time. You feel that you're a million miles from Perth when, in reality, it's only a 30 - 45min drive from the centre of town.

Now that my friend and I have discovered the Mundaring Weir Hotel and what an absolute gem it is, we've agreed that it's our new favourite place and intend to have many more return visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quokka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I went for some relaxing quality time and the Mundaring Weir Hotel delivered. We ordered the special, Guinness beef pie with beer battered chips and salad. The pastry was flaky and the filling deliciously soft and salty. The portion of chips was very generous and crispy. The outside area is frequented by parrots which made for a very tranquil atmosphere. We very much enjoyed our lunch and plan to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daglish perth
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great place for Sunday lunch or a concert (they do several)
Food was quick and better than the pub meal normally.
Variety of beers and wines on offer.
They do roasts on Sunday and have a very lovely garden to sit in.
we didn't stay but would have liked to ...they were fully booked

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munsie-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great pub for all the family on a Sunday. Always a band from 2 pm. Lots of grass for the kids to play on. They have regular guest artists and their prices for concerts are really reasonable.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight, but they do have chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaosMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

A better pub lunch is impossible to find in this country. Everytime we visit Perth, we stop by for a lunchtime meal. I have always found the staff to be most helpful and friendly. The location is magic, and the hotel itself is packed with character and history.

Meals are cooked to perfectiion regardless of what is ordered, and service is prompt.

A firm family favourite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackdoggriffon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundaring
6.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
5 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn Mahogany Creek
Inn Mahogany Creek
#1 of 1 in Mahogany Creek
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Natures Paradise
Natures Paradise
#1 of 2 in Mundaring
45 reviews
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Chalets on Stoneville
#1 of 1 in Stoneville
8 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundaring Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundaring Weir Hotel

Property: Mundaring Weir Hotel
Address: Mundaring Weir Road Cnr Hall Road, Mundaring, Western Australia 6073, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Mundaring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mundaring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a heritage listed hotel, originally built for the workers and visitors to the nearby Mundaring Weir back in 1898. Less than 1 hour from the heart of Perth, the Hotel provides the perfect venue for a social outing. Dine in the downstairs coffee shop (weekends), the historic Duke and Duchess dining room, or in the Tree-Tops restaurant overlooking the amphitheater where regular summer concerts boast music from jazz to popular rock bands. The grounds provide the perfect chilled atmosphere, and there is something to do for kids of all ages. Explore history, and browse the artifacts collected over the 30 years that the Hotel has been in the hands of the current owner, Jens Jorgensen. The Hotel offers many opportunities to experience the regions natural beauty. We are at the center of many trails meandering through the state forest and around the Weir. Two new walk trails established by the National Trust give a wonderful interpretation of the Weir and its surroundings as you walk. The 963.1 kilometer Bibbulmun track goes past the Hotel, with the terminus 15 kilometers away in Kalamunda. Mundaring Weir Hotel celebrates Sundays with a traditional lamb spit roast, wood fired pizzas and a seasonal counter meal menu. Live music is also a regular Sunday offering, with one of our three resident bands. The bush band or pop-folk music is popular with young and old alike. The Hotel features 10 motel-style rooms that are tucked away amid the gardens, overlooking either the forest or the grounds. All feature reverse cycle air conditioning, TV/DVD, microwave and small fridge. Choose from twin or double rooms, and some have bunk beds allowing up to four people per room. Every room has an open fireplace with supplied firewood (in season) to make for a wonderfully romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundaring Weir Hotel Perth Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing