We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG”

Cite du Chocolat Valrhona
Book In Advance
More Info
$171.78*
and up
Full Day Cotes du Rhone Wine Tour with Wine and Chocolate Tasting from Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "La Cité du Chocolat" : a discovering corner about chocolate (in October 2013), a pastry school for gourmets and an amazing chocolate shop."La Cité du Chocolat" is an amazing experience around the chocolate and the cocoa.On 1000 m² the visitor could look at,touch, smell and, of course taste, the Valrhona chocolate and discover its secrets.At the end of the visit, visitors could find more than 100 different kinds of chocolate in a shop of 200m². If the visitor wants, he could learn chocolate and pastry recipes in the School of "la Cité du Chocolat Valrhona"
Fairview, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a trip to the chocolate shop and not the cite but this too needs to be part of the visit! The staff was attentive and helpful, there were copious samples to be had, lovely hot chocolate for a rainy day in October, and gifts on purchase. I meted out my chocolate carefully to allow for maximum enjoyment and boy, did I enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank danimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck V, Gérant at Cite du Chocolat Valrhona, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I understand that you have visited la Citè du Chocolat in October and you have just posted your comment in April. It seems, after 6 months that was a good experience. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    290
    100
    46
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A chocoholic's dream destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I visited this new attraction a few days ago.The entry fee includes a wallet of chocolate squares to be tasted at various points along the way.The rooms are well laid out with lots of explanations and interactive exhibits along the way.Further chocolate squares are dispensed when you put your ticket into a machine in front of some touch screens that ask you to identify the tastes and aromas of each square as you eat it.Other sections invite you to identify different textures and scents, and test your choco knowledge on a true/false quiz.Ther are videos about each stage of chocolate production, with further samples of how the chocolate tastes form start to finish.
The final exhibits are some amazing chocolate sculptures. And then there is the shop....if you havent sampled enough along the way, pretty much everything available for sale is also available to taste again before you buy, and some free samples were also added to my bag at the checkout. The staff are friendly and helpful and very patient while you make your choices :) A highly recommended attraction for any chocolate lover :) It is also family friendly with special activities for children and separate versions of some of the interactive exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jancar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck V, Gérant at Cite du Chocolat Valrhona, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks you very much for your kind comment. I understand that our English translations were good enough because you understood every message we wanted to give to visitors.
We hope you will come soon to discover our new exhibition...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
642 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Valrhona chocolate shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

As Valrhona fans with limited time, we made a stop to visit the chocolate shop (not the Cite). And we were not disappointed with the variety of chocolates, as well as the ability to taste each and every offering! I have never tasted, nor even heard of, caramelized white chocolate and am not a white chocolate lover -- but one should not leave without tasting the Tanariva and Dulcey offerings. Of course we had to purchase a selection of chocolates, but did not get a chance to enjoy them for several days as we were determined to first eat the free samples which were included with our purchase.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck V, Gérant at Cite du Chocolat Valrhona, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Diet-Death By Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Well, firstly let me say we arrived at this tasty site through the passage of Viking Cruises. Tripping South down the Rhone through Provence country in France...what an awesome trip! All sights were grand and memorable in their own way, but this one had all others beaten on taste alone!
Once you enter your nasal buds are alive with the smell of chocolate, all different types. Then, the wide array of samplings allows your taste buds to jump into the delectable party. Staff was more than willing to assist you in choices but also educate you in matchings and tastes. Oh dear...I cannot imagine any place more wonderful to entrap and kill my diet! Excellent on European and Continental standards! Hats off to Viking for touring the delectables!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramercy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck V, Gérant at Cite du Chocolat Valrhona, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to have kill your diet....but you could eat dark chocolate : it is good for health!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I visited with my mom, we are both chocolate lover and we had lots of fun! We had tons of chocolate and it was a very nice visit. We learned a lot about chocolate and got to buy nice souvenirs to take back home.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank indialfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cite du Chocolat Valrhona also viewed

 
Tain-l'Hermitage, Drome
Tain-l'Hermitage, Drome
 

Been to Cite du Chocolat Valrhona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing