We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost ideal”
Review of Hotel Le Castel

Hotel Le Castel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Castel
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel. We wanted to stay in the center of Tain-l’Hermitage, to be able to view the river Rhône, do a little stroll through town and chose a nice restaurant. This hotel is ideally located for that. On top of this it has its own private parking. The hotel buildings have a special history (it once used to be a girl’s school) giving it a nice original atmosphere. The rooms are decorated with simple items, but here again a nice atmosphere. The bed was good and the one-piece bathroom unit practical. Breakfast was simple but OK. Given the price for the rooms, this is almost the ideal hotel. Almost, because it was a pity that hotel gronds, stairways, halls, etc. showed some signs of neglected maintenance. On top of that the elevator was out of order as was the fence that should have closed the car park. Check-in was not possible before 17.30, which we thought was rather late. We would return here, but this hotel would benefit from more a little more attention to details.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

I never write reviews but the welcome and value for money at this little hotel deserved a mention. It is clean, quiet and very comfortable and right in the middle of town. The manageress was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and all in all the place is better than most generic hotels you can get on a similar budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loganrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is trading on its position and therefore possibly does not seem to make much effort.
Ht was not that its guests were made to feel in the way, it was just that it seemed that we were incidental and a mild inconvenience. Having said that, the room was very clean and the air-conditioning efficient. the plastic moulded was very small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonNZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for a night. We had a car and hotel has free car parking.
We had a triple room which was spacious and beds were comfortable.
Only let down is the toilet/shower room which was very small & in plastic, something like a caravan/mobile home.
Overall still not bad and the owner didn't chase us out even though we were late in checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Le Castel was conveniently located and the rooms were completely acceptable. The hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms were nice, for now, but were cheaply done and will look dated and be in poor condition within five years. The rooms were very large, but the bathroom literally looked like the entire thing came directly out of a small RV. Also, my morning shower was cold. The WIFI only worked standing at the window (which was screwed shut) holding the computer against the window. The hotel was located in a good spot in a small town for a short walk to everything, but locked all of the "front" access. The room key didn't work on the locks and there was a code for the locks, but they didn't provide it to the people staying there. You had to walk out of the parking lot on the back side of the building which added about three blocks walking to any desireable destination. The host spoke acceptable English and was very friendly and pleasant.

When we arrived at 4PM the front door was locked. The host came and got us after use of the call box, but all common areas were locked and she had to walk us through them and unlock all of the doors to get us to our room. When we got to our room, we realized that we had not gotten the wifi connection information. I found the phone (hidden in a drawer) and plugged it into the wall. I called the number listed for daytime help, getting an error message. I called the night time support number with no answer. We tried to get back to the office, but all of the common spaces heading back were again locked, so we had to use the call box. There was no excuse for all of this difficulty. They should be capable of having a functioning phone system to get to the front desk and leave common spaces open. We did not pay the 12 EURO per person for breakfast, but saw the breakfast and it didn't appear to be worth 5 EURO.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel le Castel is an old school building turned into a hotel. Family owned and run by a very friendly young woman. I was there because of the Rally of Monte Carlo and she was very helpful in finding my way around and explaining how things go during the Special Stages of the rally. Rooms look clean and some are spacious. The hotel is situated in a quite village and suburb of Valence. Parking is in the back with an easy access. Typical French breakfast (bread, coffee, jam) although I found some cheeses in fridge. Nothing freshly made but sufficient. I experienced two different rooms: one had a kind of plastic all in one bathing and sanitary section that is too tiny for the larger human beings amongst us. The second room had a larger shower. I was asked to change rooms and I ended up in a room next to a family. My room had no key, neither did the room of my neighbors. There was some kind of front door we could lock, but it still felt a bit strange that your neighbors can walk into your room when your away. It's an OK hotel for a few days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a normal bathing section rather than the plastic pod.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DouweMinkemaSoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean, new and nice, the location in the neigbourhuds of the Chapoutiers vineries and 5 minutes from the centre of the town is great!
We were ther welcomed without reservation perfectly. If you are in Tain for a one or two days, i can this hotel only recommend,

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain-l'Hermitage
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pavillon de l'Ermitage
Hotel Pavillon de l'Ermitage
#3 of 3 in Tain-l'Hermitage
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Amandiers
Hotel les Amandiers
#2 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Azalees
Hotel Azalees
#3 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
du Chateau
du Chateau
#1 of 4 in Tournon
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Villeon
Hotel de la Villeon
#1 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
L'Abricotine
L'Abricotine
#1 of 1 in Mercurol
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Castel

Address: 16 avenue du Docteur Paul Durand, 26600 Tain-l'Hermitage, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Tain-l'Hermitage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tain-l'Hermitage
Price Range: $89 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Castel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Castel France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing