We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Rookseat B&B

Rookseat B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redlynch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rookseat B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Redlynch B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Went for a weekend getaway with my other half and we both had a great time which was mostly down to the great hospitality we received. They went out of their way to offer us help with local activities such as recommended country walks. The room was more like a room out of a 4 star hotel. Doubt there is any better B&B in the new forest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I booked this stay at the last minute during the summer holidays for a short break and would happily recommend it to friends or family. Dean and Sal were great hosts and showed a genuine interest in all of their guests and were very knowledgeable on local attractions. There is a Pub a very short walk from the premises and offers a good variety of food to a good standard. There are amenities a short drive away in Downton including a supermarket that is well stocked.
The rooms are decorated to high standards and have modern bathrooms and are also spotless.
There is choice of Continental and Full English Breakfast and again the standard is high. Jams are home made and also available to purchase if you want to take some home.
Redlynch is in a great location for the surrounding villages of Wood Green and Fordingbridge. Salisbury is a short distance away there is a convenient park-and-ride for those travelling by car.
In summary It is an ideal location for exploring the New Forest and offers great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanN_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have been weekending at Rookseat for a couple of years now - and the visits are becoming more frequent as we enjoy the location - fab for photography, walking and exploring the wonderful New Forest and we really appreciate Sally and Deans hospitality and the absolutely yummy breakfasts - a really great place to stay. As soon as we leave we always rebook!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I have been attending the locally (Newhouse) held 1805 Club Trafalgar Dinner for a few years now and we have always stayed with Sal and Dean. Our stays are gradually getting longer as we enjoy their hospitality and the New Forest more and more. They are so welcoming helpful and friendly and Sal's breakfast (home-made muesli and bread, etc.) is to die for. (Also try The Little Mere Restaurant at North Gorley where Sal is a chef). The rooms are very comfortable and always spotlessly clean. It is an ideal location for exploring the New Forest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyBillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here with my 13 y old son and can recommend it for all the family.Dean and Sal were wonderful hosts and are a mine of local information.Bike ride thro the Forest with Dean was superb with beautiful views of the Avon. Rooms 5* and breakfast was faultless.Go see for yourself.

Room Tip: Forest location means all rooms are excellent with regards to noise and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our search for somewhere convenient to stay during a sight-seeing trip to the New Forest area led us to Rookseat. It is a spotless and well-furnished B & B and the real treat are the breakfasts with a superb choice of English or continental, beautifully presented.

Sally and Dean make every effort to make their guests welcome and their advice on where to go and how to get there proved most useful.

Salisbury is a short distance away and there is a convenient park-and-ride for those travelling by car.

We have no hesitation in recommending Rookseat and would happily stay there again.

Pam M

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at Rookseat visiting The New Forest for a birthday weekend. The accommodation was absolutely lovely with en-suite facilities. Sally and Dean were most welcoming. The breakfast was superb and plenty of it. Plenty of bikes you can hire with advice on where to cycle in and around the New Forest. Will happily stay there again.

Tatham, West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redlynch
1.0 mi away
Woodfalls Inn
Woodfalls Inn
#1 of 4 in Redlynch
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rivermead House
Rivermead House
#15 of 57 in Salisbury
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#4 of 5 in Downton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookseat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookseat B&B

Property: Rookseat B&B
Address: Rookseat Grove Lane, Redlynch, New Forest National Park Wiltshire, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > New Forest National Park Wiltshire > Redlynch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redlynch
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rookseat B&B Redlynch, Salisbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing