We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”
Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove House
Ranked #1 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home From Home”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Could not be better,lovely breakfast (your fault if you are hungry).The best i have stayed in for about 18 months.
Karen is the BEST

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fochabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    73
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
111
294
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We could not have wished for a better welcome,on arrival a complimentary bottle of wine,a most friendly welcome, with plenty of local knowledge about the surounding area, our room was the green room, everything you could want was there, it was a refreshing change to have plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The complimentary chocs were great, we could have forgot any bathroom toiletries, because they were provided.the location was in easy reach of most places we wanted to go. The breakfast was amazing, what a choice, the table was set out so lovely, nothing was to much trouble, loved the fresh fruit smoothies.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popeyeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew, scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

our family stayed for the weekend of my birthday. it was fantastic, who would have thought you could get scrambled eggs and salmon in a B&B? The owners Karen and Sean worked together like a well oiled machine. The rooms, food and hospitality was fantastic. Nothing was a bother and always greeted with a smile. Inormation on the local are was freely available and we even met another couple from Renfrew. I often feel like I'm invading when I stay at a B&B, but here it felt like HOME. p.s. very child friendly too.
Mairi, Gary, Katie and Lewis.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Had a lovely stay in Grove House. Also had a great meal in hotel across the road. Believe that Karen is up for an award for her breakfast, and she certainly deserves it, although you do have to remember to order the night before!!!!!
Oban is not very far away by car, and there is plenty to see and do. Found the sealife centre to be very expensive, so ask around town for the 1/2 price vouchers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We booked last minute (having checked out all the reviews on Trip Advisor) and got the last 2 rooms for my husband, myself and out 8 year old son which, though small, were spotlessly clean and full of little extras like chocolates and lovely bathrobes. The breakfasts were wonderful and vast and had something to suit all out tastes and nothing was too much trouble for Karen or Sean. The B&B is in a great location and we were blessed with gorgeous spring weather for the whole of our stay in Scotland - we even managed to get in 3 days skiiing and snowboarding in Nevis which was less than an hour's drive from the Grove House. We also drove over to the island of Mull and spent the day in Tobermory (Cafe Fish above the tourist office has fabulous food) and on the beach at Calgary which, if it had some palm trees, could have doubled for Barbados - sunshine, white sand, turquoise waters, amazing! There are a couple of decent restaurants in Oban but if you stick to fish in this part of the world you really can't go wrong. I can't wait for Karen and Sean's new place to open this autumn - it looks like it's going to be stunning. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed two nights at Grove House with a young Japanese visitor on her first visit to Scotland. We were very impressed with the accommodation, friendly host, comfortable beds, spotless rooms and delicious breakfasts. We ate dinner at the Falls of Lora hotel again the food and service were excellent. When you are showing visitors around our beautiful country you want everything to be just so. Our visit to Grove house was perfect and we would recommend it for true Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyholsFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Now that we travel with kids, I find it best to secure lodging in advance. Our experience with this guest house started with a very good website and excellent email communication. When we first arrived for our 3 night stay, I'll admit to being a tad bit disconcerted to discover that the kids' room was on the ground floor while ours was one level up. Fortunately, this worked out ok. The house was always secure and no one seemed to mind when our 5yr old wandered up to our room in the middle of the night. Both rooms were exceptionally well decorated and comfortable. Karen pays attention to the details...bottled water, chocolates, pretty ribbon tied around the soap and wash cloth, a selection of toiletries, the softest bathrobes imaginable, tiny frig for drinks, personal safe and even a chilled bottle of wine for those staying 3 or more days. My teenager still misses that robe! Karen's attention to detail continues with the breakfast table. Gorgeous! It looked like Christmas at my mom's house. There was a very broad selection of cereals and toppings to start with followed by toast and whatever hot breakfast you had selected the night before. The food tasted great and was nicely plated. In addition to coffee and tea, there was also a fruit smoothie drink. While I myself enjoyed this, the rest of my family (all picky eaters) would have much preferred a selection of fresh fruits and simple juices. We did not take advantage of the lounge or other facilities at the Falls of Lora, so I cannot comment on those, although I heard they were excellent. Should we find ourselves in the area again, we would definitely stay with Karen again....but perhaps at their new place currently starting construction. Can't wait to see how it turns out!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoStoppinUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 93 in Oban
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House is an owner run 4 star Gold bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2016 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . All direct bookings via Grove House website will receive a £10 per room per night discount, Wine, Home Baking and warmed Jo Malone towels complimentary as a 'Thank You ' for booking directly. Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Grove House Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing