We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove House
Ranked #1 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This is definitely the best B&B I've stayed in. Karen obviously loves what she does and this is evidenced by all the extra little touches that make this place special.
From the warm welcome, complimentary wine on arrival and chocolates, to the beautifully decorated rooms, fluffy bath robes and toiletries in the bathroom, everything was spot on and highlights Karen's thoughfulness and professionalism.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable and we were really pleased that we had booked for 2 nights, instead of just one!
Breakfast in the morning was amazing! An incredible variety including a selection of hot options - there is something to suit everyone! Eating around the one table allows conversation amongst fellow guests and the fruit smoothy (different every morning) is another special touch.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no problem recommending Grove House to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aussie_Traveller_077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 642 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2008

Four Of Us Travelled From Australia To Do The U.K Thing And Found By Far Grove House To Have Somthing The Others Lacked, It Was Warm, Friendly And We Were Made To Feel At Home. All Rooms And Bed Were Just Like Home Will Highly Recommend To All Travellers To Give It A Go.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank conkyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

I have been travelling around Scotland for work for nearly 20 years and rarely have I encountered such a friendly, cosy and comfortable B&B with such an excellent healthy breakfast. Everything I could possibly need was provided and I felt completely at home. Karen is really helpful and provides for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Had a couple of days here after a great RYA sailing course with alba sailing at Dunstaffnage marina. Karen and Sean gave a very warm welcome and were helpful with suggestions on what to do around the area. The room was cosy and well decorated and the food was great - would definately go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Having been sent to work in Scotland on a regular basis,this was my first visit to the West Coast.I Googled Connel b+b on my laptop from Hamilton services on the way up,and Grove House was the 1st option.On phoning and enquiring about a free room,we were asked how long we would be.As we were 3 hours away,both Karen and Shaun waited up for us and were very welcoming when we arrived,breakfast was arranged for the next morning for earlier than the usual set times as we had an early start working around the corner at the resevoir.Even tho she was under the weather,Karen made us what can only be described as an amazing breakfast and was genuinly a great hostess.A further night was booked as we had a free day and it was a pleasure to find,and stay at such a beautiful and welcoming place....I am only confused by Karens 4 star not 5 star rating recently recieved from the Tourist Board.The rooms,the bathrooms,the food and most of all the homely welcome from Karen and Shaun are the best i have witnessed in many stays in various places all over Scotland...A rare find and highly recomended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jeff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Wonderful 5 star service, very comfortable and wow - what a choice for breakfast. This is definitely the best B&B I have ever stayed at. I shall return regularly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CronEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Having just finished a self catering break in the area I unexpectedly needed to find accomodation for a few more days.
How lucky for me to stumble on Grove House and how welcome I was made to feel.
I was provided with a comfy room,wifi facility, chocolates and a great breakfast, what more could I ask for.
When I read the couple of negative comments made by previous guests it makes me wonder what planet they come from.
Karen is a great host, oozing with personality that rubbed off on all the guests around the table. I do not forget the offer of transport from her husband to visit my wife who had extended her holiday with a stay at another friendly and caring establishment in the area ( Oban Hospital).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MungoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
4.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
353 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ardtorna B&B
Ardtorna B&B
#1 of 3 in Barcaldine
596 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range: $116 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House is an owner run 4 star Gold bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2016 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . All direct bookings via Grove House website will receive a £10 per room per night discount, Wine, Home Baking and warmed Jo Malone towels complimentary as a 'Thank You ' for booking directly. Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Grove House Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing