We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, relaxing and spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove House
Ranked #1 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly, relaxing and spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Up to Oban we did rove, made at home at the Grove,
Karen's the hostess with the mostest, With lovely rooms, and breakfast with toastest,
we'll go again, as you can tell, it's much better than a hotel,
For friendly chat and relaxation, one of the best in this whole nation.

Michael

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaels1182013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Grove House.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back for another stay sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    72
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
279
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the first moment we arrived, we were welcomed into the house like old friends. Karen made us feel quite at home. The room was warm and bed very comfortable. Breakfast had a great range of healthy choices which set us up for a day on the hills. The house is just a short drive away from a range of stunning Munros (hills over 3,000 feet), making Grove House a great base for hill walkers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 1 night stay with us at Grove House.

I was delighted to read that you liked your stay , and that our extensive gourmet breakfast set you up nicely for your long walk.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you both back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

When planning my trip to Scotland I found the Grove House Bed & Breakfast on laterooms.com. It is in a little village called Connel which is near Oban. Car parking is available on site although I came by train. I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful girl - I think her name was Kirsty. I had a double room which along with the rest of the house had a nice style of interior decoration with an eye for detail and everything was clean. It was en-suite with Tea/Coffee facilities, television, music system and WIFI Internet Access. A very extensive breakfast was included with a choice of over 15 starters, home made fruit smoothie, tea, coffee, toasted breads, and 10 main courses. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Grove House.

I was most pleased to read that you liked the design and style of our place, and that our rather extensive gourmet breakfast went down well too !

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked two nights at this hotel for my partner`s birthday and we stayed 27th and 28th September. On arrival we were greeted by the friendliest wee girl who was fantastic in making us feel at home right away. The room was just out of this world with the bed being the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the room decor just first class. The food on offer at breakfast is just beyond anything that we have ever experienced with the fresh fruit smoothie exceptional. The choice of cereals, main courses and indeed hot beverages just brilliant.We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Connel or Oban for a weekend or midweek break. A massive thank you and well done to Sean, Karen and her Staff for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186534John50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us at Grove House.

I was delighted to read that you liked the style of our property , and that our gourmet breakfast went down well too.

May I say that it was lovely to chat to you both during your stay , and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you both back for another visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm a Scottish Tour guide and hit upon this place by accident - what a happy accident it was!
Run by Karen, it is the best of Scottish hospitality - clean, friendly, loads of parking in a wee village that is so picturesque it is to die for.
On an off the subject altogether note, they advised the local pub" The Oyster Bar" for tea and they were bang on with their advice - food I wish my Mum could cook(sorry Mum!).

Breakfast at the Grove was an advertisment for Scotland. As an Aberdonian guide I pray for more trips in the Connel area next season.

Room Tip: Place is so quiet can't think there would be a bad room - just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us at Grove House.

I was most pleased that you liked the design of the property, and that our gourmet breakfast went down well too.

May i say that it was a delight to chat to you , and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay in 2014.
Lets hope you get lots of tour bookings for our area !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. This B&B had tasteful decor, was very clean and had a lovely conservatory for evening tea. The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent with many choices. I especially enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and pesto. Kirsty and Karen were full of good information about the area and were terrific hosts. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us at Grove House.

I was most pleased to read that you liked the style of our newly decorated bedrooms and bathrooms , and that our extensive gourmet breakfast went down well too.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you both back to stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just felt the need to comment on a very pleasant overnight stay in the grove house guest house Connell. My husband and I were leaving our daughter to Ballet West in Taynuilt and booked this guest house as a stop over. Kirsty and Karen were delightful hosts and the rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was amazing and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your overnight stay at Grove House.

I was most pleased to read that you were comfortable during your time with us, and that our gourmet breakfast went down well with you all.

I do hope that your daughter has settled well at Ballet West. Perhaps we will be able to welcome you all back for another visit next time you are over visiting her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House is an owner run 4 star bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2015 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Grove House Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing