We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in Every Respect!”
Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful in Every Respect!”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was quite pleased with this hotel. I didn't know what to expect when I booked it and was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The rooms were fairly modern and comfortable. The staff at the reception desk also work behind the Ferryman Bar next door; so one if there's no one at the desk, you have to go to the bar to get their attention. But they are attentive. When I arrived, the room wasn't configured the way I asked at booking time, so they served us tea in the bar while they re-configured our room. Oh, the reception desk also has a computer for guests to use. I liked staying in Connel, which is about 5 miles from Oban and an easy drive if one wants to go into Oban. So, the hotel is in a quiet area, if that has any appeal.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    78
    37
    20
    24
See reviews for
53
177
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Fresh, Young, Rooms had flat screen tv's with loads of channels, very nice bathroom, leather chairs in room and decent sized double bed. No Hairdryer for the Girl :( Breakfast was fast and snappy. Porridge and cooked brekkie was good. Don't be afraid to ring the buzzer at reception for attention though, eventually somebody from oz-ville will pop along. No phone in room :(

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiting_for_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My partner and I visited the restaurant after hearing pretty good reviews from our hotel staff. Fortuneatly, we did not stay in the hotel as if the service we received was anything to go by, it would have been pretty bad.

We arrived after travelling in from Oban on the motorbike. On making our way into the restaurant we were met by a female staff member who initally ignored us however returned and barked "do you have a reservation... [NO] then you'll just have to wait". After a further short wait in the reception area, we were spoken to by a large male member of staff who informed us that if we wanted a table we would be waiting for a which as they had just had a group of 8 through the door. we were bluntly told by the same male that if we wanted food just to go to the bar as the menu was the same.

We have made our way into the bar where we have asked the bar man if we could get food, he replied yes and told us just to sit anywhere. On finding a table (which was the least sticky we could find) the barman has continued to ignore us for a further 10 minutes. We had to go and find a menu and order our drinks from the barman who still appeared as though he really couldnt be bothered and tried his best to ignore us. We asked about the specials that were on the board in the restaurant only to be told we couldn't get them in the bar or more specifically "those specials are through there... this is through here, it's a different room"!!! We ended up buying 2 drinks and just leaving as the service was so appaulling.

Staff were very rude and unfriendly and service was appaulling... Go to Coast restaurant in Oban. very good service and exceptional food and made up for a bad night!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinkybiker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

A hidden gem. Booked the room through Late Rooms and paid £50 for both me and my husband including breakfast. The Oyster Inn was more than what we had wished for. The view at breakfast was beautiful and the breakfast quality was also excellent. Rooms were very well equipped with beautiful decor. We stayed in Glasgow the night before at a very well known hotel there and can honestly say that our stay at The Oyster Inn was far better. Having found this gem, we will defo be back soon. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonsDfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I have been going to oban for a good number of years and stayed over in a number of hotels within oban..but of late i have stop doing an overnight stay there due to the fact i had a horrible experience staying at a hotel in the centre of oban...all i ask when i choose a place to stay when am away from home is the comforts that i have back home and the" oyster inn "did just that for me.with the exception of my tv not working in my room but it was a good job i was so tiered that was the least of my worrys...the room was fab,shower,bed,decor i didnt eat at the inn,so i cant comment on the food. but for sure this is where am going to stay if possible from now when am working away from home.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank groovychic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Lovely hotel, food was great and the rooms were lovely. We booked through laterooms.com and only paid £30 b&b for a double room. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Just returned from a night at the Oyster Inn, Connel which was very enjoyable and very good value at £35 for the two of us including breakfast (laterooms.com).

Nicely furnished surroundings and above average bedroom and bathroom decor. Flat screen TV with Freeview.

Freshly cooked breakfast of good quality. My other half especially enjoyed the smoked fish and poached egg.

Wonderful views! Also considering the hard frost - nice and cosy!

  • Liked — The price, location and warmth!
  • Disliked — Our room needed new beds!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
4.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
4.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Property: Oyster Inn
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing