We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointment”
Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“dissappointment”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Visit Oyster Inn this afternoon. Thought we give it a try..
welcome not great, not as if the place was busy.
sticky tacky table, ask for it to be cleaned, it was, but only one half of it!!!!!!
No atmosphere, although I think menu looked good, decided not to stay. Had visitors from Ireland, so really dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    79
    40
    20
    24
See reviews for
55
180
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our third stay and was not quite as good as previous two. Hotel seems to have new owners and it has lost the edge which gave it 5 stars before. Rooms are starting to look a bit tired, food was good but the service was a bit hit or miss. We were worried at check in as our booking seemed to have been misplaced, paying our bill was chaotic and took 3 attempts to get it right.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedyjames01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having stayed here before we stayed a couple of nights at the end of our Scottish holiday. wonderful welcome, new chef since our last trip but worked wonders with fish!
Very comfortable room with big double bed and great breakfasts, thank you!

Room Tip: Sorry hit the swimming pool button, suppose could swim in the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay, over the May Bank Holiday.

Recommended by family who had been previous guests. Location is superb. Ample car parking, although sometimes the parking of other patrons leaves much to be desired.

Only used the retaurant for breakfasts & snack lunch, but the quality was very good.

Wi-Fi somewhat erratic, but apparently in the process of change to a new system

Bedrooms are good. Shower susperb. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice in a week and were made to feel really welcome. Our dog was fussed over and enjoyed the hospitality too. Our food was delicious and the ingredients were fantastic quality, particularly the steaks. The great views are a bonus, we will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here last week for one night and ate in the refurbished restaurant. We managed to secure a window table and the sunset was breathtaking. Food was very good and the mussels starter was wonderful. Our room was spotless and all staff were very courteous and competent. Will most certainly go back - hopefully soon! Only slight negative is that whoever designed the building should have given thought to bedroom location and had them at the front of the building rather than at the rear where the only view is the car park. However have to say the resident's lounge is very comfortable and takes advantage of the spectacular location. All in all would have to say if you are in this neck of the woods give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmaBroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband booked this for my birthday and Jayne the new owner arranged for us to have dinner in the residents lounge as the conservatory was under refurbishment, still had the spectacular view which brings us back again and again. All staff very friendly, service & food outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
468 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
4.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
4.0 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Property: Oyster Inn
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing