We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great welcome and fabulaous views at this lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great welcome and fabulaous views at this lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having stayed here before we stayed a couple of nights at the end of our Scottish holiday. wonderful welcome, new chef since our last trip but worked wonders with fish!
Very comfortable room with big double bed and great breakfasts, thank you!

Room Tip: Sorry hit the swimming pool button, suppose could swim in the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    77
    35
    20
    24
See reviews for
50
169
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay, over the May Bank Holiday.

Recommended by family who had been previous guests. Location is superb. Ample car parking, although sometimes the parking of other patrons leaves much to be desired.

Only used the retaurant for breakfasts & snack lunch, but the quality was very good.

Wi-Fi somewhat erratic, but apparently in the process of change to a new system

Bedrooms are good. Shower susperb. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice in a week and were made to feel really welcome. Our dog was fussed over and enjoyed the hospitality too. Our food was delicious and the ingredients were fantastic quality, particularly the steaks. The great views are a bonus, we will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here last week for one night and ate in the refurbished restaurant. We managed to secure a window table and the sunset was breathtaking. Food was very good and the mussels starter was wonderful. Our room was spotless and all staff were very courteous and competent. Will most certainly go back - hopefully soon! Only slight negative is that whoever designed the building should have given thought to bedroom location and had them at the front of the building rather than at the rear where the only view is the car park. However have to say the resident's lounge is very comfortable and takes advantage of the spectacular location. All in all would have to say if you are in this neck of the woods give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmaBroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband booked this for my birthday and Jayne the new owner arranged for us to have dinner in the residents lounge as the conservatory was under refurbishment, still had the spectacular view which brings us back again and again. All staff very friendly, service & food outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous set up, owner and staff very friendly (as was Lucy the dog). Food, service, rooms, people, staff are totally outstanding! I can highly recommend the Sunday dinners never had nicer! Stayed in the Oban suite and it was a nice size, cumfy bed, very clean with a lovely bath and shower - couldn't ask for more. It's a trip into Oban or anywhere else for that matter about 10-15 mins by car to anything but the views from this b&b are worth it. Don't eat anywhere else but there as it doesn't come close - reasonably priced too for the quality menu - I'd definitely stay again :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great time here. It was easy to book and everyone we had contact with was very friendly and helpful, Even on my first call when I didn't even know definite dates.
Our room was comfortable with good free wifi and well done for having proper coat hangers! Those annoying ring and stick fixed ones are a real pet hate. Our little dog was made welcome too and could join us in the bar.
We didn't have a sea view from our room but they are available and there are great views from the residents' lounge on the first floor.
At the moment the restaurant wing is closed and being renovated so kerb appeal might be a bit less than usual but don't let that put you off, maintenance is always a good thing
All in all an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Property: Oyster Inn
Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing