We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Went to Loch Nell Arms Hotel for dinner.. Never again will I return! I am local to the area and thought I would try somewhere different!
My lasangue had been heated in the microwave, was very hard! The whole organisation from start to finnish was terrible!! It took 45 minutes for them to ask what we wanted to drink!! Sort it out!! It's not good for tourism in the area!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hebridiesno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 271 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed at the Lochnell Arms in March 2009. It's very recently been taken over and only been open as a hotel for a week and half. We had a great stay. The food was absolutely fab - tender and perfectly cooked venison and lamb, lovely duck salad, and a new taste experience of black pudding polenta that I would definitely have again!

The owners, Colin and Joan and their son Scott, and all other staff were great - extremely helpful and very pleasant, making us feel at home and relaxed as soon as we arrived, making sure we had everything we needed.

You can't beat the stunning location, looking out over the loch, and the bar was welcoming with a roaring fire and comfy armchairs. For good weather, there's a pretty terrace outside as well.

We were there on a wedding venue scouting mission - we'll be back to get married in June :o)

Thanks Lochnell!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveHappyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Upon arriving the state of the carpark nearly made us turn round and find another hotel, Very shabby and uncared for. Inside reflected the outside. However the staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was sadly in need of a coat of paint and bringing into the 21st century, although the bathroom had been updated with new tiles and shower cubicle, although the shower didn't work correctly. The complimnetary tray was uninviting to say the least and water in the kettle was still there from the previous occupants. On the bed one pillow per person, although two thin ones had been stuffed into one pillowcase; and the batteries in the TV remote were dead. All reflected lack of care and attention to detail. The restaurant meal was adequate but took a long time to come and breakfast was similar. Again lack of attention to detail. The cereal bowls had to be dried/polished before use. Grapefuit segments served in a plastic bowl. Butter jams and marmalades in portion packs. We paid £42.50 per person for a sea/loch view although quoted £37 on the phone. This hotel advertises a 3 * STB tourist logo and noway does it meet the crtieria for this standard.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Having first read reviews of many hotels in the Oban area on this website, I was not keen to stay at the Lochnell Arms Hotel but we did want a room with a view and had heard through a friend that the standard had recently gone up.

I have to say that this must indeed be the case because we found our stay to be extremely pleasant with helpful and friendly staff, a lovely sea-view room with a balcony and tasty food. We even decided to stay for an extra night.

The only downside was that no one is allowed onto the grass at the front of the Hotel although valid reasons were given.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family and would like to add that both the management and kitchen have recently changed (seemingly for the better!) according to the waitress I spoke to on arrival. Thankyou for a lovely stay, Lochnell!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rosehip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Our party visited the Lochnell Arms on Saturday 19th August 2006.

On arriving at the hotel we discovered no one at reception and one girl trying to service both the public and lounge bars on her own. When we finally got her attention (approx 15 minutes after standing at the bar) we were handed the keys to our rooms but were given no direction where to find them.

To the hotel's credit the rooms were clean and tidy and had showed signs of upgrading in the toilet areas.

We had booked for dinner and enjoyed a drink in the lounge first and were heartened to see an increasing amount of staff appearing for work.

We were seated in the dining room at 19:00 hours and shortly after ordered our drinks and meals. The dining area was approx. half full. At 19:45 hours we were still waiting on our starters and drinks orders. When the waitress was questioned drinks shortly appeared - quite clearly they had been forgotten about. Our starters arrived at 20:00 hrs - 1 hour after being ordered. In relation to our starters our main course arrived at a suitable time. The food was more than acceptable and fair value for money. The service when we did get it was poor. When the wine we ordered finally appeared - during the pouring the waitress had great difficulty keeping the contents within the confines of the glass.

We retired to the lounge after our meal and were disturbed to find the service even worse than in the restaurant. To be fair to the girl working behind the bar that was of a foreign nationality - wasa credit to the establishment. Sadly the same cannot be said of the `locals` working - they appeared to want to be elsewhere and by the end of the night we were wishing the same.

However the girl working at night who also served breakfast must take some credit.

Our experience at the hotel overall was less than acceptable but could have been so much better if there had been more (trained) staff on duty.

Also one final thing soured our visit was our car being damaged by `smokers` outside your public bar who were throwing stones to a dog. Both my wife and I witnessed this incident and it was suggested by one of the gentlemen present that `we better not be claiming off the hotel insurance`. I would like to think this wasn't an official statement.

I raised all of the above issues with the hotel via email and have yet to receive a reply.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimbo1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Leicestershire
324
Reviewed July 4, 2005

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed with the location just by the lake. Checking-in took a while as there was no-one on reception. We managed to catch someone who directed us to the bar. One of the bar staff gave us our key and we had to wait for someone else to show us to our room. We were told that breakfast was served from 8.15 to 9.00am and if you missed that then you could only have cereal and toast.

The standard of the room was ok. We had a double room which overlooked the lake. The best view being from the bathroom as the bedroom view was partly obscured by the roof below.

We were going to eat in the hotel restaurant but decided to go out for a drink first at the Ferrymans pub across the bridge. It's walking distance from the hotel and has the Oyster Bar Restaurant next to it. It looked really nice when we arrived so we decided to eat there instead. Food was good and the staff were really efficient and friendly.

The breakfast at the hotel was served in the restaurant overlooking the lake. We had to get our own tea/coffee and toast from the buffet table. However the full breakfast was very good and well presented.

On check out we were quizzed by the manager who wanted to know why we had chosen to eat at the Oyster bar when the hotel restaurant was award winning. For us we usually like to eat outside of our hotel and this was the main reason. However our first impressions of the hotel was that it didn't seem friendly or welcoming and therefore felt the restaurant would be the same.

The impression we have of this hotel is that it is being run on a budget and as a by-product of the restaurant. It needs to have a few more luxuries in the rooms. Having the most basic toiletries and tea/coffee making ingredients give it away. It didn't seem friendly and welcoming and for that reason I would not recommend it. The best part of it is the location and the view across the lake, but it's not enough to compensate.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Scotland
425
Reviewed April 9, 2005

Once bitten - never again! at £45 b&b each (had to pay on arrival) we expected a reasonable standard. Thankfully our room was comfortable, but rude staff. At first refused Dinner as we had not reserved a place, yet the dining room was only half full.The main course was very poor with hardly cooked meat, watery potatoes, swimming in strong black-currant sauce. Missed Breakfast at 9.05 am but persuaded attendant (?) to find some food then he disappeared. No service.
Are they existing on a past reputation? Tourist Board should check this one again. and review rating

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,813 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
4.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel
Lochnell Arms Hotel Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing