We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Connel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVELY WEEKEND”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Found this Inn a good number of years ago when we booked in for dinner. Decided to book in for the night as my husband had some business in the area. Booked in very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were small but clean, but the view was out of this world, we booked room 2 at the top of the house which had a small balcony which you could walk out onto and it had a table and chairs, didn't use as it poured all weekend. Cant beat the sottish weather. We had dinner in the restaurant which overlooked the water, dinner was superb with a very extensive menu. Very reasonable as well. I would come back here and have no problem in recommending this inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_crane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    77
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
52
129
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannanshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The double room was very clean and had everything a traveller required plus a mega bit more - french doors leading to a private balcony where you could sit and watch the world go by and see the most stunning scenery - more than money can buy! In the morning we watched a duck carefully round up her ducklings and swim off past a heron standing still - just beautiful. Food both in morning and evening - excellent and one of the best things is, that the hotel provides everything essential at whatever pace you require. For the price you pay this hotel is first class - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydoll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I travel a lot, both in the UK and abroad and usually approach a stay in a traditional Scottish hotel with trepidation, expecting poor service, food, room standard and facilities. I only stayed one night at the Lochnell Arms, as I live in Fort William and had a late night business meeting followed by an early start the next day. The owners could not have been more accommodating of my needs, nor could the young woman who booked me in and ran round after me plying me with coffee and good cheer on my arrival past 9pm.

A very unusual feature was the offer of early breakfast. For working people this is so good, I've had many a rammie at hotels all over the highlands with managers who totally refuse to serve breakfast before 8.30.

I recommend the place highly and will take my wife there for a weekend break in the next few months.

Room Tip: Good food, clean bedroom, reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Lohcnell Arms hotel for one night, in a top floor room with a balcony for a price of £100 per night. The room felt quite average, nicely decorated and with a descent sized bathroom (shower) with a skylight window. TV with wide selection of channels but the wi-fi did not work. The absolute best part of the room was to have our own balcony overlooking the water.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely, I ate a fabulous sesame seed flavoured salmon with fresh veg. They also had many choices on the breakfast menu. The staff were very friendly, and it felt like a family-run hotel with a nice vibe to it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Went to this hotel 2weeks ago and I can say the food was the best I had ever had it was quite at lunch so thought I would try that night had chowder it was great steak was cooked perfect and then had the most specail dessert ever wow the bannofee pie was to die for try it trust me amazing

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of seil
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Recently planned a surprise 80th Birthday Lunch for our Aunty. The staff were excellent and could not fault them for service and helpfulness.The sunday carvery is great value and catered well for our large party ranging from 5 years to 80 years.Food hot and plentiful-everyone well fed . Thanks Lochnell Arms you met all our expectations. Would recommend to any locals to host a family celebration here. Nothing was a problem-when we arrived they had decorated our lunch area-which was a lovely gesture

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murthly
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Cosy warm room with lovely comfortable bed. Food great....especially the chowder soup which was heaven. Staff very friendly and helpful, scenery lovely. Already in process of booking another weekend away and would't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a family run friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzMurthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
468 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,769 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
813 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochnell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochnell Arms Hotel

Property: Lochnell Arms Hotel
Address: North Connel, Connel, Oban PA37 1RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lochnell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lochnell Arms Hotel is a small family run hotel in a spectacular Loch side location, situated just 5 miles outside of Oban. We have 10 on-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant which is also open to non residents, outside terrace, and public bar with pool table and darts. The cosy lounge bar has a large open fireplace, and the restaurant has a stunning view over the Loch. All our meals are home made and freshly prepared by our chefs, who use local produce where possible. Popular Sunday carvery served all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lochnell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Nell Arms Connel
Lochnell Arms Hotel Connel, Scotland - Oban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing