We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location to stop off for a good lunch.”
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Of Lora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A lovely location with great service. We have stopped off at the Hotel on a couple of occasions to use the restaurant.

The staff have been very pleasant and down to earth, the food has also been excellent.

Despite never staying overnight, we did take into account the options available on our most recent visit - it's certainly something that we will consider in future depending on circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were recommended to eat at this Hotel and found that the Bistro was well supported by local dinners and visitors and it was not hard to see why. The prices for food and drink are very reasonable and there is a nice comfortable sitting area to use while waiting for your table or for having a relaxing drink or coffee after your meal.
We enjoyed a generous salmon starter and a main course of Aberdeen Angus beef pie with spring onion mash; all very satisfying. The only negative there was a limited wine list. I would prefer a white and a red acclaimed wine to be added to the list. Yes, it would cost more but it gives that choice for those are prepared to pay extra for the quality.
The Bistro surroundings and tableware give the impression of being back in the 70’s, that probably alludes to its charm for the Diners but my preference would be to bring the dinning area up to date with light décor.
We enjoyed our evening meal and that was helped by well trained , happy and courteous staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valuation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great old family run & character hotel Excellent location , friendly staff, spotless main areas & room. Bistro superb,meal & wine Prices great .A good bottle for less than £10.00 at table so excellent if B&B only
Scenic views from front and private gardens over Loch & bridge Will return & stay longer next time Great for visiting Oban area

Room Tip: Loch view even the smallest double about small Fred Olsen cruise liner size No 55 has great view onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecwemyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

One night stay in a single room bathroom was a broom cupboard shower head in need of cleaning, gave us a pack up breakfast as leaving before hot food served not. Bad room very old fashioned and sheets very worn

Room Tip: Ask for front view of loch so that you don't get railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306NickiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked our double room at Falls of Lora Hotel - but I directly have to say - do not book the small double though as you will feel cramped in your room! They won't see me again sorry..room really was too small. The bistro was excellent enjoyed the lam it was great!! Service was good but not incredible, yes i have been pamperd too much at other places in Scotland probably ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked our double room at Falls of Lora Hotel knowing that it was a small double but we were amazed to find just how small the room really was. Apart from the bedroom (which we could not upgrade since the hotel was full on the night of our stay) the hotel was quite good. The bistro was excellent although allowing dogs in the bistro lounge bar didn't seem very hygienic.
Overall the hotel is quite tired but the staff were pleasant and the service was very good.
If you decide to book this hotel avoid the small rear facing double rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the small double rooms to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeegieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful old classic hotel.
Nice location, good rooms, good food, excellent service.
Loved the decor in the bar/restaurant...copper, cats & the orient
Can't go wrong here. Exactly what I had pictured a Scottish hotel should be.

Room Tip: top of the hotel is a bit of a hike up stairs, but the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
4.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range: $79 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Scotland - Oban
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing