We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest place I have stayed in kent”
Review of The Chequers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamberhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The nicest place I have stayed in kent”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Booked a single room, got upgrade to double as all singles had been taken. Nice size room,clean and tidy, stocked with tea,coffee and usual bathroom extras.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtgdtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at the Chequers Inn on the 23rd December in a family room as we had a booking at the nearby Lapland UK experience on Christmas Eve with our 2.5 year old daughter.

On arrival we were welcomed by Nigel (the owner) and shown to our room.
The room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Clean crisp sheets.
Due to the time of the year and the age of the building it was a bit cold in the room which Nigel soon helped to rectify by turning up the heating, additional blankets and an electric fire!

The bar and restaurant downstairs was wonderful. Very friendly staff, a roaring fire, a large selection of well served drinks (including mulled wine) and a superb food menu for both lunch and dinner, that was made with local produce.

To locals that were present in the bar were all very friendly too. Even though we were in a pub we were not made to feel unwelcome due to our somewhat lively daughter........if anything she was made to feel extra special with the locals giving her christmas cards and Nigel taking the time to talk to her to ask what she wold like to drink rather than asking us what she would like - all small details, but ones that seperate good and very good.

The Inn has great character, the food is great with plenty of choice(especially the local sausages used in the breakfast!), the drinks and the staff all excellent. But its also the little things that are done superbly - it really does feel like an local village pub/inn with rooms like they used to be, and should continue to be, but sadly it is a dying breed with chain pubs now

Long may Nigel and his family continue to run such a great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaters_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel was beautiful and the manager and staff were very friendly and helpful.

I often worry about taking my daughter away as people can often been a little less patient with her then necessary. The staff at the chequers were fantastic.

The food was amazing, the use of local produce added to the enjoyment

Thank You

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terricrowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We came across The Chequers Inn purely by accident and was the best find of our trip.

A beautiful old pub, without the dried flower arrangements and floral curtains. Someone has done a great job, the wooden parquet flooring and white walls shows understated style.

What was the best surprise of all was the food, Nigel is clearly a gifted chef. Instead of a raft of meal options there were 3 choices on the menu and the food was exceptional.
The elderberry desert was the most beautiful thing I have tasted in years.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We went back but this time we also stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Everything about The Chequers Inn was great, the rooms, the food, the welcome, the location, the surrounding, the people.
We are making this a annual event !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Friendly service, quality local food, great ambiance and really welcoming place. We will be going back and for a longer time. We discovered a gem !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

My fiancée and I stayed here during a recent trip to Royal Tunbridge Wells. The pub is located in the small village of Lamberhurst which is about a 10-15min drive from away.

The room we stayed in was fairly small but for the most part it was clean. There was an on-suite bath/shower with hot running water (always a plus) and it had a small portable TV (minus a remote control).

The bed was uncomfortable but our room was situated at the rear of the Inn away from any traffic noise. Unfortunately, due to the fact it's a very old place, the floorboards creaked throughout the night and fan noise was prevalent from the other rooms.

The staff were very pleasant but upon arriving we were told that due to refurbishment, the restaurant was closed. However, we were directed to the 'The Lime Tree' just a couple of doors up and they served great food.

Overall, The Chequers was merely adequate for our one night stay. On the plus side, the breakfast was lovely but in hindsight, we probably would have stayed at ‘The Lime Tree’. I understand that The Chequers has recently undergone a change of owner, (which might explain the refurbishment work) but until they establish themselves, I couldn’t recommend them anyone else at the moment.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room at the rear.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberhurst
3.0 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
143 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
6.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vineyard Inn
The Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Lamberhurst
51 reviews
7.4 mi away
Danehurst House
Danehurst House
#1 of 27 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Property: The Chequers Inn
Address: The Broadway, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For our guests looking for an overnight visit we can offer you any of our 5 en-suite bedrooms. Each room is individually decorated offering you privacy and comfort in the beautiful and historic village of Lamberhurst. Relax, unwind and prepare yourself for your busy day ahead, whether it is a wedding or a countryside ramble, our rooms will meet all your needs. With delightful smells of home cooked European food wafting from the restaurant below, you may be tempted to eat in our Hiltonz restaurant before you retire. Jane Austen herself is said to have frequented these rooms and so you are in good company! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chequers Inn Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing