We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home away from home”
Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Living room showing fireplace and French doors to patio. Living room showing open plan dining area and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Front of Cottage
Living room showing fireplace and French doors to patio.
Living room showing open plan dining area and kitchen.
And another of the living room (in case you haven't seen enough!!!
Kitchen.
Dining Room (there are another 2 chairs to seat 6).
Fireplace (Oscar the dog not included!) and with old sofa now replace - Oscar the dog still with us!
Bedroom 1 showing en suite bathroom
En suite bathroom with bath and shower to bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 with double bed and en suite shower room.
En suite shower room to bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 with twin beds.
Corridor showing Bedroom 1 at the end.
Side Patio
Front of house showing disabled access.  Additional ramp available upon request.
Swimming pool to the rear of the owners' Oast House.  Open June to Sept (unheated so can be bracing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stoney3
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Very comfortable home from home. Robin and Maria were great hosts who ensured our stay was extremely enjoyable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Andrew it was a pleasure to have you to stay. I look forward to seeing more of you and Julie when you eventually move into Lamberhurst. Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CasBright...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, but ......”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Coach House for a week with my 98 year old mother. The cottage is lovely and spacious, and because the weather was quite wet and cold (despite it being August) we spent longer in the rental property than we usually would. The kitchen was quite well-equipped but the fridge had a shelf missing and the insides of drawers and cupboards were grubby; the beds were very comfortable and we all slept well; and the location was brilliant for visiting a number of National Trust properties as well as towns such as Tunbridge Wells, Hastings and Rye. We had located the property when searching for 'Disabled accommodation in Kent'. and the only misleading feature about the cottage is the 'tick box' for wheelchair and elderly access. Admittedly there are ramps to the front door, and the accommodation is on one level, but, the toilets and showers are totally inappropriate for a wheelchair user. The shower over the bath is obviously out of the question, and the other two shower rooms are inaccessible for a disabled/elderly person with little mobility. One of these (opposite the dining area) would have made a perfect wet room. Nevertheless, we found the Coach House a comfortable and welcoming home for our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of shower facilities for wheelchair users
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you for the feedback re wheelchair access. I have amended the description to make it clearer that although there is wheelchair access to one of the shower rooms that it is not a wet room and the shower is inaccessible with a wheelchair.

A more vigilant cleaning routine needs to be added to get into the kitchen drawers. We've had back to back guests over the last 4 months with short turnaround times so kitchen drawers obviously got missed.

Apologies to Doris, your Mum, that the bathroom wasn't as accessible as she had hoped. A wetroom is on our list of possible changes.

Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Thanks for your review. As you say even though The Coach House is close to the road the property is double glazed and noise would only be an issue if our guests want a peaceful countryside retreat. Most of our guests use us as a base.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morgan_Mi...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Although the owners were welcoming the property didn’t live up to the photos and reviews. The road noise was excessive as the property backs onto the busy A21, the seating area was in the shade under huge trees and was very rusty and covered in green algae. Dogs weren’t allowed in to the garden and pool area and to top it all the beds were very uncomfortable. We left after 2 nights with the owners happy to reimburse us and helpfully suggested alternative accommodation that would suit us with a dog.

The property was conveniently located so you could visit the local attractions. There were some nice touches e.g. hotel style bathroom supplies and it was well equipped with the exception of the very small TV and broken DVD player. The Wi-Fi was very hit and miss as we kept being booted off. We thought it would be ideal for us – 2 couples and one dog and we were very disappointed as we had been really looking forward to staying there and maybe using the outdoor pool if the weather was good enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the parking
Liked least: The outside seating area
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
We take all feedback very seriously and in 20 months of renting The Coach House this is the first negative response we have received. After our guests left (and before receiving the review) we have refreshed the garden furniture and replaced the DVD player and now have a larger TV.

The details state that we are adjacent to the A21 and as the property has double glazing and we have never before had a complaint about the road noise. Most of our guest use the property as a base and if any guest asks about the road I am very honest and will state that this is not a rural retreat with little road noise. I think that the term "excessive" is an exaggeration. However this is all relative to experience and expectations.

Re the swimming pool. It is unheated and the details state that it is open in the Summer months. As our guests started their stay at the end of May this meant that the pool temperature was just 20 degrees. We had said that the pool was clean but in our opinion it was too cold to swim in. Our guests hadn't made it clear when booking that they would wish to use the pool. Had this been one of their criteria for booking we would have advised that this is too early to swim in an unheated pool in the UK unless we've had a really hot Spring.

Re the comment about the dog and access to the pool area. Again it is clear that the pool forms part of our private area. We have a paddock of almost one acre which is accessible to guests (and their dogs) staying in The Coach House. Also to allow a dog access to a pool area has potential health and safety risks attached.

As to the beds being uncomfortable. We stayed there for 2 months when we had a flood and found them extremely comfortable. In fact two of the mattresses are less than 6 months old. I tested all of the beds after our guests had left and I was not uncomfortable.

I reimbursed our guests and as she states I even recommended other accommodation and allowed her access to the property to collect items she had left.

I hope that any potential guests reading this will focus on the numerous positive reviews that we have received.

Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know that feeling about lugging suitcase with a car park miles from the accommodation and up 3 flights of stairs without a lift. Where is the oxygen mask and Sherpa you ask yourself! Oh and why did I really need to pack 10 pairs of shoes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a very relaxing 3 nights here for Easter holidays. Peaceful setting surrounded by beautiful countryside, you really do feel away from everything! The cottage itself is clean, big bedrooms, nice bathrooms, very clean and well equipped . Maria and Robin were very friendly and helpful.

We would not hesitate to recommend "The Coach House" as everything is perfect in this house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2014
We were very pleased to accommodate you at such short notice. You left The Coach House in immaculate condition. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again soon for a relaxing weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing