We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gardens”

Scotney Castle Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

These are really worth a visit. Lovely landscaped gardens complete with a romantic ruined castle and lake. Lovely countryside views

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kas1Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    360
    61
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great day out.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful gardens, breathtaking scenery from the estate. Wonderful day out made extra special by the NT staff and volunteers.
Would recommend the guided walk, so much more to see at Scotney than the castle, house and gardens. Ross ( head Ranger) and Colin ( volunteer guide) made the guided walk a memorable and informative experience. Ross in particular was fantastic with our 10 and 8 year olds, keeping them interested and included throughout.
Overall great day out, take a picnic and look out for the dinosaur foot prints !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeevan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited Scotney whilst in the area for half term. We got there as soon as it opened so had the gardens and the walk down to the lovely old castle pretty much to ourselves. This really allowed us to appreciate the beauty of the ruins. The new house is fascinating in itself - you get the sense someone still lives there and it does seem to have been as left when the last lady of the house died. Being half term, a childrens murder mystery trial had been set up which both boys enjoyed.

A lovely, lovely place which we will happily visit again when in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great NT staff”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've visited Scotney a number of times over the years, but this was the first occasion when we've coincided with the house being open. We really enjoyed our visit. Well done NT for having the whole place open during the winter. I'm not sure that I would rate Scotney as highly as some folk in a list of top NT places to visit, but the view down to the old castle is unquestionably beautiful. The staff were great, as so often seems to be the way with the NT. A few minus points though: reception didn't offer us timed tickets for the house (so we had to go back); the kite-making activity (for half-term) was free and good fun but also disorganised and seemingly unsupervised (not so clever with scissors, etc); and although the loos have great eco credentials, they also needed a bit of TLC (and taps that don't feel like an intelligence test - which clearly I failed!). But lots more pluses, including a lovely tea room decked out with fantastic photographic reprints of Kentish history. Great place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staff were all friendly with lots of information, as you would expect from a National Trust property.

We loved the old castle, and although in a way it is a pity that the old castle was 'ruined' for building materials for the new house, the ruins are indeed very pretty, much of which you can walk through. The 'new' house is interesting to visit too. We didn't walk through much of the grounds, because it was rather windy, but shall definitely return on a sunny day to explore further.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotney Castle Garden also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Scotney Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing