We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly farmstay with great food & amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skeiding Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly farmstay with great food & amazing views”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely farm set in stunning countryside near Heidelberg run by a friendly couple and serving great food. A free early morning farm tour and local port is included. Highly recommended. The best b&b we stayed at outside Cape Town. Can get busy and guests all sit at one large table so good for those seeking company but less so for couples seeking privacy. Tip – signed from N2 road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    36
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
98
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The attention to detail here is fantastic.
Rooms were perfect and clean and the food was fabulous.
Nils is so enthusiatic about his animals and a farm tour is a must, although it is an early start, however, the sunrise is stunning. Depending on the number of people you can also get to feed the ostriches.

Room Tip: We staying in the Blue Crane room which is right next door to the main house so perhaps one of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our short stay at Skeiding. The accommodation was good with lots of attention to details, the setting on farm was very relaxed and scenic, the food was superb. We could not believe the ostrich carpaccio and brie starter, followed by bobotie and all the accompaniements on our first night, nor the breakfast the next morning that included home baked bread and 16 different kinds of home made jams. The hosts very very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights on this working, guest farm. We really enjoyed the peacefulness, feeding ostriches, watching the sheep being sheared and the HUGE, clear blue skies filled with stars and shooting-stars at night.

Room Tip: The cottages are great for a family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayd at skeiding guest farm in december 2011. We enjoyed our stay very much. Nils and anne-lize really made us feel at home. Nils likes to show his farm and to talk about his ostriches, sheep and other animals. Anne-lize is a GREAT cook. Diner was fabulous.

Ronald and Saskia

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It takes about 4 hours to get to the farm from Cape Town. The farm lies miles away from any major roads and is very quiet. The drive in is long and dusty or muddy. The main house, outhouses and barn, sit slightly raised on a hillside, with fantastic views over the fields and animal herds. There are 13 double bed rooms available, some of which are in individual outhouses away from the farmhouse and barns. You do not immediately see any ostriches in the fields around the farmhouse, but there are plenty of cows, sheep, guinea fowl and other animals to watch. There is a little gift/shop area in the farmhouse, where you can buy a variety of things including ostrich skin belts, slippers and treated hides as well as skins from other animals.

You really should book the evening meal at the farm because it is so far to travel to any sizeable town and the meal is excellent. The group at our table was really international that evening: 3 international couples and 5 nationalities! We had a great time chatting during the served/buffet meal in front of a roaring wooden fire. We were made to feel very much at home by our hosts and we had an unforgettable evening, including many serious discussions about ostrich farming in South Africa.

The room that we had did not have a television but then again, this is not a place to come to watch films and soaps. The activities in the fields around the facility were entertaining enough. The bedroom floor was tiled and partly covered with animal skins. The twin bed was very comfortable and warm. There are no steps to climb to the rooms in the outhouses, which is a great advantage for disabled people. There was a wonderful ceramic wood-burning oven in the bedroom, which was good because the temperature did drop quite a bit during the spring night. The bathroom was clean and everything worked well. We were in the honeymoon suite and there an excellent double whirlpool/massage bath in the bedroom with views over the surrounding landscape – highly recommended. In the morning, we saw a variety of birds, rabbits, hares and deer in the fields around the farmhouse.

At 7.30 am, before breakfast, we had a tour of the highlights of the farm: watching the feeding of the ostriches; visiting the new born lambs and seeing a calf that had been born the night before. We were also very lucky to see two new born ostrich chicks. The breakfast was very good and the ostrich bacon, which is served with other hot items and a good range of cold meats and cheese, was very different from the usual pork variety.

All in all, it was an exceptional experience to stay here and much more than just a night at a B and B. To anyone travelling along the garden route, this is a place that we would recommend to stay at: It is an unforgettable experience....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were traveling through the Garden Route - somewhat planned - somewhat not - and we ended up at Skeiding Guest Farm by chance and recommendation from another B&B nearby. I was a little unsure at first because I was focused on having a beach vacation, but this place turned out to be one of our highlights! So peaceful and beautiful! The folks who run the farm are 100% wonderful! They really take the time to make you feel at home. The accommodations are fantastic! You'll love the home feel and charm. Extremely clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougDunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heidelberg
20.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
13.0 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
337 reviews
21.2 mi away
Anna's Farm
Anna's Farm
#1 of 4 in Heidelberg
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kwetu Guest Farm
Kwetu Guest Farm
#3 of 26 in Swellendam
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 174 in Kruger National Park
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeiding Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeiding Guest Farm

Property: Skeiding Guest Farm
Address: Near Suurbraack Turnoff, Heidelberg 6665, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeiding Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skeiding is one of those places that you fall in love with for no reason ... maybe it's the absolute peace and tranquillity or the panoramic views of the Langeberg mountains or the bright stars at night or the mouth watering food or the goodness of being close to nature ... that makes you want to come back. Situated on high, open, rolling terrain you experience the feeling of freedom and being kind of alone with no neighbour in sight. Skeiding is a working grain, sheep, ostrich and Nguni farm … close to the N2 and halfway (250 km) between Cape Town and Knysna. This makes us the ideal stopover. A friendly family farm, an education for city slickers, a place to relax and enjoy panoramic mountain views as the farm is situated on high, open rolling terrain. We Neels and Anné-Lize is two energetic people who love life …you need to be to run a farm, a young family (Anné and Pieter), two dogs (Dixie and Jessie), a cat (Tierkat) and a guesthouse in the same lifetime.Spoil yourself and stay Bed & Breakfast or even better, have dinner.Our sumptuous farm breakfast include : a plate of fruit in season, at least a dozen homemade preserves and jams, freshly baked bread, vetkoek ( a traditional farm fried bread), a cheese platter, cereals, yogurt, eggs and also a choice between ostrich and pork bacon..Enjoy home cooked country cuisine prepared by Anné-Lize and her small team of able and enthusiastic assistants. Neels is the meat “chef” on the open fire, unless farm work calls him away. A three course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Skeiding Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing