We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beaches”
Review of U Paesolu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Paesolu
Bridgend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great beaches”
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Traffic horrendous in July,road out of U Paesolu meets the main road at a T- junction and long tailbacks mean you are almost trapped.
Very basic studios,no toilet paper or soap provided,very poor lighting if you like reading in bed.
Helpful reception staff.
Over priced restaurant

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — driving out of the resort was difficult with long traffic tailbacks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gw3mfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
59
79
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Booked a package deal with Thomson. First time in the south of Corsica. It felt more Italian than the north but still had a French feel.

Getting Around:

Hire a car as it will enable you to escape the U Paesolu and have a much more enjoyable time. It also pays for itself if you do a few journeys that are available as trips. e.g. Bonafacio, Bavella. The trips supplied by Thomson were very expensive. Unlike the north, the roads are very good in the south, with the only really narrow road we encountered was near the Col de Bavella but this was only a short bit.

Accommodation:

Friendly staff at the reception. Everything else was poor. We had a mini villa/bungalow. No air conditioning other than a dirty fan (which I cleaned). Flooring was seventies dark brown tiles, which were chipped. You had to exchange your own bedding and towels once a week at the laundry on site. The towels look ancient and are all odd colours, although seemed to be clean. The bathroom was terrible. The shower cubicle was small and all the grouting and sealant was grimy. I had a large cockroach come up through a hole in the floor one night. (my advice is to buy some insect repellent). The toilet seat was a cheap plastic thing that had seen better days. Limited power points except in the kitchen area. The only redeeming feature was the patio, which we used daily to eat breakfast and dinner, as it had a nice view over the Pinarellu bay.

N.B. On departure I was given a bill of 0.50 euro per day per person for local holiday tax. This totalled 14 euros. I was surprised but the receptionist pointed to a Thomson notice explaining it. I paid but really felt this should have been pointed out at the welcome meeting or indeed included in the booking price.

Beaches:

Expected more from the beaches based on what we found in the north and also in comparison to the Costa Smeralda in Sardinia. Although they were nice, a lot were covered in seaweed type debris or very crowded. As Sardinia is relatively close we were expecting the same fantastic beaches we experienced there. If it's beaches you want go there instead.

We found that the beaches at Canella, Tarcu and Fatea were the least crowded. These are all a short drive north of Pinarellu. Our favourite beach was at St. Cyprien.

Inland:

Disappointed with Port Vecchio. Mostly restuarants and not a lot else. Marina quite small. Bonfacio was stunning and well worth the visit. Definitely visit the mountains. We went twice. The first time we went to the L'Ospedale forest and had a long walk to a waterfall and the second time we went to Bavella and had a nice walk there and saw the stunning mountains.

Food:

Ate out 4 times. We went to the U Marinu across the road 3 times as the service was friendly and the pizzas were very nice at an average of 10 euros each. Went to La Casa one evening in Pinarellu but were disappointed with the food and service.

The Spar supermarket in St. Lucie is very good but slightly more expensive than the Geant in Porto Vecchio. If you visit the Geant, then either go at opening time or during the early afternoon, to avoid the crowds.

Summary:

We had a nice holiday but prefer Sardinia for the beaches. If the accommodation had been half decent it would have made a big difference. I wouldn't recommend going to U Paesolu unless you are indifferent to old dirty apartments.

  • Liked — the view of the bay
  • Disliked — the poor state of the apartment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andytheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio hotels

Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Mould, mould, mould. That is what we were confronted with when we opened the door to our villa. All over the bedroom walls and pillows! The smell was incredible. Our complaint yielded the offer of two more villa's, each one worse than the last.

After four hours of complaining, we were given an apartment, greatly downgraded from the cost of a Villa, no refund of difference offered. The apartment was ok but just about clean and no air-con. We were given the receptionists desk fan which was the icing on the cake.

Staff very friendly but fighting against the current with U Paesolu. Pool very clean and breakfast fantastic.

Setting ok, Corsica great with superb beaches but unless you want to die of boredom hire a car. Pinarellu has a few good restaurants but Porto Vecchio, with more variety, is only 15mins drive away.

U Paesolu claim 5-10 mins from the beach, I can only presume this is achievable if you are falling from a cliff!!!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Jig27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I've just got back from a week in U Paesolu, Corsica and can honestly say we had a fantastic holiday.

Had a few hic-hups on the first day; we had a 'mini-villa' which we found to be basic and not exactly what we had been expecting (2* english standard) there was no air-con, so the first night we stormed up to reception about 2am having not been able to get to sleep, the staff there are so so friendly and honestly cannot do enough for you, so managed to find us a huge fan that they let us keep for the week so we could sleep comfortably! All reception staff could speak english, 1 or 2 fluently.

Another mistake on the first day was to go to the wrong end of the beach. Reception tells you that you can get to the beach either by road or through the U Paesolu site, do not go through the site!!! That end of the beach is dirty, crowded by locals making you feel most unwelcome and generally not very pleasant. We had come to Corsica to find silky sands and turqouise waters and got a shock. Luckily we went exploring the next day and found the other end which is a beautiful, quite small beach around the corner with beautiful shallow waters streching far out into the ocean. We went in the middle of July so it was always busy but that didn't curb its beauty. You get to this beach by walking right out of reception down the road and into Pinarello, walk past the bars and restaurants to the car-park at the end and you get to the best part of the beach.

Make sure you go snorkelling the water is too fabulous to miss!

There were many lively, busy restaurants along the beach front where we enjoyed many fab evenings. Staff were friendly and could speak english to help us with the menus, always busy and had a lovely atmosphere. Quite pricey but you could get a pizza or pasta dish for about 10 euros if you're on a budget (I recommend the St. Pierre dish with carot and ginger sauce about 20 euros). The cocktail bar is great fun getting busy around 11pm when the locals get off work, great music, great cocktails, a great way to end the night after a lovely meal.
I wouldn't recommend eating in the restaurant at U Paesolu as it was always dead and very pricey for quite basic meals, although the risotto was nice! It is a very short walk into the little town of Pinarello, perhaps ten minutes, but it goes quick as you walk past the mountains and up towards a spectacular view of the harbour.

There is also a little Pizzeria on the way to Pinarello where we had a good evening as there was live music playing one night.

The little shop on the way to the beach and restaurants kept us going, again quite expensive but sold the necessities, otherwise there is a shuttle bus to Sainte Lucie at 9.30am on monday mornings which takes you to a Spar supermarket.

There isn't much to do in Pinarello during the day except sunbathe, which is fine considering how lush the beach is! However would definitely recommend the excursions, we went on one to Bonafacio which was a great day out in the middle of the week that gave us a break from sunbathing, we had lunch in the gorgeous harbour looking out over the huge boats! Then we had a boat trip around the coves, Bonafacio is quite spectacular. We also did the excursion to Porto Vechio on friday night which was again, a fabulous evening out. Both excursions allowed us to see the island without a car, however there are so many gorgeous beaches nearby that you need a car to get to so would recommend it.

Over-all we had a fabulous holiday, the place is perfect for sunbathing and enjoying long warm evenings having fun and relaxing, if we went back I think we would perhaps stay in 'Le Pinarello' down in Pinarello, U Paesolu accomodation was not great but the cheapest we could find (we were on a bit of a budget being students). Corsica itself is beautiful and is a gem unfound by British tourists, there were very few when we were there, I would recommend Pinarello to anyone wanting a lovely, enjoyable holiday.

PS. Make sure you take mosquito repellent, we got eaten alive the first night!

  • Liked — Had washing machine, firdge/freezer, dishwasher
  • Disliked — No air-con, no clean towels all week
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at the Residence U Paesolu in June 2008. We had been looking for somewhere to stay in Corsica that was reasonably priced, and the U Paesolu fitted the bill. We were staying in a Studio apartment, it was very spacious, with the a large open plan sleeping/eating area, good sized kitchen and bathroom. We were on the ground floor and had a terrace area, which had a lovely view over the bay of Pinarello. We had a few niggles about the studio, these being that it was not cleaned for the whole time we where there, you don't get fresh towels (although we asked for some and got them free of charge). One evening we decided to eat in, as we were late back, however when we tried to use the oven it didn't work, we rang reception but it had closed, so we were left to munch on crisps! The staff at the U Paesolu were very helpful, and most spoke fairly good English, there was free internet in the reception area.

The location of U Paesolu is about a 10-15 min walk to the resort of Pinarello (and the beach), there were some lovely restaurants on the beachfront, and a few bars, if you want somewhere lively Pinarello is not the place for you! But if you're looking for a laid back, relaxing resort you'll really like it.

I would highly recommend hiring a car, my boyfriend & I made the mistake of hiring a car while out there, we were on a package deal, and the prices the Rep was quoting were much more expensive, than if you do it in advance of your visit. I must admit we would have been a bit bored if we hadn't hired a car, as there's not a whole lot to do around Pinarello, unless you like to sunbathe all day, every day. I would definately recommend visiting the Bavella Mountains, Porto Vecchio (short drive away) and Bonifacio. There are some amazing beaches as well, one of them being Santa Giulia.

I would recommend the U Paesolu, it's a great base to explore the south of Corsica, which is a very beautiful island.

  • Liked — Spacious Studio, helpful staff
  • Disliked — That the studio wasn't cleaned the whole time we where there
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ibiza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauraloo72
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed in a studio apartment and it was a basic but really nice appartment. Staff were helpful and impressed with my french!! The kitchen could do with a few more bits but there were plenty of clean towels and blankets and it was really clean. It was walking distance to the centre but there were only a few bars and you really needed a car to get around. We had poor weather so a car was a God send. A fantastic holiday we will return to Corsica!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Had a wonderful time with out 2 children (2 and 3 months) staff really friendly and helpful could not do enough for us, really pretty place, apartment studio was comfortable with all utensils in kitchen and separate bed and cot for the children and lovely little patio to sit our overlooking the pool and we bought a cheap barbeque to use on it whilst there which was fantastic. Corsica itself is amazing, we are going back in June 08 to a different apartment but would come back to this one, Only gripe was only maid service once a week only. Food at restaurant good too. You need a car and best to book before you go and pick up at airport which we didn't and have learned for when we next go - everything too far apart and no public transport and lots of hills. Beaches amazing and food too so need to get out and about to experience.

Pool lovely but we found not great for children as very quiet and we felt a bit noisy (although we're not) so we used to go to the beach instead.

  • Liked — The quietness
  • Disliked — maid only once a week
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsnMark1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Olmuccio
Hotel Residence Olmuccio
#2 of 6 in Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pinarello Hotel
Le Pinarello Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#19 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
170 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kilina Hotel
Kilina Hotel
#31 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Golfe
Hotel du Golfe
#4 of 6 in Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Paesolu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Paesolu

Property: U Paesolu
Address: Pinarello, 20144 Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio, Zonza, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Zonza > Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — U Paesolu 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence U PAESOLU is situated on the oriental coast of Corsica, at approximately 18 Km at the north of PORTO VECCHIO, at PINARELLO (or PINAREDDU), a small typical marine village, next to a beautifull and famous sand beach. SAINTE LUCIE DE PORTO VECCHIO, is at 3 Km and FIGARI's airport at 30 Km, from the hotel. For all these reasons, this place, which spreads out on 13 hectares, is a privileged holiday resort. The exceptional choice of rentals (hotel, studios, mini villas, villas grand standing with private swimming pool, haut standing with sauna, warmed swimming pool and jacuzzi), with restaurant, caterer service, tennis, make this complex the place to be for your holidays. All rentals are air-conditioned and equiped with free WiFi. The top of the property offers an exceptionnal sea view on the gulf of Pinarello, and the domain is really quiet and pleasant. U PAESOLU will offer you services of a Professional, to listen to you, for good holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Paesolu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence u Paesolu Hotel
U Paesolu Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing