We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healy Connemara, Kylemore and Cong Day Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.96*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Healy Connemara, Kylemore and Cong Day Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went on the Healy Connemara, Kylemore and Cong Day Tour on May 29. The driver, John, was very well versed in the history and of Connemara. The bus was clean, not crowded, and comfortable. I highly recommend this tour and this tour company.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    617
    205
    74
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Overpriced to go in; stay outside and take pictures”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a magnificent grey stone abbey, having been a private castle at one time. Until only the last couple of years, it was a girls' school. The Abbey sits at the base of a mountainside all alone, with its reflection in the lake begging you to take pictures. There is a white statue of Christ with outstretched arms way up on the steep mountain which makes you wonder how they got it up there. All this you can see from the outside. However, it is overpriced to go inside and isn't really worth the admission price of 13 euros each to see a very limited view of some inside rooms, such as the parlour and the dining room. Of the 40,000 square feet, you are only allowed into about four rooms. There is a film showing in one of the rooms, alternating between English, German and perhaps French, and you have to be there at the right time in order to see it in your chosen language. There are no live guides, relying instead on posters which explain the long history of this place. One leaves disappointed that the access to the abbey is so restricted. Once on the grounds visitors can go to the gardens by shuttle bus. May or June would be the best times to view them in bloom. Or visitors can walk down beside the lake to the Gothic Church which was built using different colored marble columns on the inside. The inside of the small church is really more impressive than the inside of the abbey itself. Kylemore Abbey has a large gift shop which is quite expensive, and a very nice tea shop/restaurant. Even if you decide not to pay to go into the Abbey, do have lunch at the tea room. The food is very good. It is nicely furnished and decorated more like a restaurant, although patrons must go through a cafeteria line to get the food. The prices are reasonable, and the choices are very good. I had a large slice of salmon and spinach quiche (6.95 euros), and strawberry shortcake with real whipped cream between flaky layers of pastry. Both were very good. My advice is to take pictures of the abbey from outside across the lake, visit the gift shop, and eat lunch in the tea room. Save your 13 euros and skip admission to the abbey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stopped at Kylemore Abbey while on a daylong bus tour. We were allotted about 2 hours to tour the property and have lunch. I wish that we had had more time. The main building on the property is gorgeous. You're only allowed to tour a few rooms but the they are lovely. The chapel on the property and the garden are the stars of the show. The food and gift shop exceeded my expectations as well. You could easily spend half a day here, especially if the weather is nice. It's well worth the cost of admission.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurybarginlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
477 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and tranquil. Tragic lovestory (and outstanding resto)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The lovestory of the building of the castle is spectacular, as well as how it changed hands to the nuns. The castle itself is partially open to the public, and it is well kept. Spectacular now. I can only imagine what it was like in its glory.

My favourite part was the grounds. Very tranquil, on a lake, surrounded by flowers, a lake and mist. Very King Arthurish.

A highlight however, was the restaurant. It was one of the best meals I've had in Ireland, with amazing beef stew and scones that are a runner up from a competition in Ireland. I would visit here (and eat here) again.

The sacred heart is the white statue on the mountain. You can climb up there, but it looked a bit treacherous in the rain.

Great place for photos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited Kilemore Abbey as part of a tour, It was a beautiful sunny day, The scenery is just so delightful,I took some beautiful photos of the Abbey from across the lock, it is beautiful inside and steeped in history so romantic and sad, I loved The Walled Garden, it was so beautiful and peaceful, The whole place is breathtaking with the mountain, lakes, flowers, trees and walkways, So much to see and a lovely souvenir shop and restaurant, What a lovely way to spend day, it was wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phyll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing