We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning!”

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.91*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Brilliant and beautiful with a great history.

Lovely for a walk and a bit of history with a lovely cafe to have a cuppa and a scone with jam and cream when you are done!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    637
    219
    75
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beauty”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

You have to pay into this attraction but we felt it was worth it. Amazing scenery worth bringing your camera as you will get some fantastic shots. The mini Cathedral was so lovely and a beautiful story behind it's history. It had rained the day we visited so there was loads of lovely waterfalls coming down off the mountain which made a lovely sound and site to watch. We didn't get to see the inside of the abbey as it was closed that day but we peaked in the window and it had a fantastic fireplace in the room.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank time4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O.C., Calif.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“THE Most Stunning Site, & So Much More!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Of our whole European vacation this summer, the photos that get the most oohs & aahs are from here. Our kids (13 & 14) stopped still in their tracks when we came upon it. We took so many beautiful pictures.... we used them for our Christmas cards & the kids use them as their iPhone wallpapers.
I read of people who stopped here just to take photos. This is a great idea if you're short on time or funds. You can get a beautiful picture of the Abbey reflected on the lake that you will want to frame and hang in your home. It is THAT picturesque!
We had a half day to spend here, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house tour is fascinating, many stories to share. And, walking along the trails is much more enjoyable than the shuttle... as there are whimsical wooden objects made my local art students that kept our curiosity peaked!
We ate at the entrance out of convenience, and were pleasantly surprised how delicious the chowder and scones were.
Don't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJKKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be less pricey”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you want to see the abbey - you have to pay. If you want to just look around abbey - pay! If you want to see the gardens - pay. If you want to enter the area around the church and if you wanna enter the church - pay. The place is beautiful, but definitely not in the spirit of nuns who used to run this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful place with a remarkable story”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Abbey, garden and grounds are beautiful. Don't expect to see much of the interior as it has been converted into a Benedictine Order but it is still a marvelous place to visit. It makes you long to see it as it was in the days when it was a fantastic home. Kylemore is a building marvel and has a lovely but sad history behind it. Wow!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank McScot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing