We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Could Spend An Entire Day Here”

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.91*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“You Could Spend An Entire Day Here”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is truly amazing. As you enter the parking area, your eyes go straight to a large Gothic style building on the other side of the water. Especially on a sunny day, the views are nothing less than spectacular. The walking trails of the grounds, the history of the main house and the girls school is really quite interesting. The gardens are kept immaculately. Beyond the main house is a small Gothic style church which you can enter. Further on you can walk to the mausoleum to see where many of the sisters and teachers at the school are interred. One recommendation is to allow yourself at least half of a day or perhaps longer. There is a restaurant on the premises that offers a wide selection. Don't miss the Kylemore Abbey if you find yourself in this part of Ireland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evans81051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    637
    219
    75
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dont go in winter”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i have heard great things about kylemore abby - we went on a tour of connemara in winter ( haha yes i know bad time to see things in ireland) it was foggy, cold, rainy. you have to pay to go into the abby ( fairenough if we had more time with the day tour) but for free you can see the abby and the surroundings, we even went to the cafe for a hot meal. i bet it would be amazing to see in summer. would go back to see it in summer actually. this kiwi misses ireland already!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convoy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply beautiful.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent several hours at Kylemore Abbey today and had a lovely time. It was so nice to be able to take our dogs with us. We enjoyed the woodland walk to the beautiful walled garden and had the best coffee cake ever in the tea room there. The church is stunning and the story of Margaret and Mitchell is so romantic. We will definitely visit again and hopefully have time for a mountain hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, abbey, church and walled gardens. The restaurant and tea rooms are also really good. All in all not to be missed if you are in the Connemara area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“OMG AMAZING”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When you come across the bridge and see the breath taking Abbey you are mesmerized. The Abbey, Mausoleum, gardens and nature walks are beautiful. Give yourself a LOT of time. Some of the nature walks can take up to 2 hours or more. From the Abbey to the gardens in a 20 minute walk or you can take a shuttle and then you need time to see the gardens. This is a MUST do, if you are in the area. I found it calming and beautiful. If the Abbey was a hotel...I would stay there. Also, there is something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing