We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.79*
and up
Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kylemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in a dramatic landscape, Kylemore is an ideal destination for a day out. From it’s beginnings as a romantic gift in the 1860s to becoming home to the Benedictine Nuns in 1920, Kylemore is steeped in history and tales of tragedy, romance, engineering initiatives, model farms, royal visits, spirituality and education. Experience the Victorian atmosphere of the restored rooms of the abbey and gothic church. Explore the magical Victorian Walled Garden, nature trails and woodland walks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, abbey, church and walled gardens. The restaurant and tea rooms are also really good. All in all not to be missed if you are in the Connemara area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,341
    659
    227
    79
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“OMG AMAZING”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When you come across the bridge and see the breath taking Abbey you are mesmerized. The Abbey, Mausoleum, gardens and nature walks are beautiful. Give yourself a LOT of time. Some of the nature walks can take up to 2 hours or more. From the Abbey to the gardens in a 20 minute walk or you can take a shuttle and then you need time to see the gardens. This is a MUST do, if you are in the area. I found it calming and beautiful. If the Abbey was a hotel...I would stay there. Also, there is something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I read about the abbey in a tour guide book. The abbey lived up to the description and our expectations. The setting was spectacular, the abbey is well loved, the gothic church was beautifully restored and the gardens are lovely. We enjoyed our guided tour and all of the information about the history of the abbey but were somewhat disappointed in how little of the abbey we could actually see. It is definitely worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathless”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Kylemore Abbey was probably THE most amazing place we visited on this trip. Between the Abbey and the church, I'm not sure which was more impressive. The attention to detail in the church with the marble from various regions of Ireland, to the Abbey and how beautifully designed it was- it was truly a masterpiece. My only complaint was that it would have been nice if we could have seen more of the interior of the Abbey. I do understand however, that the Abbey is still a residence of some, so that would explain while we were unable to experience more, if that was the case!

Not to be rivaled by the man-made, the setting was absoluetly phenomenal. Nestled between the trees and mountains, the Henry's couldn't have selected a more perfect location for their home! The grounds were stunning! We are planning a trip back to possibly to the mountain hike behind the Abbey up to the statue in the hills.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeAnIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“now we know”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

this was our sixth trip to ireland and we must have passed the abbey at least once on perhaps five of the trips. finally we made the time to stop and the visit didn't disappoint. what a grand old lady with a history that continues to be written. the grounds are lovely, the history intriguing, and the story of the original owners a bit tragic. from visionary to pauper, it causes one to wonder why so often good guys don't finish better. even though we made time for the stop, we only had about 1.5 hours, which was enough to enjoy everything at a relaxed pace -- except the gardens! because the gardens are a bit of a hike or a shuttle bus away, i recommend 2.5 hours if you want to see the gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmacSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing