We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden Hotel”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden Hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I have just returned from the Garden Hotel in Pastida and can honestly say that it was really good. We were on a room only basis, but we had a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities at no extra charge. The room was typical greek, basic but clean. The towels were changed every day and the sheets twice in a week. The bin in the bathroom was also emptied every day. The pool is fabulous and the area around it also great. The gardens are lovely and the grapes on the vines were delicious. I can find nothing bad to say about this hotel, everything was very clean and everyone was very friendly. The walk into the village was about 5 minutes and the road was well lit. There was one little problem and that was the chickens. There is an area with chickens in amongst the orange trees and the cockerels start to crow at an early hour of the morning, although some people did not hear them. Maybe I'm a light sleeper. Don't let this put you off, the plus points far outweigh this little hitch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hullgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    91
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
90
267
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

for the last five years we have taken our holidays in Pefkos,usually self catering.but fortunately,thanks to a family on the same return flight in 2009 who recomended us to the Garden hotel IT IS AN OASIS.IN PARADISE.We booked half board .I am a big eater but never left the table hungry,the food was very tasty.JENNY and EVGENIOS are excellent hosts ,nothing is to much trouble for them.in the two weeks we stayed at the hotel the enterainment was OK,a kareoke both weeks by a young english guy who was a decent singer and fortunately there were some good singers who were on holiday who made the night s very enjoyable. there was also a young greek dance troupe who worked very hard to entertain the holidaymakers. They were very good. I agree with one of the other reviews. 2.2 euros into Rhodes town centre on the bus is hardly expensive and this is door to door right at the heart of the old town.You can also take a pleasant walk into the village of Pastida(15 mins) and socialise with all the local people.I would most definately recommend anyone to take a RELAXING break at the Garden Hotel, if you are disappointed I understand that there are plenty of vacancies in Benidorm. We just can't wait to go back.
Ken&Myra Hartley Sheffield

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldowl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

recently came back from another stay at this lovely hotel...its been 4yrs since our last trip and it is still nice a welcoming with all the staff very friendly..some people have moaned but just believe everyone else...both me and my partner spent the week just relaxing and reading by the pool..still very hot and late sept meant no kids, which was nice, but its a great place to take children with the pools and friendly people...nearly all the visitors are friendly too which makes the whole thing great...yes they do bingo but hey its just a bit of fun and if youre so miserable you dont have to join in there are no pressures...so for a relaxing, safe, friendly holiday with nice basic food this is for you

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobby1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My friend and I (both in our mid to late 20s) decided on a week at the Garden Hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and because we wanted a week where we could relax somewhere that wasn’t a tacky tourist trap. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. Rooms are basic but clean, the large pool area has plenty of sunbeds and lovely surroundings, the breakfast is fine and the nearby village of Pastida is handy if you want some supplies in the supermarket or a meal out. True we were among some of the younger guests at the hotel but the atmosphere (both staff and guests) is so friendly and welcoming that it didn’t make a bit of difference – our nights spent in the hotel bar were significantly more fun than the evening we ventured into Faliraki!

Unlike the contributors below, we took advantage of the hotel’s excursions which were far cheaper than those offered by First Choice, and by using our own initiative and *gasp* the efficient and very cheap public transport we went to Faliraki and Rhodes Town a couple of times, and the resort of Ixia which is on the bus route from the hotel to Rhodes Town. If you are going on holiday to actually experience another country I would definitely recommend the Garden Hotel; if you’re looking for something that is ‘Brits abroad’ I’d suggest Faliraki, Benidorm or even Southend instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have nothing but praise for Evganios and Jenny and their staff. The room was excellent, cleaned every day with clean sheets and towels. TV is an added bonus - love the Greek newsreaders all shouting at each other in the mornings! We chose to self cater and cooking facilities were fine.A good supermarket is only 10 mins walk away for provisions. When we ate at the hotel, the food was fantastic - the stifado, kleftico and keftedes and gyros in particular are second to none. We notice that some people have complained about the food - if you want to eat traditional English food and watch English TV - why go to Greece?? We love the peace and quiet of the surroundings...evening entertainment is available if you want it and minibus fares to various locations seem very reasonable. We personally hire a car as we like to explore the island, so for us the hotel is ideally situated. If you don't want to use public transport or if you crave a hectic nightlife, go stay in Rhodes Town or Faliraki - don't book a small family hotel in a village and then moan! Simples! To sum up, we hope to return next year, as do most of the other guests we met. Thank goodness those complainers won't be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDaveNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

My family and I have been staying at the Garden Hotel for the past 10 years and hopefully will be doing so for the next 10 and have never had cause to complain about the staff, services or facilities. The staff are always extremely helpful and pleasant and nothing seems to be too much of an effort for them. I am therefore bemused to read the review slating the staff, food and in a sense, the village of Pastida because it is so far from Rhodes Town. All the staff at the hotel live in the village and know how important it is for them to be helpful because without the guests, they would be out of work.

If paying 4 euros for a "full English" breakfast is expensive, what would one in Brighton cost? A pint of local beer in the hotel is 2.50 euros the equivalent of about £2.20. The only places you can get a pint that cheap in Britain is in your local workingmens clubs!! I have on many occasions used the local bus service and the price from the hotel to Rhodes is just 2.20 euros. You wouldn't get very far on a bus in England for about £2.00!

If you think that the hotel is "raking" in the profits by charging these high prices, try talking to Thomson Travel and ask them how much they pay the hotel per night for bed and continental breakfast for each "guest" and then you will see who makes the profit.

Logic dictates that it would not be cost effective to use the hotel bus to take one or two people to Rhodes Town. 20 euros split between 2 people for a taxi to Rhodes is not exorbitant.

I have found over the years that the hotel is a place where I can go and "chill out" and forget about work and if I wanted some place lively, would go to Falaraki. The hotel does have 2 large televisions in the bar area that has all the Sky, BBC and ITV channels for those who want to watch sport, news or for that matter, Corrie and Eastenders. The hotel is a place where no one tells you what to do and it is therefore up to the individual(s) or family to organise their own day.

Once again thank you to Tzeni, Evgenios and all the staff at the Garden Hotel for making us welcome and providing Janet and I with another wonderful holiday.

Please tell the gardener that I've been to see my union buddy and about him sacking me!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SansHiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Garden Hotel is definitely based in an extremely scenic location near the small village of Pastida. But, the amenities at this hotel are extremely basic. Most of the residents are over 50 and some clearly have mobility problems which means that they may be reluctant to travel too far. The so-called continental breakfast is rationed to just a bread roll, with sachets of butter and jam, with a few grapes. You are given one small cup of coffee with a small glass of watery orange juice; no chance of refills in a hot climate unless you pay for it separately. Decided breakfast was not worth it & so bought food from the village. Room was small with a fan and a small TV with a few Greek-speaking channels. There was no shower curtain and so water splashed all over the floor around sink and toilet. This all seemed at odds with the this hotels mainly English-speaking mature residents, some of whom returned year after year. The bus to Rhodes Town ran every 2 - 3 hours and took a long scenic route and so trips out were few. Those young or old with a sense of adventure would be wise to give this hotel a wide berth.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socrates1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
631 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,561 reviews
5.0 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
721 reviews
4.9 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tholos
227 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing