We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and will be back....”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just come back from a lovely week away with my husband. Upon our arrival we were welcomed with a complimentary drink and shown to our room, which had a double bed and a full sized fridge. The furniture is basic, but totally adequate (please remember this is 2 star accomdation) the hotel grounds and room were so clean. Fresh towels and bed linen every couple of days and the room is cleaned everyday.

The shower is fantastic, this is more like a wet room but at a 40 degree heat the room is dry within minutes....I recommend the air conditioning (this is an extra charge but well worth it and this is standard in Greece).

The grounds are fantastic, the fresh fruit is gorgeous, which you will have as part of your breakfast if you have booked on a B&B basis. You have the option to pay for a full english breakfast at 6 euro if you wish.

Evening meels in the hotel are adequate, with a greek choice each night. We decided to eat out each evening. There is a lovely traditional Greek Restaurant about 100 yards from the hotel. This is well worth a visit. We ended up going every night. For the first couple of days we left it to them and had the Meze, then we chose our own combinations. The food was gorgeous, tradional Greek food at a really good price, approx 25 euro a night which included 1 litre bottle of wine. Don't go if you want English food as they do not really cater for you.

The hotel pool is gorgeous, plenty of sunbeds and places to lie in the sun or the shade.

We loved this place as it was so relaxing and welcoming. If you want nightlife this is not the place for you. We will be back next year and this time for two weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel itself is very pleasant, so much so, that many guests return year after year. However, this was our first visit and we felt like intruders given the sometimes 'clichy' atmosphere.

The positives - staff friendly and helpful; room cleaned and fresh towels provided daily; both pools great with plenty of shady areas for relaxing away from the poolside.

The negatives - we stayed in a ground floor room which overlooked the lemon/lime garden. This garden was also home to the chickens and cockerels which could be noisy, day or night! Food - very hit and miss with the evening meals being particularly poor; guests who booked directly with the hotel (private guests) were treated differently to guests who booked via a tour operator. In brief any extras such as upgrade from continental breakfast, air con, airport transfers and keeping your room beyond check out time was complimentary for the private guest but tour operator guests had to pay a fee. Without doubt this made us feel less welcome, less valued and less important.

It's wrong to treat guests so blatantly differently and it's for this reason we shall not be returning to the Garden Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 200Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is the first time that we have visited Rhodes and were lucky enough to have found this particular hotel. We were welcomed by the owner and given a complimentary drink before being shown to our room. The room was warm, with a double bed, a sofa, a writing table with a stool, a fridge, kettle and television. The bathroom is in fact a wet-room, with a shower tray but no curtain. That said, plenty of hot water, although it's so hot here you won't need it!

The grounds are beautiful, with a great swimming pool, and a kids pool. The slide and diving board certainly keep the younger guests busy. The grounds are tended daily by a gardener, with peach, apple, lime, pomegranate, fig and banana trees in abundance. Parts of the grounds are also covered by grape vines with grapes hanging freely. The owners don't seem to mind people helping themselves to the fruit and it is certainly a great feeling walking to a tree and picking a piece of fruit and eating it whilst fresh! There are plenty of sun loungers and chairs, along with shady areas if you need to stay out of the sun which can be a little overbearing during the afternoon.

There is a reasonable menu at the hotel, although breakfast alters depending on the holiday you have booked. We had a continental style breakfast every morning, but there were other options that could be purchased. We did have lunch on one occasion which was served quickly and was hot and fresh.

There is a supermarket on site, and another a short walk away. There are several restaurants locally with one around fifty metres from the hotel which is definitely worth a visit and please be brave and try the 'mezes' menu...you won't be disappointed!

There are a range of staff at the hotel, who are all incredibly helpful and friendly. They were not 'in your face' at all, but were there when needed and happy to chat.

All in all, a great hotel in a great place with great facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view...that's the best view in the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I booked a last minute half board deal at this 2T rated hotel for myself and my sister. The reviews looked good and trip advisor members were good enough to answer some questions for me. It was deffinately worth the money. Here are my top tips.
Transfers - it only costs 14 Euro for a taxi from the airport to the hotel, so don't book travel company transfer if it's dearer than that.
Hotel Trips - well organised and reasonably priced. Rhodes town deffinately worth visiting. We went in daytime to new bit and did old town on another evening trip also Lindos. They also offer many more including day trips to Turkey.
Rooms - if you like to go to sleep before midnight ask for a room away from the pool and bar as door between longe and pool are left open and karaoke night can be loud as can live music night. Learned that cockrels crow more than once in the morning (but after first time you got used to it). Beds are hard (but you get used to that too). Rooms have fans and air con if preffered can be hired.
Entertainment - live music one night, kareoke one night, rhodian dancers one night (brilliant), bingo (cash prizes) and quizzes (wine) 2 nights per week.
Cigarettes - for all you fellow smokers take some money and order your cigarettes at the hotel shop at the beginning of your holiday. Such good value for money it basically means you save what you paid for the holiday in a couple of months. Average 35 Euros for 200 cigarettes.
Food - great food at good prices. Had planned to eat out sometimes but never did value and quality was so good.
What can I say, had a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool and lounge could be noisy if evening entertainment was loud - low 20's seem furt...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boring-brocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Sixth time at the Garden hotel. We see this as a perfect holiday for a large group or couple. We got married here last year, taking a party of 26 of us, all of our guests were thoroughly impressed with the hotel, food and the friendlyness of the staff.
On our one year anniverary me and my wife returned to the Garden hotel for a week on our own. As ever, it has everything to offer for a great holiday. Sun, fantastic swimming pool, easy to get sun beds, great food and drink, excellent staff who will go out their way to help.
Just a 5 minute walk from the hotel is the lovely village of Pastida, which offers a range of traditional greek bars and shops for all your amenities.Although Pastida is a quiet village, you can easially get to Rhodes or Faliraki by bus or taxi. However, most people choose to stay in the hotel during the evening as there is entertainment 5 nights a week during peak season.

We advise you to ignore all bad complaints as they clearly do not know how to enjoy a holiday. People come back to this hotel year after year, so clearly this shows you how much this hotel is special and loved.
Just a hint of advise, we recommend you book flights only through a travel company and then your half board accomodation directly through the hotel, this is less than a 190euros per person per week, what more can you ask.

A great hotel, our seventh visit wont be far away.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hotel is perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 1 week in August. We booked it through a travel company, although in hindsight we should have booked directly through the hotel- they have their own website so very easy and just as cheap to do it this way, the hotel offer a complimentary shuttle bus to and from the airport- but only if you book directly through hotel, if not its 30euro extra, and guests who book direct also seem to get their aircon complimentary too.

we booked half board through our holiday company, when we got to our room we had an information sheet saying that full breakfast options were available for guests who again booked directly (including full english, greek youghurt with honey, cornflakes, or ham and cheese roll) but if you booked with holiday company you get toast, jam, orange juice (half fanta orange, half water) and cup of tea. when we went down for breakfast however we were given the full breakfast options, but perhaps that because it was peak season with so many guests they couldn't keep track who was who...maybe during non-peak times it's a different case- not sure.

the pool area was lovely and we spent most days there- it's handy theres a children's pool behind some bushes also so it makes the pool side a little quieter. Everbody was very nice and friendly, including Jenny and Eugene all the staff and the gardener!

You can take a short stroll to centre of the village (about 10 mins walk away) where theres a very nice tavern on the left- always looks a bit empty but dont let this put you off, the foods lovely! there's not much in the centre of the village, a few bars but no tourists seem to go to them, very traditional greek. a larger convinience shop is also in the village- handy to pick up fruit. Most guests stay within the hotel grounds at night and the hotel put on a bingo/quiz night, a karoke night and a greek dancing night.

In the evenings we were a little disappointed by the food- luckily for us we don't have a very large appitite but i'm sure alot of people come away still hungry after their main dinner. On the menu there is a greek starter, with salad, a choice of 2 main dinners (one usually traditional greek) and then something simple for afters. The portion size is small- one day my friend ordered omelette for her main meal, and it was literally a plain omelette made with one egg, and not very substantial at all.

all in all it was a nice holiday, if you just want to relax- worth going to rhodes town one day for a change, on the organised hotel bus (think it was 7euro each)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay_p_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was our fifth time to the garden Hotel and our holiday was fabulous. On arrival you are warmly welcomed and we soon met people whom we have met before on previous holidays here. The room was basic but cleaned every day and we had air conditioning - at an extra charge - and it was worth it. We were on half board and the food was plentiful, freshly prepared and served by very pleasant and courteous staff. The staff overall are fabulous and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. There is regular entertainment with karaoke, quizzes, bingo and a Greek Night which helps the good atmosphere and introduced us to other people who were all of the same opinion as us about the hotel. We had a relaxing two week holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish and we will undoubtedly be back again. This hotel is a credit to Eugine, Jenny and their family who run it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pastida
34.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
4.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,818 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#7 of 126 in Rhodes Town
675 reviews
5.0 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: 1 Pastida Maritsa Rd, Pastida 851 06, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pastida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pastida
Price Range: $50 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GARDEN HOTEL is a family run business which offers a warm and clean environment at low prices. It is ideal for people looking for a peaceful and quiet family atmosphere and good service. It is situated in the Filerimos Valley of Rhodes Island close to the airport.The busy centres of Rhodes and Faliraki are only fifteen minutes away but the Garden Pastida Hotel provides an oasis of calm away fromthe hustle and bustle of those towns . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Pastida
Garden Hotel Rhodes/Pastida, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing