We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not do better anywhere!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BASTIDE 1353

Monpazier Square by Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monpazier Square by Night
Bastide 1353 frontage Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Monpazier Square by Night
Bastide 1353 frontage
Main Lounge
Dining Room
Downstairs Fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen to Courtyard
Scullery
Front Entrance
Front Entrance/Stairs
Original Stone Sink under Stairs
Upstairs Lounge
BEYNAC Room
BEYNAC Room Ensuite
DOMME Room
DOMME Room Ensuite
MONPAZIER Room
MONPAZIER Room Ensuite
SARLAT Room
SARLAT Room Ensuite
Courtyard
Monpazier Square
Bastide 1353 to the square at night
At GallerieM Restaurant (50 metres from front door)
Bastide 1353 Epicere very old photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Monpazier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Reynard1
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Could not do better anywhere!”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have travelled a lot and stayed in many different self catering accommodation homes. Bastide 1353 would be up there with the best, or would be the best. We travelled as a group of five, two couples and a single. This home was perfect. There was ample room for all. The four bedrooms meant everyone had their own space, their own bathroom, and we had a bedroom to spare! The home is so well set up it is as if the owners have just popped output for a while. Many others have talked of the location. It is perfect. We travelled in France for three weeks staying around a week in three different areas. Monpazier is ideally situated for exploring the Dordogne/Perigord area. There is so much to see and day trips are ideal. Parking outside was never an issue. I could not recommend this place more strongly. The owners communication throughout was excellent. You may find something a little cheaper but this home is well worth the rate charged. We loved coming back to it after each day exploring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Hi Ian, Robyn and friends.
Thank you for such a lovely review of Bastide 1353 and Monpazier. We're delighted that you've enjoyed it as much as we do!!
We look forward to welcoming you back at any time.
Kind regards,
Tracy & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Hi Pete & Jill,
Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Bastide 1353, Monpazier and surrounds. We welcome your return!
Kind regards,
Tracy & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jocelyn H
1 review
“The PERFECT place for a mid-winter holiday in France”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We knew from the reviews that our stay at Bastide 1353 was going to be special, but it exceeded our expectations in every way possible. Where to begin?! The house itself is an absolute gem – it has all the character and quirks you’d expect of a 700 year old house, seamlessly and unobtrusively blended with every twenty-first century convenience you could possibly want. The furniture and furnishings are enchanting and luxurious; the kitchen is a chef’s dream; the 4 bathrooms are immaculate, with excellent water pressure in the showers (one of my absolute non-negotiables!). I felt truly pampered with all the thoughtful touches and attention to detail in every corner of the house.
Monpazier itself. Well, it’s easy to see how it earned its placing as one the 100 most beautiful French villages. It’s a total charmer! I loved being able to nip across the street before breakfast each day for fresh bread, and then down to a different boulangerie for pastries later in the day. We enjoyed wandering round the narrow streets noticing different little architectural gems and details on each of our wanders. I also enjoyed popping in and out of the various little shops around the market square while Mike ‘market tested’ yet another red wine at the outdoor tables in the square. The shop and restaurant owners were all very accommodating of our beginner French and our non-French ways!
We also found lots to do nearby Monpazier. Things we recommend: have a lovely, very reasonably priced meal at L’Abbey Restaurant in Cadouin (and visit the abbey); go to Domme to see Charles Durret who makes the most stunning jewellery; have a vin chaud at the Christmas market in Sarlat; an evening meal at Leo’s Table in St Avit Sanur is a must; and La Roque Gageac is another must-see village. We sometimes had a relaxed morning in Monpazier, then a trip to explore castles and curiosities in nearby villages, and then back to Monpazier for a restaurant meal or supper at Bastide1353. Being able to have the wood-burning fireplace going was a nice treat when we stayed in, although the house was toasty warm without it.
We LOVED our stay at Bastide 1353 (over the Christmas - New Year period). It’s such a special place – beautiful, spacious, comfortable, AND location, location, location! We can’t wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Thanks for a great review and we look forward to your staying at Bastide 1353 again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
1 review
“Luxury Home in Stunning Village Location - An experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is our third visit to Bastide 1353 in the last three years. We love it!!! The house is so welcoming - comfortable luxury, modern amenities yet full of old world character. Four ensuite bedrooms, plush living areas, well equipped kitchen, even an outdoor courtyard for eating outdoors in the summer. It is perfect for 'us oldies' (78 & 82 years young), only 60 steps from the square, where there is shopping to die for (3 Patisseries, 2 Butcheries, 2 Super Markets, Boutiques, Hat Maker, Clock Maker, 2 Glass Blowers, Chemist, Toy Maker, Craft Shops, Brocantes and Galleries), lots of Restaurants and of course - the traditional French Tabac.
We love sitting outside at 'Gallerie M' in the square, with our coffee or wine and watching the world go by, just a minutes walk from 'Bastide 1353'.
Monpazier is a very beautiful Bastide Village - rightfully designated 'one of the most beautiful in France' and just a short drive to lots of other interesting villages. The weekly market in Monpazier is great and all the surrounding villages have weekly markets, all set on different days, too. Makes for great adventures to pick up your local produce on a daily basis..... The best of French living.
Thank you Tracy & John for allowing us to share your beautiful home. It's very special and we highly recommend it for young and old!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaroo, Australia
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Great ot hear you enjoyed Bastide 1353, Monpazier and the surrounds as much as we do!

There will be a Webber BBQ there for you to enjoy on your return with your friends and family.

Kind regards,

Tracy and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ken K
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury & Homely Accommodation with Class”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bastide 1353 Monpazier was our holiday home base for 3 weeks during August and September.
This very well appointed 2 storied home with modern appliances, top end luxury furniture & chattels along with high quality bed linen has been tastefully done to blend in and enhance the romantic experience of living in a 650 year old building made just out of stone and timber beams.
After the first day of venturing out into the beautiful historic walled country village and exploring the market square ringed by large medieval stone archways with people enjoying a coffee and croissant sitting under large sun umbrellas and going down many cobble stoned alleyways, browsing in local specialty shops, meeting the local French residents, we returned home to our flash accommodation with our booty. Locally produced and cooked duck, fresh breads, cheeses, fruit and of course the wine!. We settled into the candle lit courtyard. We ate and drank and talked until the early hours in 26 degrees under a clear starry night. We felt as though we had won first prize in a lottery.
Every day we walked or drove the car out into the surrounding countryside , visiting small towns with market places selling local produce, antiques and crafts. There were castles, vineyards, historic sites and many small country lanes where you would see wild deer standing on the edge of a clearing next to a forest nibbling on green shoots. Farmers fields full of sunflowers, maize, fruit trees and walnut groves. At the end of the day we would return back to base to the courtyard to eat and drink and talk about what we had seen and experienced.
There are many restaurants with terrific menus offering the local specialties of the region.
The countryside around Monpazier and the Dordogne region is very pretty and magical and no wonder the French Government has given Monpazier the highest heritage rating thus preserving this idyllic Bastide for all to enjoy for generations to come.
We cannot praise this accommodation and surrounding countryside high enough. We love the food, the wine and the local people and a place that can deliver a "sense of occasion"
The best holiday we have ever had and we will be back.

Ken & Heather Kernohan
Upper Moutere,
New Zealand

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So handy to the village square and all the amenities.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbitto
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

we stayed here for a 1 week, these property has everything you need for a vacation. The location is excellent , walk distance to the shops and tourist places. In general very comfortable, clean with a dream kitchen. Quiet relaxing atmosphere. We really enjoyed it and will recommended highly to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing