We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, relaxing rooms, charming bastide town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, relaxing rooms, charming bastide town”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel in Monpazier was very nice and a good value too. I didn't find the restaurant to be as delicious as other places in the region, but very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel Edward 1er. The best day of the week to be in Monpazier is Thursday as the town market is on Thursday morning. Otherwise, Monpazier itself you can see in a few hours so you will probably be driving to other destinations. I saw a couple of very nice castles (Biron, Bonaguil).

Room Tip: If you take a room with a view from the back, you can watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
209
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just can't stay away... Whenever we visit the south of France we make sure we have a couple of days here. Since our last stay there has been a major extension, making a large breakfast room/restaurant. All the staff are friendly but professional, nothing is too much to ask. Hopefully we will be back again next summer!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra go for one of the whites, we have stayed in room 2. Luxury, best appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent only one night at this wonderful hotel room 17 . On check in we were greeted by the owner who not only assisted us with check in but also carried our suitcases to our room. The room was beautifully appointed a modern bathroom with all required amenities. We had pre dinner drinks in the bar and then went to the second of their restaurants bistro 2, a casual restaurant the food was good as was the service.
We had breakfast at their restaurant and found it very good fresh fruits, breads ,croissants ,home made conserves and eggs cooked to your request plus freshly squeezed orange juice
The staff were all professional friendly with nothing being to much trouble
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isamu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel. They are much appreciated and a big motivation for us. Merci beaucoup & au revoir? Arjan & Marije Capelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I spent just one night at the hotel.
The hotel is very well presented, the rooms are comfortable and very clean.
The breakfast is basic even for a Continental breakfast...average cheese selection and average cold meat selection.
Overall a reasonable value for money hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on our hotel. They are much appreciated. As for the breakfast: We currently have around 20 different items on our breakfast tables and buffets, much of it homemade. But your comments are helpfull as our breakfast offer has our continuous attention, as we cater for many different nationalities and cultures and we like to keep the price as reasonable as possible without too much waste at the end of the day. Merci beaucoup et au revoir? Arjan & Marije Capelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel / Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

.. the shower would be on the same level as the rest of the hotel.

But let us begin with the positive things: lovely Hotel ,classic French style, very good restaurant, quiet location and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay with our dog very much. Nevertheless, in room no. 4 there was the most unpractical shower I ever saw in France. This leads, unfortunately, to a deduction of one star. :-)

But I love this hotel and will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAETZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel. We were however very sad to "loose" a star on your rating for our shower..... :) Especially as you reserved a room with bath. It's true that the hand held shower in the bath has an "ingeneous" system and we will make sure to explain this better to other guests. And our 5 brand new rooms are now all equipped with walk-in showers! Merci beaucoup & au revoir? Arjan & Marije Capelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Edward 1er from 14th to 17th August this year. The staff were fantastic - friendly and solicitous, the food excellent and Monpazier itself is beautiful. It was by far the best hotel out of the four we stayed at; and although it was only three stars it far outperformed the two five star hotels we stayed at. It really made our holiday this year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a middle aged couple looking for a clean, peaceful, relaxing, unpretentious classy small hotel in the Dordogne we found it in the Edward 1ere. hotel in Monpazier,

The rooms were very clean and well equipped and comfortable bed. Great view on to the countryside. The hosts very friendly, helpful and discrete.

The hotel atmosphere is such that you can be anonymous and need not mix with other guests if you don't want to which means you can get away from the crowds and hustle and bustle of a busy professional life and relax.

We felt that Breakfast could be bettered by offering local produce (cheeses, fruits, yogurts, etc.) and a little daily variation would be nice. Similarly such a classy hotel could have a Nespresso or similar machine in every room to enable the weary traveller to make a coffee when needed or at least a machine in the common lounge area.

We will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiratesofStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
397 reviews
15.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
223 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
525 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower. In the suites you can relax in a Jacuzzi and/or Turkish bath. To make your stay as comfortable as possible all rooms have a mini-bar, access to WiIFI internet and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing