We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a hotel in one of the "most beautiful villages in France"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Monpazier itself, a perfectly preserved medieval bastide town, is well worth a visit itself, but our stay at this lovely refurbished chateau just outside the city walls was the jewel in the crown. The hosts could not have been more welcoming, warm and friendly (even coming to our aid when we mistakenly parked in front of an elderly gentleman's house and he glared at us until we moved!). New rooms and a dining room have just even added and everything was perfect. Our room overlooked the valley and was large, modern and comfortable. We opted for "half board", which consisted of a delicious 3 course dinner(and you can switch choices on the set menu if you wish) and breakfast the next morning, equally delicious. We were traveling with three other couples and our assessment was unanimous---a real "find" and a simply perfect stay. It was our last night in France (as we did not count the actual last night at an airport hotel) and our warm and gracious hosts made it a very special "au bientot". Thank you!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 330 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a welcome home away from home. Our hosts, the Capelles, could not have been more gracious. We were travelling with three other couples, and we all agree that this hotel is a jewel. It was very clean and pretty -- light and bright. We all purchased the half-board (3-course dinner and breakfast) and were pleased with everything -- food, service and ambiance. I am trying to find a recipe for joues de boeuf (beef cheeks!) which we were served at Hotel Edward 1er. Really good comfort food that was! Parking was easy. Our party of eight fit nicely into the cozy bar for an afternoon drink, served by a lovely young lady.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is situated within the walls of the Medieval Village of Monpazier. It is therefore within a few minutes walk of all the village has to offer by day and night, and is a great base to explore the other medieval bastides and villages nearby, and the Dordogne valley.

The exterior of the hotel is a beautiful chateau, but inside it has been recently refurbished to a high standard, and is modern, clean and very comfortable. The views from our room were over rolling countryside to the back of the hotel. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.

There were a few downsides which need mentioning. Entry to the bedrooms requires walking through the small bar area. When there are people seated in the bar, marching through with bags and cases is not particularly comfortable for bedroom-bound guest or bar customer. Also, the room was a little noisy at times. All comings and goings from the next room could be heard, and occasionally were disturbing. Finally, the wifi disconnects after about 30 seconds requiring constant log-ins.

However, the few downsides did not distract from a very enjoyable stay in a wonderful building and an incredible location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When our children were younger we camped not far away and got to know and love Monpazier as a base for warm summer family holidays. We always thought Hotel Edward 1er looked splendid, and thought that one day we would return (without children!) for a stay. My wife's retirement seemed a good excuse; and we were not disappointed by our stay. We took advantage of 3 nights for the price of 2 (before April 30th) and stayed in the Edward 1er suite and opted for half-board. Unlike former times (trailing a folding camper and 2-4 children & friends!) a flight from Southampton to Bergerac took 1 1/2 hours and a hired car got us there in another 45 minutes. Amazingly easy and stress free with Flybe. A low key natural welcome from Dutch multi-lingual Arjan & Marije and we immediately felt at ease. The ensuing experience of 'room & board' did not disappoint. The Hotel is an old building (reflecting this lovely Bastide town); but it has been decorated very cleverly to retain and combine the charm and style of age with the cleanliness and convenience we all expect for the price we pay. The suite was charming (with all the facilities we could need...with the possible exception of a kettle!) and we slept well...with a plentiful supply of extra pillows available (if needed).

Quite apart from the comfort of the Hotel, the general standard of food is very high...without being pretentious. My wife and I noted (on the plane home) that we had not encounter a potato over the previous 3 days...seemingly a staple of the UK diet (in one form or another) nowadays! We did not feel we had been deprived of calories (!) nor sated. We had some wonderfully cooked meat, fish and vegetables beautifully prepared and presented...not to mention served by a very personable waite when Arjan and Marije were substituted!

All in all, we were not disappointed...and we will seriously consider a reprise (especially as they offer a 10% to returnees). All we can both say is 'thank you' to Arjan and Marije for not disappointing us...as I hurriedly finish this review as (now grown up daughter!) presents me with a homecoming supper! (No potatoes!)

Room Tip: Edward 1er Suite is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clifftopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013
Google Translation

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Happy, satisfied guests is our "raison d'être". Merci et à bientôt!
Arjan & Marije Capelle - Propriétaires Hôtel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

You must visit this hotel if you are in this area. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and will chat to you as if you are the only person that they have to deal with despite being such busy people. Their children are so charming and multi-lingual and they have a lovely labrador dog. The rooms are wonderful and the restaurant is exceptional and the sister restaurant Biistro 2 has a different class of food but is also wonderful. You will be given so much advice on where to visit in the area and also about other places to eat or avoid. We were house hunting at the time of our last visit and Marige gave us so much help and advice. Our little dog was also made very welcome.. You must also talk to Marige about her grandfather who was a very talented painter and she will show you a book of his work. You will also find this little Bastide town very interesting and full of history and with lots of interesting shops and galleries.

Room Tip: Just go there if you are in the locality, its a great place and a good find..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 44poppy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week during October 2012 whilst searching for property in France. The owners were really friendly and took an interest in us and all their other guests. The food was delicious and we would come back anytime!

Breakfast was served either in the room, the dining room or outside if the weather is nice at no extra cost. The breakfast in the room came at exactly the time we ordered it.

Room Tip: We chose the comfort room on the second floor which was comfortable but not very large with eaves en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hôtel Edward 1er is well-situated two-blocks from the main square and on the edge of a picturesque and tranquil small fortified medieval town/village which has things going on during summer to entertain the visitor (antiques market the weekend we were there). An hour or two is all you need to visit the town, but there's also plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. And if you're tired of sight-seeing, the hotel has a pool for lazy hot summer afternoons.

The hotel itself is small and cozy with a friendly proprietor. Whilst the rooms in the front are bigger, those at the back enjoy a view over the valley. The room we had, although a "prestige" room, could do with some sprucing up: dirty carpet, stained bed headboards and discoloured wallpaper. These issues were not unbearable, but the room would be so much nicer if they were seen to.The bathroom was small but clean, nicely appointed and had hot water in abundance.

The hotel's Eleonore restaurant aspires to fine dining. You can choose a 3, 4 or 5 course meal, and for each course there is a choice between 2 dishes. The wine menu had plenty of selection and the prices were reasonable. Depending on the weather, you're offered the choice of dining inside or out, next to the pool or on the front terrace.

I would happily recommend this hotel to others (be warned though that it is closed during the winter, as are many of the other hotels in this very touristy region of France).

Room Tip: The larger rooms are situated in the front of the hotel, facing towards the town, and the back has s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
272 reviews
21.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
582 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
17.6 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
285 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er

Address: 5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540, Monpazier, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monpazier
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou hotel in the Dordogne Sophistication, style and harmony are the hallmarks of Hotel Restaurant Edward 1er. The rooms offer a beautiful views over the Périgord hills, while others features splendid views of the medieval village of Monpazier, Dordogne. All the rooms are provided with en suite bathroom with bath and/or shower and are equipped with free WIFI, a little fridge, flatscreen television, safety box, telephone and hairdryer. Free bottled water, espresso and tea facilities can be found in each room for your convenience. Restaurant Eléonore is our small intimate, gourmet restaurant within the hotel. With a capacity of only 28 covers, the intimate atmosphere is guaranteed in this restaurant. Enjoy the tastes and flavors of the Périgord, in our beautifully created and presented dishes. Restaurant Eléonore is open as of 19.30 for dinner, only on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er Hotel Monpazier
Hotel Edward 1er

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing