We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very idyllic place in the Chateau Garden”

Restaurant Eleonore
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Monpazier
Price range: $35 - $59
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the tastes and flavours of the Périgord, of our beautifully created and presented dishes in our intimate, gourmet restaurant. With a capacity of only 28 guests, the intimate atmosphere is guaranteed. Tasty gourmet dinners in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. That is – in short – the mission of restaurant Eléonore. Restaurant Eléonore is situated in one of the salons of hotel Edward 1er, on the remparts of Monpazier, a lovely bastide-town, in the south of the Dordogne area. Restaurant Eléonore is open for dinner from the 29th of March until the 11th of November. Besides, we serve a bistronomic lunch on Thursdays (market day in Monpazier). To avoid disappointments, please do not forget to book your table in advance. Our small, international team and we are pleased to welcome you soon in Restaurant Eléonore. We hope to welcome you soon,
Reviewed June 18, 2014

great food simple card but excellent.
happy friendly service. many nationalities, all were very elegantly served and dealt with:)

1  Thank JAR1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Restaurant Eleonore, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we don't want to have a very long menu, (although on average there are close to 20 different dishes on it) as we work only with fresh products. We hope to see you back in the future. Very best regards, Arjan, Marije, chef Gwenaël & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Situated in a very romantic setting of an 18th century château. This is the quintessential french setting.... the service exceptional (good english too!) the menu devine even offering me a gluten free option (som gluten - free of gluten) the food was exceptional the best we have had in France so far. We highly recommend this fine establisment. I am not usually one to go for the entails however I can highly recomemd the Sweet breds, if it wasn't rude I would have licked my plate. This is a must if you are in monpazier make sure you book so you are not disappointed. We have already booked for our final night in monpazier and can not wait to return.

1  Thank karenbotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Restaurant Eleonore, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for you very kind and highly motivating words on our restaurant. And thank you for coming back to dine with us within the same week! Although it might be a bit more chalenging to organise from the other side of the world: we love to welcome you back sometime in the future. Very best regards, Arjan, Marije, chef Gwenaël & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were staying at the attached Hotel Edward 1er and loved this stylish and friendly restaurant. The food is of the region of course, but with a lighter, modern style and beautiful presentation. The wine list is thoughtful, and the owner very happy to advise and recommend - we had a delicious local white which seemed to disappear very fast ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CatherineT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Restaurant Eleonore, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your nice review on our restaurant AND on our wines! Looking forward receiving you again in the future. Best regards, Arjan, Marije, chef Gwenaël and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great little restaurant in the village of Monpazier - great service and food - that felt like a family dining room - loved it and a great partner for the Hotel Edward 1er.

Thank 8thkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Restaurant Eleonore, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your nice description on your experience in our restaurant. Really appreciated! We love to welcome you back some time to provide you with the 5th star as well. Very best regards, Arjan, Marije, Chef Gwenaël & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here. The chef is a master. Beautifully presented food and delicious. The menu / carte is flexible and offers a few different things from the other restaurants in the area. The dining room is lovely and relaxing and elegant. The service is understated and thoughtful. The owners of this restaurant have got it right! What is more for non-French travellers they have a good grasp of other languages especially English. Our only problem is that I can't get there easily from New Zealand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACE24, Propriétaire at Restaurant Eleonore, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We have jusdt spoken to the Gwen, our chef and we are all willing to come to New Zealand to cook for you...... :) On a more serious note: thank you very much for your highly motivating review. Arjan, Marije, chef Gwen and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Eleonore also viewed

 
Nojals-et-Clotte, Dordogne
Monpazier, Dordogne
 
Monpazier, Dordogne
Marsales, Dordogne
 

Been to Restaurant Eleonore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing