We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Edell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Edell
Ranked #1 of 6 Monpazier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent a short break in Montpazier and had a great time made all the more enjoyable by staying at Chez Edell. The owners were very friendly and offered lots of help & local knowledge. Our room was spacious well appointed and clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TudorHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Chez Edell was one of the best values in our 16 nights in France. John and Edell are fantastic hosts and provide a wealth of knowledge about the town and local attractions. Their breakfast was a favorite of ours. The building has a lot of character. Our room was on the small side but was nicely appointed. The front door is just steps from the town square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

An absolutely delightful place to stay. The house is charming and the town very pretty. Our room was very well furnished, beautiful bed-linen. We always like staying where there is a communal table and we ate a really good breakfast while exchanging travelers' tales . John and Edell run a really special operation. Park outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A delightful renovated 654 year old house within the walls of the Bastide. Generally easy on street parking. Wonderful hosts with excellent breakfast included in the room fee. Edell and John will direct you to regional sites. Room very comfortable (stayed in room #3) and clean with a great shower in the ensuite bathroom. Perfect site for exploration of the region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After picking up our rental car at Bordeaux Airport late in the afternoon we had a nightmarish ride to Monpazier sans GPS. We arrived in the evening, shell shocked and demoralized. John and Edell took us in hand and lent us their Tom Tom for the next two days of our three night stay. That allowed us to travel with some confidence for the rest of our trip. And John gave us a very well drawn map for our next stop.
Aside from the amazing generosity of our hosts in all respects, our stay at Chez Edell was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast includes wonderful breads, giant croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereal, french coffee and on request John makes terrific cheese omelets. John and Edell are very helpful with sight seeing, restaurant dining and just a joy to talk to. They have a nice dog too!
Monpazier is a nice bastide town with a Wednesday Market and some good shops and restaurants; try the seafood paella in the market if it's available; also a local cheese Trappe Echournac is terrific and available at the local Spar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas. Edell and John were great hosts, helping with french translation over a superb breakfast. Very clean and comfortable room with a lovely atmosphere. We stayed for 5 nights but would have liked much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'm not usually given to writing reviews but the time we spent at Chez Edell demands an exception. We originally booked for 2 nights but asked if we could extend our stay - we were delighted when John & Edell said 'Yes'!
The friendly atmosphere and ambience together with great food and comfortable accommodation provide a great base for exploring the local area.
Monpazier is a very pleasant traditional Bastide town with several good restaurants around the square and many interesting shops. Although situated to the edge of the Dordogne region, all major attractions are within easy driving distance and indeed the journeys themselves provide opportunity to see more of the lovely countryside.
We were made most welcome by John & Edell and enjoyed their company. Nothing was too much bother and we were made to feel right at home - even buying produce at the local market and picnicing in the lovely courtyard. Thouroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monpazier
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
0.1 mi away
Les Hortensias
Les Hortensias
#2 of 6 in Monpazier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Ariade
L'Ariade
#1 of 1 in Gaugeac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Castelwood
Castelwood
#1 of 1 in Biron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Grand Cedre
Le Grand Cedre
#3 of 3 in Monpazier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Edell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Edell

Property: Chez Edell
Address: 2 rue Notre Dame, 24540, Monpazier, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Monpazier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monpazier, situated in the beautiful Dordogne region in the South of France, is often called the "jewel" of the Bastide villages.Chez Edell, located in the centre of Monpazier, is a wonderful base for exploring this beautiful part of France. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is offered in a 650 year old house that has been tastefully restored to provide en-suite bedrooms while retaining all the charm of long ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Edell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing