We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful house, perfect location”
Review of Domaine des Faures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monpazier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine des Faures
Ranked #6 of 8 Monpazier B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We had four peaceful nights as B&B guests, and can't speak more highly of this beautiful house. So much care and attention to detail has gone into the restoration of this lovely property. The owners have managed to retain the rustic charm of the original farmhouse and add elegant modern conveniences. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and everything is beautifully appointed. While we were there we struck a 'cold spell' but the pool looked fantastic for summer guests. Jacinta, our host, was welcoming and friendly, not to mention incredibly helpful with tips and advice as we explored the area. Monpazier is a gorgeous part of the Dordogne with several really good restaurants and a great Thursday market. If you feel fit enough this house is even close enough to walk into the village. If not, just enjoy the peace and quiet of their farm.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at the end of October and we're lucky enough to have some lovely sunny autumn weather. The house was a perfect place to relax and Ray and Jacinta couldn't have been anymore helpfully or friendly.
A great place to use as a base to explore the surrounding Chateau and Bastide towns. Horse riding at a small place near Villereal was both very enjoyable and a bargin.
Sarlat is definitely a gem and should be explored at night when the narrow streets and lights are magical.
The longer drive to Geoffre de Padriac is well worth it and the boat ride in the caves was as good as expected.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rossco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed at Domaine des Faures with my wife for a luxurious few days. Flights to Bergerac were good value and the house is only about 30 mins away from the airport. The setting is stunning. A recently refurbished manor house set amongst rolling countryside (and cows!) and well located for visiting the Bastide villages of Issigeac, Monpazier and Chateau Biron. We hired bikes and spent most days exploring cafes, vineyards and Chateaux before hurtling home to dive straight in the pool!

The owners, Ray & Jacinta were excellent hosts. On hand for advice and occasional Bar-B-Q'ing feasts but non intrusive so that you could really relax. They've only recently completed the luxurious refurbishment so the rooms were immaculate. L'Occitane toiletries were a welcome surprise too!

We didn't have the most perfect weather but probably for the best as it meant that we explored the area by bike and kayak (!) rather than vegetating by the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanLindfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We only came for a brief visit but wish we could have stayed much longer. Ray and Jacinta are great hosts who know the locale (Montpazier which is very close is delightful) and seem ready to help with ideas but let you do your own thing. The house has been renovated recently, looks like the photos on the website (not always true!) and is airy (big benefit on a hot day). Lovely walk through the woods to nearby Biron Chateau. About half an hour form Bergerac airport (only problem: watch out for the turning off the main road - sign not that easy to see).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Ray and Jacinta are wonderful hosts and make every effort to ensure you have the most comfortable and relaxing stay at their de luxe B&B. We were the first official paying guests and part of a group who took all the rooms for a party at a chateau nearby. We felt we had the best place, with a swimming pool, luxurious bedrooms and close to the picturesque town of Monpazier with stunning market place, shops and restaurants...
We shall be returning as soon as possible and letting our friends know of this hidden discovery! Don't look any further...you have found the Best Place!

Catherine & Stephen Parker

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenetianStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Souslecharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monpazier hotels
1.2 mi away
L'Ariade
L'Ariade
#1 of 1 in Gaugeac
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
0.9 mi away
Chez Edell
Chez Edell
#1 of 8 in Monpazier
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Les Hortensias
Les Hortensias
#2 of 8 in Monpazier
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Grand Cedre
Le Grand Cedre
#4 of 5 in Monpazier
16 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
La Courrege
#3 of 5 in Monpazier
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Faures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Faures

Address: Domaine des Faures | Gaugeac, 24540, Monpazier, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monpazier
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B near Monpazier, a beautiful Bastide village in the Dordogne region. Four very comfortable bedrooms all en-suite. This bed and breakfast accommodation has been awarded ****. Very peaceful surroundings offering a perfect haven. Swimming pool for use by guests. Run by very welcoming owners who will also organise wine/food tours, bike hire and garden tours. The manor can also be rented as a self-catering holiday home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing