We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restored farmhouse just 2kms from Bastide town, Monpazier”
Review of Domaine des Faures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monpazier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine des Faures
Ranked #6 of 8 Monpazier B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this beautiful and comfortable farmhouse in October, 2011. Since I did not have a pre-planned map of just where it was we made a call to the owner Ray from Chateau Biron ( which is only a 10 minutes drive away ) and he came and met us and we followed him in his car. ( thanks Ray! )
This house is set in complete privacy with all amenities. They are many rooms to unwind in ( 2 sitting rooms) a dining room ( with piano ) 4 beautifullly appointed bedrooms. We had the Dubois room and it was lovely. I was allowed to view all rooms though and all very worth a stay.
Ray and his wife were very welcoming. I kind of felt I was staying at my Aunt and Uncle's :o) Most likely would stay here again if we happen back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

We spent a week at Domaine Des Faures as a family of 5 with three children. Ray and Jacinta were incredibly gracious hosts. The house, garden and pool were perfect for us. We were able to relax after spending action packed days exploring the local area. The house is beautifully presented with everything you would need. The bedrooms are spacious with lovely views over the country side.The garden is wonderful for the kids to explore and Ray and Jacinta have stocked the house with great outdoor games for kids. Everyone enjoyed the pool. Overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneMolly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Ray and Jacinta looked after us a treat. The lovely house is located just a few miles from the centre of Monpazier down a little track off the main road. The crickets and tree-frogs made a beautiful evening and morning chorus. The house was wondeful as was the breakfast of croissants and coffee. We would definitely come back, beautiful surroundings, comfortable bed and good company.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I jus returned from Monpazier, and stayed again with Ray & Jacinta, as my last visit was so pleasant. Everything is still just as good, except it's now winter and the log fire was roaring. Incredibly gracious, thoughtful hosts create a lovely easy atmosphere in their home. Although most of rural France hibernates for the winter, I found the area to be really beautiful, the scenery is gorgeous at this time. Nearby Villereal market was still buzzing on Saturday morning (can't go past Monsieur Blanchard's famous patisserie - you feel like you've gone straight to gourmet heaven!) and we had a lovely meal at Les Remparts in Castillones.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosemaryoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Only stayed one night but were made to feel really welcome by Jacinta and Ray.
Beautifully renovated farm house in wonderfully quiet unspoilt setting.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sept_2010_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We had four peaceful nights as B&B guests, and can't speak more highly of this beautiful house. So much care and attention to detail has gone into the restoration of this lovely property. The owners have managed to retain the rustic charm of the original farmhouse and add elegant modern conveniences. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and everything is beautifully appointed. While we were there we struck a 'cold spell' but the pool looked fantastic for summer guests. Jacinta, our host, was welcoming and friendly, not to mention incredibly helpful with tips and advice as we explored the area. Monpazier is a gorgeous part of the Dordogne with several really good restaurants and a great Thursday market. If you feel fit enough this house is even close enough to walk into the village. If not, just enjoy the peace and quiet of their farm.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at the end of October and we're lucky enough to have some lovely sunny autumn weather. The house was a perfect place to relax and Ray and Jacinta couldn't have been anymore helpfully or friendly.
A great place to use as a base to explore the surrounding Chateau and Bastide towns. Horse riding at a small place near Villereal was both very enjoyable and a bargin.
Sarlat is definitely a gem and should be explored at night when the narrow streets and lights are magical.
The longer drive to Geoffre de Padriac is well worth it and the boat ride in the caves was as good as expected.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rossco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monpazier hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
0.9 mi away
Chez Edell
Chez Edell
#1 of 8 in Monpazier
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Hortensias
Les Hortensias
#2 of 8 in Monpazier
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
L'Ariade
L'Ariade
#1 of 1 in Gaugeac
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Grand Cedre
Le Grand Cedre
#3 of 5 in Monpazier
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Charmilles
Les Charmilles
#3 of 8 in Monpazier
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Faures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Faures

Address: Domaine des Faures | Gaugeac, 24540, Monpazier, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monpazier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monpazier
Price Range: $95 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B near Monpazier, a beautiful Bastide village in the Dordogne region. Four very comfortable bedrooms all en-suite. This bed and breakfast accommodation has been awarded ****. Very peaceful surroundings offering a perfect haven. Swimming pool for use by guests. Run by very welcoming owners who will also organise wine/food tours, bike hire and garden tours. The manor can also be rented as a self-catering holiday home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing