We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendidly designed villa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambres & Suites Arguibel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chambres & Suites Arguibel
Ranked #2 of 4 Guethary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
1 review
“Splendidly designed villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Villa Arguibel holds true to all the photos and descriptions that can be seen on this or other websites. We spent a very good time there with both the villa and its owners being a real pleasure. The villa is decorated in quite a modern style and our suite (which we were upgraded to simply because it was free!) left nothing to be desired. The owners were very helpful in giving us hints as to where to eat nearby. Top notch.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to visit this hotel, the couple that run it have the most amazing taste in furniture and all the rooms are done to a very high standard and very comfortable. There is a lovely big communal lounge too with wifi and the best music always playing. The breakfasts are lovely, yoghurts, croissants and more teas than I have ever seen.
Very child friendly, would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HESKETHh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Writing this on the last night of a three night stay in Chambres & Suites Arguibel and the only negative is that we have to leave tomorrow.
The villa is beautiful and expertly designed, a visual feast that matches up with the literal feasts we had on our first two nights at recommendations of Francois, the owner - Les Freres Ibarboure and Chez Philippe.
The service has been exemplary - from the booking until just now when Francois took it upon himself to order our taxi to the airport - with Francois and his wife both incredibly welcoming and clearly proud of the hotel and home they have designed.
The comfy beds combined with the peacefulness of the surrounding countryside, viewable from the balconies of the bedroom, lead to restful sleep and the bathrooms are huge.
Go!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieT1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a very memorable stay at Arguibel in june 2012.

The location: it is in a village called Guethary, based in between st jean de luz and biarritz (10 minutes to both by car). The views of rolling farmland are lovely and the house is very secluded. A car is practically a must-have to give you flexibility.

The hotel: the hotel is more like a home. There are 5 bedrooms in all (our,charlie chaplin, was lovely with a great balcony and view). The decor is very out there and we really appreciated the effort put in by the owners in the design of tgis beautiful place.

The service: most of our interactions were with the owner Francoise, who is a great guy. No problem was too large and e helped rexommend some great restaurants.

Food: The breakfast was good. Selection of meats, cheeses, yoghurts and fruit. No latte though!

This was a refreshing change from the standard 4/5 star global chain that we normally use. It was very genuine and we had all the space in the world to treat the hotel like our home. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveoftravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We could not rate this B and B (no restaurant) better. We will go back but for longer than a night just to chill and relax. The gardens and vistas are wonderful, emplty space. The decor is "curious/whacky", you are never bored! Big bedroom (L'Infante), all plumbing luxe and worked (!) even if husband did blink mildly at the feather lampshades! They had put in a tall fan which was wonderful as hot and no A/C - and the terrace well- we had a table, parasol, 2 chairs and a coffee table and 2 chairs AND 2 loungers (and there were loads more way down in the garden)> lots of good restaurants in Guethary and Bidart (close) and of course you have St Jean de Luz and Biarritz within a wee drive. Glorious breakfast (nothing cooked) and superb choice of teas. GO !!

Room Tip: Go on line and look, there are only 5 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Villa Arguibel for the first part of our honeymoon - and it was perfect! Away from the hubbub of Biarritz, surrounded by beautiful countryside, near to multiple beaches for surfing. Of course the decor deserves a mention - ecelectic but beautiful, and our room was a sea of calm - with a driftwood bedstead and 'pebble' cushions on the floor. Staff were relaxed and friendly, and went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaffW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked Arguibel at short notice, and ended staying for 5 nights. On entering the house, we were assailed with a diverse and eclectic range of modern design in furnishings, fittings and decorator items. It created a wonderful sense of play and fun, and certainly created a relaxing ambience.

The owner, Francois, greeted us, and made us very welcome. He, and his interior designer wife, are rightfully very proud of what they have created, and enjoy seeing the reaction of guests to their vision. A welcome glass of wine and chat made us feel at home.

Each room is separately themed, and named. My wife and I had the Charlie Chaplin room upstairs, which was roomy and maintained the modern decor theme. The bathroom was large, with a separate toilet. The shower was a full glass enclosure, very large, and with both rain and hand-held heads. Hot water was instantaneous! The room looked over the garden and beyond to the mountains of the Pyrenees.

A great breakfast was served inside, if it was wet, and outside on the deck, under umbrellas, when the sun shone. It was the usual French fare of breads, pastries, fruits, meats & cheese. It was slightly pricey compared to other locations we stayed at. Espresso coffee and designer teas were available to all guests throughout the day.

The locations was about 7-10 mins from St Jean de Luz or Biarritz, and there were several Michelin restaurants within 5 minutes drive. We enjoyed La Ferme Ostalapia for two of our evening meals, due to the good food, ambience and location. Guethary is clearly a popular area for grand homes in a secluded location, and Arguibel fell into the same category.

Sleeping was peaceful due to the complete lack of noise, even though the location is still is a village just off the main 'old' coast road.

Highly recommended and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guethary
0.5 mi away
Hotel Briketenia
Hotel Briketenia
#1 of 4 in Guethary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 29 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Freres Ibarboure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Domaine de Bassilour
Domaine de Bassilour
#7 of 15 in Bidart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Villa Catarie Hotel
Villa Catarie Hotel
#2 of 4 in Guethary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres & Suites Arguibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres & Suites Arguibel

Property: Chambres & Suites Arguibel
Address: 1146 Chemin de Laharraga, 64210 Guethary, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Guethary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guethary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambres & Suites Arguibel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Chambres & Suites Arguibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing